We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Highbury Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Highbury Guest House to your Saves list
Highbury Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   146 Leicester Rd, Loughborough LE11 2AQ , England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Loughborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights while visiting friends and family in Sutton Bonington. The room was comfortable, Irene and the staff were friendly and welcoming.
The breakfast was excellent!
The location is convenient, Loughborough Railway Station and the Town Centre are a short walk away, also an interesting walk on the towpath by the Canal. We will stay there again when we return.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    24
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
31
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We've stayed at the Highbury 4 or 5times now and it never disappoints. It has a great location, well placed for the university and town centre and has good off road parking.
The place is beautifully clean and tastefully decorated. We stay in the ground floor family room, which is large and comfortable. Breakfast is excellent, lots of choice and the full English is delicious. There is always a warm welcome from Irene and the team. We will definitely stay there again next time we are in the area

Room Tip: Ground floor family room is excellent value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Highbury for 3 nights and were impressed with everything about the experience......The location was good and the house retains many original features which provided interest and character. The accomodation is well maintained, clean and fresh and the excellent quality breakfasts were a real treat! Our room was comfortable and its facilities faultless.
We were given a warm welcome and nothing was too much trouble for the the staff. We highly recommend the Highbury for quality and value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

The location of this guest house is very good for walking into Loughborough town centre. The full English breakfast was excellent. Room was comfortable and clean and the owner of the property was friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: Try and have a room at the back of the guest house like we did as the main road is very busy and can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

The location of this guest house is very good for visiting Loughboroug. The room was very clean, bright and confortable. The staff is very pleasant and helpfull. Breakfast is served in a lovelly room and was excellent.

Room Tip: The front road is noisy, but that is easy to solve if you book a back side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Stayed at the Highbury after my daughter recommended it. I asked for a room with disabled facilities as I had my elderly (93) Grandma and my Mother in law with me on a visit to see my son. We were warmly welcomed and shown to our ground floor room. The room was large and beautifully decorated (Art deco style) and the en suite nicely organised. Breakfast was lovely with a choice of cooked breakfast/toast/cereals etc. Will definately stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

My husband and I have stayed in Loughborough many times over the last few years and the Highbury Guest House has been the only place we've tried that has been clean, full of convenient facilities and comfortable. Despite being further out of Loughborough than we had stayed previously, we found that the town centre was still easy to walk to. We were grateful for the large spacious car park, the welcome on arrival, the helpfulness and politeness of all staff, the extremely comfortable bed, the huge range of food available for breakfast, the well-planned and attractive dining room and the cleanliness of the whole building and the sheets/towels etc. We recommend the Highbury Guest House as a base for exploring the area, and if people find the rooms too small for relaxing in then we have two suggestions: use the comfortable and welcoming lounge or sit outside in the attractive patio area (we would have done if we were there in the summer). This guest house offers more than most and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Just ask the owners - they are more than happy to advise according to your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Highbury Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highbury Guest House

Address: 146 Leicester Rd, Loughborough LE11 2AQ , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Loughborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Loughborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Highbury Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Highbury Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highbury Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.