We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday night out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cedar Road, Loughborough LE11 2AB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Loughborough
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Birthday night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed for one night for my birthday as we were going on the steam railway. This hotel was ideally located. All the staff made my birthday special so a very big thank you to you all. Excellent breakfast and the room we had was brilliant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    82
    67
    35
    45
See reviews for
45
77
22
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mar5kmozart
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I stayed here with my Mum as we were going to a local family wedding. When we arrived I saw a railway line right next to the car park and thought 'Oh no!' but in fact it's part of a local attraction - a steam railway. The only train I saw was a steam train and they are infrequent and don't run beyond early evening so no worries. The staff are friendly and switched on. Check-in in was a breeze. It's an old-style hotel with stairs and corridors to negotiate but the rooms are a good size and clean. They may not be 4 star but there's a TV, decent sized ensuite, tea making facilities and wi-fi throughout. The bar is big with leather sofas and a feature fireplace. It's welcoming and has a nice ambience. Breakfast is traditional full English and buffet bar for cereals and juices. I was really impressed - I've paid a lot more for a lot less. I will be going back to have a ride on the train and explore the area

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

My friends and I have just come back from staying at the Cedars for another friend's wedding. The location was good, room was clean, breakfast was reasonable and the hotel employees fine. It's not a luxurious hotel and those used to the finer things will probably be disappointed (the bathroom was soaked after using the shower, much of the decor and furnishings were tired, the employees, although very friendly and helpful, didn't seem to be all that well trained). That said, if you're just looking for a place to put your head down for the night (and a hotel with a 24 hour bar service - on the weekend anyway), i think you'll be fine.

Room Tip: Just be wary that the back of the hotel looks out onto a railway track (although trains run very inf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

At first I was a little skeptical, but as we entered, we were greeted by a very friendly staff. The hotel was clean, cozy, and very comfortable. From our room, to the bar, to the outdoors was just...well a breath of fresh air.
GREAT place to stay! We'll be coming back here again for sure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I have a Carpentry and Joinery Business and used this hotel for nine months whilst completing a contract in Loughborough which was too far to travel every night back to Shrewsbury. Several of my employees also stayed.
We found our stay extremely comfortable and all the staff were kind and considerate to our needs after a hard days work, nothing was ever too much trouble. The rooms were spotlessly cleaned daily and, although we did not have breakfast, found our evening meal to be of a high and substantial standard. they would often cook something different for us if dietary needs required.
Wifi enabled ensured that my business could still operate in the evening.
Value for money, this Hotel cannot be faulted and should the need arise, would not hesitate in using this establishment again, it would be my first port of call.
Congratulations to all at The Cedars and wish you a continued and successful future.

Room Tip: speak to the staff depending on your requirements. Nothing is too much trouble.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

This hotel is old but clean and comfortable. We found the staff very friendly and extremely helpful. The breakfast was good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

wonderfull 3 days staff were very happy menue was a bit bland but the food was great only complaint is the deco dark brown doors that dont lock easy by the way you use a key ,could do with a face lift

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Cedar Road, Loughborough LE11 2AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Loughborough
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Loughborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cedars Hotel And Restaurant
Cedars Hotel Loughborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.