We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Graduation day made special” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charnwood Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Charnwood Lodge to your Saves list
Charnwood Lodge
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   136, Leicester Road, Loughborough LE11 2AQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Loughborough B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Graduation day made special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed at the charnwood after our daughters graduation ceremony staff were very helpful and polite
Hotel was clean and comfortable with a great little bar to relax. It was a bonus being able to check in at 12 noon after a long journey and get ready for the Graduation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
svage, Manager at Charnwood Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Julie W, thank you so much for taking the time out to review the Lodge. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our bar. Graduation is always a busy period and myself and staff look forward to it. We always like to offer an earlier check in for the same reason you mentioned in your review. Many thanks once again :) Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    48
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
32
56
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Feltham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We booked the Lodge for relaxation and a trip on the local Great Central Railway. We found the location spot on, with the staff very helpful. The breakfast is also recommended, very healthy portions with extra on hand if you need it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
svage, Manager at Charnwood Lodge, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Andrew, Many thanks for taking the time to review the Lodge. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the location of the Lodge convenient to the Railway. Even I can manage the five min walk to the station. We like to offer a wide range of breakfast products as not everyone wants to have a Full English every morning. Many thanks once again and we look forward to welcoming you to the Lodge should you ever be in the area again. Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

A faultless stay thank you and the location was perfect for the Great Central Railway. Family run with a lovely friendly atmosphere and well presented throughout. The room was very comfortable including the bed with pleasant views over the well maintained front garden. Breakfast was fresh and tasty and overall nothing was too much trouble and we will definitely return again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
svage, Manager at Charnwood Lodge, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Cheetham, I was really pleased to read your review - it shows we are doing what we set out to do at the Lodge. We all work hard at the Lodge to keep the high standards my parents put in place, from our Chambermaids to our gardener. The location to the Steam railway is as you said a 5 min walk and we find our guests find it easier to leave their car in our car park and walk the short distance. So many thanks once again and would love to welcome you back should you be in the area again. Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This family run guest house/private hotel was clean, welcoming, and evening meals were available at what seemed to be the drop of a hat. The dining room was lovely and light and the furnishings of good quality. Breakfast was hearty with plenty to choose from, tasty and well cooked. The room we had was well equipped with an en-suite bathroom and comfortable clean bed. All in all a very good place to lay one's head. The charges were very reasonable too!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
svage, Manager at Charnwood Lodge, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Jan, it was a pleasure to read your review and always pass the comments on to all members of staff. We are pleased you enjoyed our friendly manner and noted that we all work hard to ensure the Lodge is spotless at all times. Evening meals are available and we like to ensure there are meals on the menu to suit all pockets. Many thanks once again and would love to accomodate you should you ever be in the area again. Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Really very good. If you're thinking of running a B&B and you want to do it really well, go to Charnwood lodge for a night or two and let them show you how it's done. My room was spotless and comfortable, breakfast had everything I needed and the staff are lovely.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
svage, Manager at Charnwood Lodge, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Kayak School, Wow, what a great review. I printed yours off and showed my mum (boss) and asked for a pay rise hee hee. It is lovely to hear such positive comments and after showing all members of staff the reviews it makes all the hard work worth it. Mum and dad ran the business for over 12 years and put systems in place in order for me to be able to run it and maintain the high standards we would all expect our selves when staying in a guest house/hotel. So many thanks once again :) Melanie :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Found by chance internet browsing for an overnight stay in Loughborough, this wonderful B&B came as a added bonus to a celebratory trip to the midlands.
Friendly staff, high quality accommodation with super en suites and I was kindly given a complimentary upgrade in order that I stayed near to accompanying friends.
Fantastic full English breakfast.
Could not recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
svage, Manager at Charnwood Lodge, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Joy W, It was a pleasure to read your review and also to welcome you and you friends to the Charnwood Lodge guest house. We always endevour to ensure all guests are happy and satisfied with their rooms and if we know that there is a group of you staying we try to put you all near each other. As we were not aware, I managed to shuffle the book around so as to accomodate you. Receiving your kind review makes the "shuffling" all worthwhile. All of our staff are trained to a high standard and it is always an ongoing training process. My parents trained me and to that high standard is how we now train staff. My parents knowledge of the hotel industry in extensive and for that reason we have a successful, friendly and tight running "ship". Many thanks once again and we look forward to welcoming you to the Lodge again should you be in the area. :) Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
183 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Chosen completely at random, this guest house was a nice find for 2 nights while working in the area. Easiest check in ever (wasnt asked for car reg, address, email, colour of underpants, etc). Simply gave them my name and they gave me my keys.

Stopped in room 12 which was spacious, very clean and comfortable. It had a nice en suite bathroom and plenty of piping hot water night and day. The room also had a large flat screen TV and thankfully a remote control that worked and was not held together with sticky tape.

Meals are served in the dining room and mine were all cooked fresh and very moderately priced (most main courses are under £10). There is a small a la carte menu and a daily special to choose from. Breakfast is served from 7am, and whilst I only had poached egg on toast (yep . . . on a diet), the full English looked and smelt delicious.

There is a small bar and lounge area too if you want a drink or simply check your emails or have a chat.

Ample car parking to front and rear of the hotel and shops within walking distance too.

A couple of very minor niggles. The free wi-fi had a lousy signal in my room (fine in the corridor or lounge area though), the toiletries were not replenished after my first night, and the instant coffee in the room was a bit . . . . odd (maybe just my taste buds though).

That said, the overall standard of room, food and service is well above average compared to other hotels in the same price bracket.

Would I return? . . . . Most definitely

PS. This is one of the very few hotels I have stayed in that actually encourage you to leave a review on Trip Advisor

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
svage, Manager at Charnwood Lodge, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Sowie, Many thanks for your lengthy and detailed review. It is nice to know that people appreciate the Lodge and take the time to give us feedback. Once a guest is checking in, we aim to get you settled as soon as possible as we know from experience there is nothing worse that a long journey followed by forms and a timely check in. We found your review to be very amusing and the staff are now asking whether we should put underpant colour on the booking forms...hee hee. :) So, we are grateful for your kind comments on our dining experience, rooms and bar area. The parking facilities have over the last year doubled in size to accomodate our guests as there is nothing like peace of mind knowing your car is secure. Also the fact that it is free helps :). Once again many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you to the Lodge should you be in the Loughborough/Leicestershire area again. :) Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charnwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charnwood Lodge

Address: 136, Leicester Road, Loughborough LE11 2AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Loughborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Loughborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Charnwood Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
f you are looking for hotels in Loughborough Charnwood Guest House is the perfect option. Our beautiful guest house is set in pleasant surroundings and benefits from a convenient yet peaceful location within walking distance of Loughborough town centre.Over the years the Lodge has been expanded and modernized to ensure that it that it maintains it reputation as one of the best "home from home feeling" hotels in Loughborough.This Loughborough accommodation comprises of eight comfortable ground floor rooms, one of which has been specifically designed with wider access to ensure that access for the less able is not compromised ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Charnwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charnwood Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.