We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'OK'” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cactus Cafe

Cactus Cafe
17 High Street, Loughborough LE11 2PY, England
+44 (0)1509 214585
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 195 Restaurants in Loughborough
Price range: $37 - $37
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“'OK'”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Visited for a family meal - the starters were nice but unfortunately the main course was quite disappointing for what you pay. Won't be rushing back i'm afraid.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    39
    24
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fine - not brilliant - great service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Firstly - the service was brilliant! Really lovely lady and good cocktails
However the food wasn't anything special. We had nachos to start (smallest bowl in the world piled high so was really difficult to eat and not make a massive mess!) was good though (but how wrong can you go with nachos?!)
My partner had the wraps and was a bit disappointed with how much meat came with the piddly little wraps! Again, was fine.
I had a vegi combo - not much of a combo, in fact, not much at all. Filled a hole though.
We considered desert, however having seen the table next to us receive the smallest portion of brownie, we decided to go across the road!
Service was great, the bill was reasonable for what we got and the place was traditional and 'Mexican' - would return but my expectations will be slightly lower!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

If you don't appreciate food,you'll like it here. Portions were big but food itself was bland and quite sickly. I was so excited to eat here for the 1st time as I fancied Mexican and this is local-I was disappointed. I didn't even want to pay for it as it wasn't worth it.
....we live and learn!
Service was ok. Just the food was processed and didn't look fresh-jut lumped onto a plate with no passion.
Wouldn't recommend really. There's better places to eat.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Decent food made better be great service and atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Visited with a few friends in June and we were thoroughly impressed by this restaurant. The portions were ample and the price reasonable. Food was okay but not great, but the level of service and cleanliness more than made up for it. We had a very enjoyable evening and the same group returned within a month. I would definitely visit again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“very sammie”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I have eaten here quite a few times the menu never changes the food is filling more than refined which is good for the student masses which seem to descend on the place i wont be rushing back unless the menu is changed

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactus Cafe also viewed

Loughborough, Leicestershire
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 
Loughborough, Leicestershire
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 

Been to Cactus Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cactus Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.