We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grim, tired decor, needs renovation modernising” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dryfebridge, Lockerbie DG11 2SF, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Lockerbie
England
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Grim, tired decor, needs renovation modernising”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for two nights with wife and my two children. On walking I to the room we were hit by the tired brown and grim atmosphere. I had to ask for a cleaner to come back and vacuume the carpet while we went out. The whole decor, beds, bathroom were tired and the stay was just not pleasant. Worst of all the cleanliness was, I wouldn't say bad, but suspect. All of this was made worse by the fact that it was NOT cheap, a price that in other country capitals would pay for a Marriott standard hotel. The corridors had that stale damp smell covered up by some sickly sweet air spray. One morning we were greeted by a pile of vomit in the corridor. The plus for the whole hotel was the staff were friendly and the freshly cooked and ordered breakfast was actualy pretty good. I have family near this area but will be looking for elsewhere to stay next time.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrighty147, Owner at BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Dear nts England,
Thank you for your complimentary review regarding our staff and food quality, we are very sorry to hear however of your negative experience at the Dryfesdale, which does not seem to be in line with our many other reviewers comments. Whilst it is unfortunate that a guest became unwell in our corridor, our staff acted swiftly to clean this area causing the damp and sweet sticky odour of the cleaning process taking place. We value your comments and hope to welcome you back in the future to reinstate faith in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    59
    19
    13
    6
See reviews for
45
115
6
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

As you might expect from a fairly rural location, this is a hotel which relies heavily on toursit trade and a few business guests. The hotel is good average quality with nice location, extensive gardens, a good view of the motorway (unfortunately) and it tries hard to keep its position as the biggest and best hotel in the area. Service is good, the rooms are more than adequate, if getting a bit dated at the time of my last stay, and the reatuarant is good with excellent breakfasts.

Room Tip: If you don't mind being on the ground floor, some of the rooms at the back have patio doors to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We would stay here again and have already recommended it to our family in the UK. Ground floor rooms are very comfortable overlooking the beautiful grounds. The conservatory restaurant not only serves very good meals, the outlook over the grounds is very special on a sunny summer evening.

The staff were welcoming and pleasant at all times.

Close to the motorway but not a problem.

Room Tip: This is a dog friendly hotel so you may like to ask for a room not frequented by dogs if this bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

we stoped on our way up to kingairloch.this is the secound time we have stoped here.friendly staff and cant do enough for you.food was 1st class .room was clean as was the bathroom.so we would highly recommend this hotel.hope to stay again .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponteland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Met friends at the half way point at The Dryfesdale Country House Hotel for lunch. Meal excellent, can thoroughly recommend the chicken salad and sticky toffee pudding. Lovely setting in conservatory overlooking beautiful open countryside. The hotel is very well placed for the M74 (within a mile), but up a long drive, so no traffic noise. Service excellent and very friendly owner.
This si our second visit and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

This was the second time we have eaten lunch here, the food is excellent and Glen (the manager) is professional, friendly and nothing is too much bother. A few days ago we had lunch at the 5 star Cameron House hotel- the service and food at Dryfesdale is FAR superior than at Cameron House. The food is fresh, wholesome and beautifully presented- large portions so you will be very satisfied.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Excellent! Everything was perfect! The rooms the food and the service nothing was too much trouble for the staff! We had the beautiful conservatory for our wedding reception and it was perfect every detail was planned perfectly and it all went very smoothly Thanx to the amazing staff. The bridal suite was perfection as well as the the guests room... We will never forget this special day thank you xxxxxx

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel

Address: Dryfebridge, Lockerbie DG11 2SF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Lockerbie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lockerbie
Lockerbie Best Western
BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel Lockerbie, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.