We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laughing Buddha

Laughing Buddha
3 Woodgate, Loughborough LE11 2TY, England
+44 1509 236868
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 195 Restaurants in Loughborough
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Friendly efficient staff and tasty meal well served . I had Tofu in black bean sauce and fried rice.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    24
    10
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alicante
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
“Very gooh chinese restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We decided to go to this place because we needed something smoother after some Indian food. We were not very hungry and just asked for two main courses plus some noodles. Noodles we didn't like so much but roast Cantonese duck and chicken with lemon were really good.
Prices are around 8-10 pounds per main course and with two glasses of house wine we paid 28 pounds.
I recommend this place

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stranded in Loughbourough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Found myself in Loughborough on the August Bank Holiday Sunday 2013 and despared of finding anywhere to have a decent meal. I was wrong1 The Laughing Buddha has and excellent choice of food at the right price -very tasty and excellent service. No complaints from a hungry traveller!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Average - that's about all!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Recommended by a friend - early evening special 8.50 a head mains including rice. Friendly reception. There appeared to only be one waitress who seemed to find looking after the small number present difficult. I had chicken in ginger and pineapple. I think the chicken was cooked in boiling water, would have been better fried. My friend had the chilli beef which I tried - not carefully prepared. We may have been better using the main menu which we probably shall if we try this place again. Our starter was a shared platter which was acceptable, the ribs were very good though. Wines from £12 a bottle - opted for a more expensive Chenin which was excellent. Very nice decor, very clean and, proper cloth napkins. Will try again but not the early bird.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great service, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I had my graduation dinner here with my family in September and the place was very quiet. The food arrived quickly and the staff were friendly.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laughing Buddha also viewed

Loughborough, Leicestershire
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 
Loughborough, Leicestershire
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 

Been to Laughing Buddha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laughing Buddha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.