We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cedar Road, Loughborough LE11 2AB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Loughborough
Cromer, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thoroughly excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

A nice quiet location, the noisiest things are the passing steam trains, but then many guests are there for the steam railway anyway. We went for the steam railway beer festival. Nice tidy rooms, everything works, nice bar & restaurant. The was a lively birthday party one evening, but we still got a quiet table in the restaurant. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    82
    66
    35
    45
See reviews for
45
76
22
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hull ; england
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Cheap and chearful comes to mind when I came to review this hotel . we stayed as a couple for one night and although we found the staff to be friendly and helpful ; that was as far as it went . We were in Room 16 ; upstairs - right at the very end near the fire exit and similar to other reviews we have seen ; creaking floorboards was an issue . Although the room itself was very light and airy it was very dated and in need of a major overall - coloured bathroom suite ; broken & missing tiles ; uneven vinyl flooring and a very poor shower only added to the dissapointment

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We booked an overnight stay here and were totally disappointed. twenty years ago this (I was told !) was the place to stay in Loughborough. The lounge was dark and very warn. Once upon a time comfy sofas now with damaged seats etc. When a companion asked at reception if there was a lift he was told "your legs"! The two bedrooms were delapidated. Wallpaper hanging off the walls, furniture chipped and one surface propped up with a piece of mdf. Bathroom although appeared clean couldn't be properly clean due to the cracked flooring, skirting boards and tiling. The over the bath shower would only mix freezing water or had to be on the hot tap only so was too hot. There was a shower curtain across such a small area of the bath it was impossible to stand behind it. The toiletries provided were scattered on the windowsill and a dispenser of hand soap at the washbasin was empty! Nowhere towels in the bathroom to hang towels, they were located on the bed when we arrived. Our window was next to the extraction system for the kitchen and was a loud drone all evening and again early morning and actually woke me in the middle of the night. Service at breakfast was poor, we were not greeted on arrival in fact ignored by the waitress. There was a choice of cereal, fruitjuice and croissant followed by a cooked breakfast which was OK but obviously suffered from being kept warm in the kitchen - poached eggs were hard boiled.
We were very disappointed and when walking towards town from the hotel saw some excellent 3 and 4 star bed and breakfast properties - if only!!

Room Tip: Don't even think about staying here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naivasha, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

What a dreadful place - the accommodation was pretty awful. Do NOT sleep in a downstairs room - with wooden floor boards above, you hear everything in the room above you.

The food was very nice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

For a recent 2 day business trip I was keen to find a comfortable place to stay and I came across the Cedars Hotel! I had not heard of it before but delighted with my google search as it was personable, with a good good breakfast and great value for money! Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Very friendly and well run hotel, excellent value for money and we're looking forward to going back on our next visit. Not sure what happened with some of these other reviews but we certainly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Stayed at the Cedar's while in town for my brother's wedding in the Loughborough area in June. Had actually stumbled across The Cedars by accident as it hadn't been one of the 'recommended hotels' for the wedding party, and very glad we did. Staff were wonderfully friendly and the rooms were hugely comfortable - much needed after a late night! Far surpassed expectations (though admittedly, prior to arrival these had not been the highest) Loughborough itself perhaps not the ideal spot for a relaxing weekend break but if I ever find myself up there, I'll definitely head for The Cedars again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Cedar Road, Loughborough LE11 2AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Loughborough
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Loughborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cedars Hotel And Restaurant
Cedars Hotel Loughborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.