We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confusing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Manor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Carlton Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Carlton Manor Hotel
Chapel Rd | Carlton Colville, Lowestoft NR33 8BL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 27 Lowestoft B&B and Inns
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Confusing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We booked this on the strength of recent reviews, aware that the hotel had recently changed hands and been refurbished.
We booked through Laterooms for a cost of £77 room only.

The good: our room was a good size, quiet and very clean. There were plenty of towels plus the usual bathroom amenities. The staff were also pleasant, friendly and helpful.

The not so good: Tiny bathroom and shower with a minuscule hand basin. So small that I got water all over the floor when trying to wash my face. No mirror above the basin. The paintwork was already quite badly chipped and scratched. The bedlinen was cheap and so was the furniture. There were no drinking glasses or bottled water in the room.

The bad: Horrible mattress! No support and we could feel the springs digging into us all night. Cold coffee and cold toast for breakfast.

Some people have commented on the chic decor. We counted 5 different patterns on the wallpaper and soft furnishings just in the breakfast room. That's not including the many mismatched chairs. All very confusing. Despite the staff's efforts we wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    32
    17
    13
    14
See reviews for
26
56
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Last Saturday, I went to attend my friend’s wedding party at the Carlton Manor Hotel. Beautiful location, great facilities. What I have found shocking was the manager’s attitude and I am telling you why.
The bar run out of drinks around 9pm (The two staff members that I spoke with were extremely pleasant, efficient and helpful and they said they had 2 bottles for the night!). For over 100 guests!
For the same drink we were charge different (£2.50 and £4.50!!!), depends on bar server.
I have tried to speak with the manager (a lady in dark blue dress) which anyway was lost there, but she was so rude and so unprofessional, telling us to leave the party if we are not happy!
Shocking attitude, shocking experience.If this is the manager's level...
I could just send an email to this hotel, but I do not want to receive a letter saying how sorry they are. I just something to be done and I will raise my concerns to local authorihy as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Booked a 2 night stay for my husband's birthday - only just opened after winter season but hotel very tastefully decorated, excellent service from staff who couldn't do enough for us - a gold star for this alone. Food in bar very good and speedy delivery. Asked for a birthday cake for hubby as an extra and this was done no problem. Only slight criticism was size of bedroom - quite tight for space but again well decorated. Overall an excellent stay & would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We called in on the off chance for some lunch, the establishment has obviously under gone a major facelift and the front of the property including the car park looks extremely smart. Upon walking thru into the reception we were greeted and then taken to the dining area and handed over to the restaurant staff, all very attentive and professional. All 4 of us had a main, beef casserole , haddock and chips, mozzarella salad and ham egg and chips, all for under £30. It was simple food but executed to a very high standard and could not be faulted, the service was also top class. If we are ever this way again we will not hesitate to call in again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coggeshall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed in the family room was perfect for 2 adults and 2 kids who loved the sofa bed.
Hotel was recently refurbished so all looked neat and tidy.
Had a drink in the bar in the evening which was reasonable.
Breakfast was great and very good quality.
Staff exceptionally friendly and helpful.
Will come back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowestoft
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We had a lovely meal here on Boxing Day, after trying it a couple of times before, a wonderful place for that special meal.
We are looking forward to coming again, the wine night and murder night looks good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for one night on business. The decor is chic and the amenities are luxurious. The only vault I found was that the central heating does not run constantly so the room was chilly on arrival, and the internet signal in my room was weak. The food in the restaurant was of very good quality. The manager is very friendly and keen to please.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Manor Hotel

Address: Chapel Rd | Carlton Colville, Lowestoft NR33 8BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Lowestoft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 3 minutes' drive from the Rookery Park Golf Course and 3 miles from the coastal town of Lowestoft with it's lovely sandy beaches, Carlton Manor Hotel offers elegant rooms with free Wi-Fi, ample free parking, a brasserie bar and Restaurant. The ever popular resort of Southwold is just ten miles away, and the historic city of Norwich is just a thirty minute drive. Each room at The Carlton Manor Hotel features an en suite bathroom, free Wi-Fi,flat-screen TV. A hearty breakfast made of locally sourced ingredients is available daily. The brasserie restaurant serves a seasonal range of food, and you can dine al fresco on the terrace. Vitis, seafood restaurant new for 2014,opens Thursday to Saturday evenings and also serves a traditional Sunday lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Carlton Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Manor Hotel Lowestoft, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.