We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Gomez Bistro Bar - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Porto Gomez Bistro Bar
154 Leicester Road, Loughborough LE12 7DE, England
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
enderby
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

just got back from another great night at porto gomez.this is our 3rd time and it was just as good if not better than the others.cannot understand some of the comments made by other people.we think the food is fantastic and helder and his staff are so polite and friendly.the homemade soup was really tasty,the sardines were as good as usual and the prawns were fantastic.the piri piri chicken is so tasty and the sea bass is well worth a try.how anyone can say the chips are not home cooked is crazy,they are wonderful.and fish with heads,i have not seen many without.this is a great friendly place to eat and would certainly reccomend it.thanks to helder and his staff for another great evening.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    13
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Like being on holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The four of us went with a Living Social voucher. Just like being in Portugal, home cooked food and
very friendly staff. We'll be back!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“AWFUL!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Well i have to say this is the worst restaurant i have eaten in a long time!! The waiting staff were pleasant but the restaurant decor was hideous, like something from the 80's (you wouldn't even find a place like this in Portugal!) and the food - well i don't know if you can call it that!! My friend had a starter of tapas which was meant to be selection of meats and cheeses, well it came out with cocktail sticks stuck into cubes of red Leicester and actual pieces of raw bacon chopped up. My starter wasn't too bad of king prawns in garlic butter but it was so oily. We ordered 2 glasses of rose wine and that tasted like strawberry juice!! My friends main course was the piri piri chicken and that actually tasted ok, although the home cooked chips were definitely oven packet variety and this was confirmed when i got my sea bass main, the fish was actually nice (although i wasn't expecting the whole fish inc head!) but my potatoes were frozen cold (as in still frozen from the freezer) and the carrots and broccoli was definitely from the freezer. All in all a terrible meal, not something that you would imagine served at any restaurant in 2012!! Don't go unless you don't like the person you are taking out for a meal and want an upset tummy all night and the next day!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helder G, Manager at Porto Gomez Bistro Bar, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Hello
I am very sorry you did not enjoy your meal with us. I am afraid the decor cannot be to everybody's taste. We are Portuguese through and through, it is a family business and we try to run that way. I can assure you the chips are made from real potatoes bought from the farm shop in Mountsorrel they are in no way frozen.
The fish is cooked in a Portuguese style, and this is with the head intact. We do cook things the way they are intended to be and again I am sorry you did not appreciate this. Maybe in future I will ask if customers would prefer the head removing but this is the first complaint of this type I have received.
We are currently in the process of refurbishing the bar area but the restaurant is how we intend it to be.

Please feel free to contact me at the restaurant I would love to make things right for you,

thanks
Helder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relatively unimpressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Upon entry we thought it was very nice and authentic looking. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We had the sardines and the prawns which were very nice but when our mains came out they were not so good. The chicken spice was perfect but the chicken itself was dry. The pork and clams was extremely dry also. Simple dishes like these should be cooked right. Such a shame as we really liked the place and the staff.

Sadly we won't be returning in a hurry.

We did think that maybe it was a bad choice from the menu, but then again. Everything should be good!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Authentic Meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Recently visited as a family group of 8 on a Groupon. Good food! Very authentic. Our group enjoyed the Prawns! chicken, Seabass and Pork Dishes. Everyone enjoyed their food empty and commented how much they enjoyed it.

Service was good, very polite staff were polite, prompt and looked after us very well.

The restaurant isn't one of those clinical,modern types, yes it is a little rough around the edges but do you know what it works and adds to the authenticity and ambiance of the restaurant.

So if you get the opportunity well worth a visit

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porto Gomez Bistro Bar also viewed

Barrow Upon Soar, Loughborough
Quorn, Loughborough
 
Quorn, Loughborough
Quorn, Loughborough
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Gomez Bistro Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.