We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cleanliness and Godliness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hightae Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Hightae Inn to your Saves list
The Hightae Inn
High Road, Lockerbie DG11 1JS, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Lockerbie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glasgow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cleanliness and Godliness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife and I booked room number three and dinner after reading the good reviews in tripadvisor. We had high expectations. The room was spacious, well heated and spotlessly clean (good cleaning of the rooms is something I have grown to appreciate in my travels). There is Wi-Fi and Mark on-hand if you need help connecting. Our dinner was preceded by an introduction to the area by Mark and a good description of the various entrees and starters etc on offer on the menu. I chose Cream of Asparagus Soup - which was deeply creamy and tasted of Asparagus. However there were little accents of other flavours which I enjoyed and it's also the first time I thought the addition of chopped parsley was enhancing rather than just bad habit. My main course was Chicken Pie with lemony carrots accompanied with cabbage. The Hen was juicy in a well made béchamel and leek sauce. (very trad). The whole topped with puff pastry. New spuds completed the dish. I enjoyed my dinner and so did my wife (who also will / has reviewed the Hightae Inn separately) My sleep that night was perfect with no noise from the other residents or noise of any kind from outside. Breakfast ( all the usual stuff you would expect) was served promptly with good (cona filter) coffee. The area round Hightae is lovely with gently rolling hills and patchwork fields. I counted around hundred swallows on the phone line. The Hightae Inn is almost perfect in every respect bar one .. its too far from my own home to visit more regularly. Superb work Morag (owner chef) and Mark (Owner, Barman and everything else except chef) - may you continue to have your well deserved rep on TripAdvisor. Thank you both.

Room Tip: The Fitness centre is the whole of the Scottish Borders outside the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
162
9
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We found the Hightae purely through Trip Advisor when we were looking for somewhere to stay overnight on the way to a week in Scotland. Rather than go for the "hotel off the motorway" we were looking for somewhere a bit different and a bit special.
What can I say - it does what it says on the tin! Nice room, clean and lovely food (actually, it was the best meal we had all week, although we didn't know it at the time!).
Mark and Morag were perfect hosts and very friendly. Couldn't do enough for us, even to the extent of posting on a jacket we'd managed to leave in the wardrobe!
Would we stay again? Yes, without a doubt. We are planning another week in Scotland next year and the Hightae will certainly be on the agenda for the overnighter!

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms upstairs and both were equally nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at the Hightae Inn at the end of August on our way North from London to the Isle of Arran. The inn was recommended by a friend who stayed there a couple of times for the same purpose. He said that it was a really good place to stay and eat. We agree with him. Very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Completely unexpected. Hightae Inn exceeded every aspect of the hospitality business.
The room was comfortable, large, and very private with all the modern facilities blended into the luxurious designs of days of old.
Mark and Morag Cuthbertson are perfectly matched with their talents, skills, and they generously give attention to each guest, providing them with a lasting memory of a wonderful vacation in this part of Scotland.
The breakfast is superb, and the dinners are heavenly. They know quality and can certainly cook to anyone's satisfaction. Included in their interests are wines, scotch(s), and travel. Conversation flows easily, naturally, and is inclusive, with enough levity to leave a smile on your face all day.

Room Tip: You must have a car to get into and out of Hightae which is beautifully isolated, with a cheery pub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

What a great place to stay,spotless,comfortable room,and a really warm welcome.Mark and Morag were the perfect hosts.As well as a great breakfast they also do evening meals and would strongly recomend trying one ,you will not be disappointed .You may have wait as meals are cooked to order but Morags cooking is outstanding. We had lovely stay and will be returning the first chance we get.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at the Hightae Inn midd august for three nights. A warm welcome when we arrived on the Friday early evening. We booked dinner in the restaurant which was just lovely, Morag certainly can cook with flare so well presented. Mark served us and kept us topped up with Beer and wine, even a tipple of the old whisky later that evening, has rather a large selection to choose from. Make sure you try some even if you are not a whisky fan, he will have one there that you will enjoy. Breakfast was just fab, so well presented got a few tips will use myself when I have visitors to stay. Our room was so clean and cosy, not a speck of dust in sight, not that we went around checking mind, but you just knew when you entered the room. Settled in straight away.
We took time out travelling around, visiting the country fair, and nearby villages, coastal drives during our time there. Lots to see and do Mark even gave us directions to take with us with things to visit see and do. Yes we enjoyed it very much and would certainly recommend a visit to the (Hightae it is the Inn to stay why not get away)... Enjoy....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

What a great find! Mark and Morag are great hosts, providing a very warm, friendly welcome, a relaxed, humorous atmosphere, comfort and delicious home cooking. I am so glad I changed our stay from 1 night to 2. We were able to enjoy a relaxed Friday evening in the cosy bar, after a hard day at work, knowing we'd have a full Saturday to explore the area, then return to the comfort and welcome, plus a delicious, hot, home cooked meal. What more could you ask for. How about a very comfortable king size bed with a proper feather duvet, pristeen white cotton bedding and getting up to a delicious cooked breakfast. Suited us to a tee.

For whisky lovers, there is an extensive range in the bar, including some international options from the likes of South Africa and Japan. For those with a liking for beer, try some of the West, St Mungo for a Scottish brewed beer (Glasgow based independent brewery) with German know how. Mark's knowledge will guide the uninitiated, so give the whisky or beer a try.

Morag's home cooking is wholesome, very tasty and worth the wait, as she prepares to order. Wise to book a table in advance, as the Hightae Inn meals are very popular with the locals and those coming from farther afield. For those staying overnight, or longer, book dinner at the same time so you don't lose out.

All in all, a great place with the best of Scottish hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hightae Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hightae Inn

Address: High Road, Lockerbie DG11 1JS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lockerbie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hightae Inn is a delightful small family run hotel situated just 10 minutes or so from the A74(M)at Lockerbie and is proving a great hit for overnight stop-overs if you are either heading North or South on holiday. We're also pretty popular in the area for evening suppers with our fresh home-cooked evening meals served from 6pm to 8.30pm using locally sourced produce where possible. B&B Accommodation of 5 en-suite bedrooms - all recently renovated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Hightae Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hightae Inn Lockerbie, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hightae Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.