We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A HOME FROM HOME” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Highbury Guest House

Save Saved
You added Highbury Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Highbury Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   146 Leicester Rd, Loughborough LE11 2AQ , England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Loughborough B&B and Inns
Sunderland
1 review
“A HOME FROM HOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

I've stayed in numourous hotels in this country both for business and pleasure including the so called big names in the trade like the hilton chain and this is by far the best value for money place to stay i've come across. I was in Loughborough for a course at the college not far from this guest house and stayed for two nights. Three years ago i was here but stayed at the Ramada, which was very disapointing (my wardrobe was a curtain across an alcove, with tiles broken and missing in the bathroom, apparently not much has improved, talking to others staying there on my course). This was a very different experiance. Very clean throughout, very welcoming owners and staff. breakfast was excellant. i cannot fault this guesthouse at all.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
25
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

We paid £110 for a double room for 2 nights which felt like reasonable value for money (although I have not compared prices with other B&Bs in Loughborough).

The guest house has ample parking and is in a good location for Loughborough town centre - jus a 10 minute walk away.

The staff were friendly and helpful, and the vegetarian breakfast was well cooked, well presented and plentiful.

The dining and lounge areas were spacious and welcoming and our bedroom was clean, light and airey, though rather small. The bed was lovely and comfortable. The only downside was the attached toilet & shower room. This was very small and had thin walls - barely any room to move around and the shower stall creaked loudly.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

Stayed for 2 nights on the weekend of Loughborough's annual street fair with 5 old university friends. Well placed for town centre, approx 5 min walk with a couple of pubs and eating places on route. Rooms were very comfortable with nice bed and good ensuite facilities (2 of us got doubles at single rates which I guess helped make the rooms seem better). Good breakfast although we could have done with weekend serving finishing a bit later than 9am. Very friendly and welcoming would definitely return on another trip to Loughborough.

Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2009

Stayed with friends - very helpful owners, providing up to date rooms (fresh decoration/ bedlinen) at a very reasonable price.
The bedrooms were quiet and the breakfast room/ TV room were spacious and well laid out. Parking was plentiful. Breakfast more than adequate.
I will definitely use this B&B again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2009

My whole clan(14 of us) stayed there for a family reunion recently and we all thought the place was fantastic. The family rooms were spacious and the whole place was very clean and welcoming. Irene and Cosmo were very friendly and helpful and even the cat will greet you as you come down in the morning. Breakfast was just right, and it's very great value for money. It's also in a handy location, and easy to find. Would highly recommend to any traveller.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keelby, Lincolnshire
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

Stayed for one night which was comfortable and good value. £75 for a family room sleeping 3 with breakfast. 3rd bed was a proper single, not a put me up. Adequate shower room off the bedroom accessed by a sliding door. Good breakfast served by friendly staff. Good location for the activities at Prestwold Hall.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

We stayed only one night at the Highbury, so it is difficult to fully assess its many offerings. I had been hoping to meet the owner, Cosmos, following his humourous and helpful emails, but it wasn't meant to be.

Our room was surprisingly small, but beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable. However the bathroom was extremely small, and although modern, it was difficult to move around in.

Location was excellent, easy to find, and nearby our attraction of choice, the Great Central Railway (highly recommended to rail buffs), and parking exceeded our expectation. This guest house was more like a small hotel than a B&B, with a generous entry and reception area, lounge and large dining room.

The full English breakfast, served in the bright and cheerful solarium dining room, was very good, as always in England.

Please see our review of Signatures Restaurant, which was excellent.

For 55 BP, the Highbury Guest House was definitely the best deal of our entire 14 day vacation.

  • Liked — location and general ambiance
  • Disliked — very small bathroom
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Highbury Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highbury Guest House

Address: 146 Leicester Rd, Loughborough LE11 2AQ , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Loughborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Loughborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Highbury Guest House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Highbury Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highbury Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.