We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if its food you want, go to McDonalds” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cedar Road, Loughborough LE11 2AB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Loughborough
Loughborough, Leicestershire
1 review
“if its food you want, go to McDonalds”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

This is not the place it once was, a good quality hotel in Loughborough! Not anymore! avoid a disapointing stay / meal and go somewhere else. Service and decor is poor to say the least, with the exception of the young waitress, who was very polite and oppolgetic (once the credit cruch is over, she'll get a job at a nice hotel!). The food could only be described a the worst meal ever, almost ineddible and randomly delivered. Fortunately, we have a sense of humour, so our stay did have comedy value! all that was needed extra was Basil Fawlty!

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    70
    52
    33
    43
See reviews for
39
59
21
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hull
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

Dated , shabby, rooms by charity shop cast offs. Meals badly presented boil in the bag , indifferent staff. Ridiculous prices, Dingey bar. Just total rubbish. Got there too late to go anywhere else. How a hotel which has the appearance and attitude of this place remains in buisiness is a mystery to me.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

Having read all the previous reviews we nearly cancelled our room - I'm glad we didn't. We enjoyed our stay at the Cedars. The staff were friendly and helpful. For example they kept the bar open for us when we returned from our party in the evening and ordered pizza for us after the kitchen had closed. The room and beds were comfortable and clean and the breakfast was good. The fixtures and fittings aren't the most modern but the place is clean. I'd say it's a decent 2-3 star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRADFORD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

Dirty, run down. Just 3 words and that would tell you everything you need to know.

Don't go.

On a plus side, as they'd closed the restaurant due to no bookings, they were very helpful in recommending local restaurants in the village of Quorn - go.... take your bags, and stay in that village!!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

This hotel was a rip of at £65.00 ppn. It was nothing like it had been portrayed on the net. The room we had was falling apart especially in the bathroom and the shower was a joke!!!
It was disgusting!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fareham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

The room was very basic , no bed side tables, the light above the bathroom mirror didn't work. One of the uplighter shades in the bedroom was smashed. According to the hotel guide in the room,there should have been details on the door, about the nearest fire escape etc, there was nothing on the door. the phone was also missing from the room. Our room was nothing like the one on their web sight. we waited about 5 mins for someone to come and take our breakfast order, they were busy having a heated discussion in a room of the restaurant.Tea and coffee came, but no milk, i had to use the large jug of milk on the breakfast table,so had to do that twice, as i had 2 cups.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel islands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

I arrived late, taking my son to University the following day. Small, dingy rooms. Wires hanging out of wall, so no bedside light. Main light not working. One pillow and shabby bedspread. No valance, so bottom of bed showing.
Bashed my leg on door of bathroom coming out, as so small.
No ITV Channel on TV (ancient )
The milk was off with the tea/coffee and no teaspoon to stir with in any case.
Extractor fan in bathroom had massive hole around it and dirt had fallen into the handbasin.
The shower (?) trickled cold water and the base of the bath had a huge crack in it.
Breakfast had pre-cooked bacon and sausages and was put in front of me as I put my second spoonful of cereal in my mouth. I felt like I was in some punishment block.
What a disappointment. There is no attention to detail and no caring for the guests.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Cedar Road, Loughborough LE11 2AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Loughborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Loughborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cedars Hotel And Restaurant
Cedars Hotel Loughborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.