We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hunting Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Hunting Lodge to your Saves list
The Hunting Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38 South St. | Barrow upon Soar, Loughborough, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Loughborough
Northampton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Perfect Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

We visited the Hunting Lodge on a Groupon Deal and had a really lovely stay. The themed 'Biko' room was spacious and comfortable with a great high ceiling. The menu was extensive and the 3 course meal was really enjoyable. The restaurant was full and I would definitely go back for a meal if in the area. The staff were really friendly and helpful especially Jenny who really made our stay extra special. The Hunting Lodge is a lovely pub / restaurant / hotel with a very relaxed and warm atmosphere... i would definitely recommend :)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    18
    6
    10
    5
See reviews for
7
36
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011 via mobile

I visited this place on the Groupon deal so was a bit sceptical as to what it would be like, I thought the deal was too good to be true. Upon arrival I knew it was going to be worth every penny. We were shown to a nice, clean room albeit with a very quirky theme, not that this was a negative. We had a great dinner in the evening, and everyone in the restaurant seemed to be enjoying the food too. We also had breakfast included which again was superb. I would certainly recommend this place and wouldn't feel aggrieved by paying full price for the the fantastic food on the menu. Well done to the staff and everyone involved with this place, don't change anything it's working brilliantly

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

We stayed for one night with the Groupon voucher, what a wonderful place the staftt were so welcoming and helpful. the evening meal was lovely , the veg was a little overcooked but the steak was well cooked, we stayed in the Dali room lovely and clean and big bathroom. We could not have eaten a cooked breakfast so ceral/toast and fruit and jams were just enough. would def go back,

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

Stayed here as part of a Groupon deal with accomodation and 3 course dinner included.
A warm welcome , friendly staff, and a relaxed feel about the pub/restaurant, The room (Chopin) was clean and again had a chilled out relaxed ambience. Shower was wonderfully powerful to releave all the stresses and aches. Evening meal - Starters were poor (mussels tiny and microwaved, as was chicken in cajun spices) but more than made up for by the fillet steak Napoleon, cooked perfectlyu medium rare , full and juicy .
Overall a lovely pub/restaurant in a nice village with the added benfit of excellent accomodation.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

A very nice , extremely friendly Hotel . The Manager and his Staff were all genuinely friendly . Room, Food 100% . Thank you .

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

Staff really friendly & helpful. Loved the room styles and comfortable bed.
Good night sleep - nice & quiet after closing.
Food was great

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

We have recently experienced a last minute fantastic value for money stay at the Hunter's Lodge! We stayed in the large,clean lovely Louis room and from start to finish our short stay was really relaxing and memorable.This was due to the ambience of the bar area late afternoon, the buzzing Saturday night feel of the restaurant, the extensive high quality menu on offer and thanks to their charming staff -Chantelle who helped us secure our booking, Gavin, Laura and Wayne - who were all friendly, personable and helpful - essential qualities which should be the norm in this industry but are so often absent!Fabulous team effort,would love to go back!Thank you all!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hunting Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hunting Lodge

Address: 38 South St. | Barrow upon Soar, Loughborough, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Loughborough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Loughborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hunting Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular three story granite building proudly boasts six individually styled bedrooms ranging from the ethnic origins of The Biko room to the regal opulence of the Louis Room. With full restaurant and bar serving delicious food and drinks all day - seven days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Hunting Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hunting Hotel Loughborough
Hunting Hotel Loughborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hunting Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.