We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value in Suffolk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lowestoft
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village
Save
You added Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gunton Avenue, Lowestoft NR32 5DF , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Lowestoft
Surrey England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Value in Suffolk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Arrived on a Friday for seven nights, check in was very fast, We had a premier chalet very modern with very good decor nice carpet and curtains and lighting
to a very good standard, bath room could have done with a little up dating.
Dining times were a little to short breakfast 0830-0930, dinner 1830-1930, breakfast would have been better from 0800 and dinner to 2000
or from 1800.
You had a choice of served at the table from the menu or self service.
But the food at breakfast was excellent and always presented well and hot!
Dinner like wise was to a very high standard.
I find it hard to fault the food, but I did have two evening meals that I could fault, but overall was very impressed.
We had a Jazz weekend which was great, the entertainment for the rest of the week was to a very high standard.
The poll looked very inviting, and was very warm in the pool area.

Room Tip: Premier chalets have a small sitting area out side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrina13, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We do take all comments on board and share them with all the team. We hope to be able to welcome you again soon.

Petrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    191
    74
    38
    24
See reviews for
66
301
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

just back from a 3 day break (mowtown ) and having been to several other Warners cant praise this one hig enough .it may not be the "poshest" one we have been to but was by far the friendliest nothing was too much trouble . Even when we booked in although we had booked seperatly the reception juggled so we were next door to each other . Our waitress Chloe was adorable and when she realised one of us liked bread instead of toast it was ready and waiting each morning ! my hubby couldnt decde on dessert or cheese board so she gave him both each night . The food was wonderful and lots of choice...i do echo other comments that i think the meals times could be a bit longer an hour is a bit tight . Entertainment was really good and the staff once again so friendly and a special mention to new lad Alex..he was so helpful . chalets were clean and adequate although coud do with some TLC and maybe a new bed ..but thats me being picky . one downside and thats not a Warner black mark not Gunton...beware the card you can use instead of cash...you are charged VAT ...so we spent £15 on top ...cash next time i think .but all in all a great break and will definatly go back and recommend Gunton Hall

Room Tip: cedar wood ..nearer to restaurant etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrina13, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thank you for your review and for posting your photos. I will make sure that the team particularly those you mentioned get to read your review. They will be so very pleased, we do try our best to make sure everyone has a good time. I am very pleased our team paid attention to detail for you, its the little things that really do make a big diiference and that is what makes Gunton Hall what it is. We hope to welcome you and your husband back very soon.

Petrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

This was my second visit to Gunton Hall. We had a 4 night break in a premier chalet and it was well worth the money.

The selection of food available at breakfast and dinner is very good I don't think anyone would be disappointed.

The pool and spa areas are very clean as is the hotel overall.

However, there are a couple of downsides is the meal times breakfast is served from 8.30 -9.30 am and dinner 6.30 pm to 7.30 pm. The hotel was fully booked and with everyone arrriving in the restaurant at the same time meant that we very often had to queue for our food. It might be an idea to have phased meal times for 1.5 hours e.g. breakfast 8.00 to 9.30 and likewise for dinner.

Also, Warners is a bit inflexible wih the bookings, they offer either 3, 4, & 7 night breaks but you have to arrive and depart on a set day as stated in the brochure/website. We booked for 4 nights Monday to Friday but would have preferred to arrive on either Saturday or Sunday.

There are plenty of activities to suit everyone, I particularly enjoyed the pool it's very warm and the steam and sauna is excellent.

Most of the other guests had stayed in other Warners hotels and had nothing but praise. Overall, I would certainly visit Warners again.

Room Tip: Chalets located in "Sycamore" are very quiet but lack natural daylight. If we visited aga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrina13, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It is so very rewarding when our guests tell us how much they have enjoyed themselves. We share all the comments with the team and I am sure they will be delighted to see your review.

We hope to welcome you soon

Petrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We had a short break at Gunton Hall and I can't wait to come back. The in house entertainment team was brilliant, we stayed in the village square 10 chalet which was very nicely decorated and very clean. The huge grounds were nice but some parts needed attention especially around the lake.
The food was tasty and different, traditional english dished, highly recommed that you try the fish and chips and the sausage bar. Our waitress Laura was very attentive, always smiling and nothing was too much trouble for her even when very busy at times in the evening. All the staff were very friendly around all the areas which we visited.
I would of liked later and longer dinning times in the main restaurant and maybe have late night food available after the entertainment. Apart from these everything else was just perfect
H Scott

Room Tip: Take advantage of your Concierge Club benefit of free room location on larger site like Gunton Hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrina13, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thank you for your review, we do try to exceed everyones expectations and in reading your review we have certainly succeeded. I will share your comments with the team particularly Laura. We do take all comments on board and will make changes where possible. Feedback is a great tool for us which enables us to improve on what we have achieved already. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Petrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elstree, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

My husband and i had a fantastic break, the chalets were very well maintained and clean. food was excellent, plenty of choice well presented and always hot. entertained varied every night and was to a high standard. All the staff went out of there way to be helpful and no request was ever to much trouble, especially the waitress's in the restaurant and Eddie Lynton the manager. We will defantly be returning to Gubton Hall for another visit

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrina13, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this review, August 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am so very grateful. The team at Gunton Hall do try their best to make sure everyone is catered for and I will be sure to pass on your comments.

Hope to see you back soon

Shelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Just returned from a wonderfulweekend away at Gunton Hall. We been to a few warners properties but this time we decided to try something different near the coast.
We staying in the chalet driftwood 19 which was really nice and had great view of the lake. It was a bit far from the main building so for those with walking difficulties you might find it too quite hard. We had sun all the way throught the weekend which made our short break even better.
Everyone was very polite and helpful in all the areas we visited. The food was good but the restaurant temperature was very hot, perhaps air con not working, not sure. There was plenty of choicse both at breakfast and dinner, the only bug bear of mine is the coffee served at breakfast was too strong but our waiter James sorted it out once we mentioned to him.
The entertainment was brilliant. We came especially for it. Abba tribute band, Swede Dreamz were fantastic. Some other guests dressed up for the occassion and it was nice to see the staff dressed up also. What spoilt the night was the volume, it was too loud for the size of the room. Apart from that a very good weekend. We might try the other coastal properties of Warners after this experience

Regards
Michael Davidson

Room Tip: If you have walking difficulties try to get the Hawthorn chalets as they are near the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrina13, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, we do take all comments on board and share them all the team. I will be sure to tell James that he had been mentioned and I am sure he will be thrilled.

Petrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We've been here several times and have always had a lovely, relaxing few days, but this time was the best ever. We stay in the lodge, as this makes it easier for my disabled husband to get to and from the main building, and, as always, the room was immaculate, and the huge bathroom spotless!
The food was very good, plenty of choice, and the staff are unfailingly cheerful and polite.
Every member of staff we met was a credit to Warners and all seemed to enjoy working there. The grounds are beautiful, very well kept, and the addition of extra tables and chairs on the lawn outside the main house makes it a nice place to sit with a drink or two.
The highlight of the break though was the entertainment team! The show on Monday , Magic of the Musicals, was outstanding! All the cast were brilliant, we could have been watching a West End show. The comedian on the Tuesday, Olly Day, was very good, as are the resident band, Unison.
All in all it was a fantastic break, everything one would want in a short break, comfort, good food and brilliant entertainment.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrina13, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Thank you for such a lovely review, I am so pleased you had a fantastic time and the team will love reading your review too particularly the entertainments team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Petrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village

Address: Gunton Avenue, Lowestoft NR32 5DF , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Lowestoft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every break at Gunton Hall includes hearty hot and cold buffet breakfasts and delicious three-course dinners. Lots of daytime activities and leisure facilities including swimming,archery and salon spa.A unique and dazzling schedule of entertainment and dancing is also included in your holiday.The Hotel organises shopping trips to Nowhich, Bure Valley steam trains and Broads cruises. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gunton Hall Hotel Lowestoft
Gunton Hall Lowestoft
Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village Lowestoft, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.