We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ahhhh.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Guesthouse at Rempstone

The Guesthouse at Rempstone
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Guesthouse at Rempstone to your Saves list
The Guesthouse at Rempstone
Main Street | Rempstone, Loughborough LE12 6RH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 17 Loughborough B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Ahhhh.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile


I'm not really much of a person to moan but.......

The parking is restricted here, if you can't find a space you have to park near the Red Lion pub down the road.

The room was very basic, was sharing a family room with a mate. We was doing a track day down the road...Mattress could of done with a new one, felt every spring in it.....One of the glasses was very grubby at the bottom. Odd though as some had put a plastic bag over it, meaning its clean? With the over clean glass. All the doors slam in the whole hotel....

Not bad for £45 room only. Wouldn't really go there again. It was just easy for us to use, as we came up from Kent.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    18
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
8
9
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buxton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed here for one night in January in the snow. The welcome was very friendly, but having just about managed to park on the icy car park I was told that the restaurant and bar were not open. The rooms are very basic, and although it was cold there was an extra heater in the room. Breakfast the next morning was really good, but I wont be returning having found better options (check out the British Geographical Survey website for B & Bs).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is a lovely guesthouse just outside Loughborough, great place to stay if going to a function at Prestwold Hall. The lady who runs this place is very welcoming. I booked a standard room (this is with shared bathroom) and got a free upgrade to ensuite facilities. The price did not inculde breakfast and being not too fond of getting up early and then eating a full fry up that was ideal for me. Breakfast is available as an extra for the ones that want one.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We spent 1 night at the Guesthouse and although the staff were very friendly it didn't compensate for the inadequate heating. There was no heating at all in our bathroom and the one small radiator in the bedroom didn't heat the room. We were so cold and consequently wouldn't stay there again. The room was clean and pleasant enough.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHEFFIELD
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Like previous reviewers we stayed here courtesy of a wedding at Prestwold Hall. My one criticism would be that the owner was on holiday and had made no provision to cover the absence. We had problems gaining access on arrival and the man who greeted us seemed not to be aware we were coming. The lady who welcomed us down to breakfast was lovely and had one other lady in the kitchen and they produced a wonderful freshly cooked breakfast. We had three rooms booked for one night and four for the following night. As we were leaving the lady had another wedding party arriving within an hour of our departure and appeared to be on her own to finish off after breakfast, collect our money and sort the rooms out for the next booking. We never did see the bar open but presumably this was due to lack of staff. The tv didn't work in our room. Although our room was on the roadside of the premises we did not find it disturbed us. Although a good hairdryer was provided there was no plug socket convenient to a mirror - a small detail but when you're getting ready for a special occasion it is annoying. Fortunately I had taken a small folding mirror but had to crouch on the floor next to the window.

Room Tip: Rooms 15 and 16 are much larger and away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed here 15 September 2012 as we were attending a wedding at Prestwold Hall.
Very welcoming, room very clean and tidy with ensuiuite facilities. TV in room but couldnt get it to work. This was not a problem. Tea and coffee making facilities good. Room temperature good.Excellent breakfast.Would definitely stay here again.

S & P Rourke

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We were attending a track day at Prestwold Driving Centre and the Guesthouse was situated close by. We booked 2 double en-suite rooms which contained everything you need for your stay, TV, kettle, coffee/tea/hot chocolate and a couple of biscuits. We actually had a family room which had a double bed and 2 singles. It was right on the front where there is a fairly busy road so there is some traffic noise but this wasn't a problem for us. The other room we were given was at the back overlooking the car park and there was a small amount of traffic noise there too but again nothing major. Breakfast was great and overall I would say it's value for money. Parking is limited but we managed to get a space.
We went to the Packe Arms for an evening meal, some reviewers said it was a short stroll from the Guesthouse but it's quite a walk, 1.2 miles to be exact !! There is no pavement for some of the journey and the track that is there is fairly overgrown. Not safe to walk back at night as there are no street lights so very dark. We got a taxi back. Food was good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Guesthouse at Rempstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guesthouse at Rempstone

Address: Main Street | Rempstone, Loughborough LE12 6RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Loughborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Loughborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guesthouse dates from the 1890's and after refurbishment offers lounge/bar, dining room, 6 en-suite bedrooms, 6 standard bedrooms with washbasin. All rooms non-smoking, with radiator, fresh laundry, hair-drier, clock/radio, tv, wireless internet and tea/coffee making facilities. Home cooked evening meals available on request. Approximately 4 miles from Loughborough centre and railway station on the A60 and within easy commuting distance of University, East Midlands Airport, Nottingham and Leicester. Private Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Guesthouse at Rempstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Guesthouse at Rempstone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.