We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location and hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ivy House Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ivy House Country Hotel to your Saves list
Ivy House Country Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ivy Lane | Oulton Broad, Lowestoft NR33 8HY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lowestoft
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely location and hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The main rationale for choosing the hotel was its location and the disability room for my sister.
Both our rooms were large and very well furnished with particulary big bathrooms.
Rooms could do with being a bit better soundproofing as a TV somewhere kept me awake from 6am.
Food, both breakfast and the evening meal, was excellent and the service friendly and speedy.
Lovely grounds and an ideal setting for exploring that part of the world. If you are a keen walker (i'm not!) you wouldbe particularly happy.
Its not cheap, but you are paying for quality.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    38
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
26
70
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Room was spacious and bathroom was also a good size, both were very clean (always a bonus). I have stayed in quite a lot of hotels recently and I have to say the bed at Ivy House was quite possibly the most comfortable I have slept in for a very long time. The cooked breakfast was simple and very tasty. Eve's bar is gorgeous as are the grounds. Very tranquil and relaxing. Will definitely be going back to sample the cream teas!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Having seen the recent press announcements covering the new ownership and mod's to the Ivy House and given that we are always looking at somewhere "new" for dinner we booked for dinner last Saturday.

We were very impressed as the location, gardens, staff and food were all excellent, the only downside being the price of the meal which was slightly expensive.

The gardens are very nice and are perfect for an evening or lunchtime drink. The bar meals are reasonably priced and looked excellent and the Sunday Carvey price seemed very reasonable. The "gin" prices are some of the lowest around - even for Bombay Sapphire!

The parking also warrants a mention as a wedding venue was underway and understandably space was limited however the Ivy House went to the trouble to have a member of staff present to identify available spaces and to assist with parking.......highly unusual these days!

Overall a very pleasing and highly recommended experience.

Room Tip: Only went for a meal so unable to comment on the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Lovely hotel, food quite good, rooms can differ in quality, staff very helpful and friendly , happy to help with your individual requests. Ensure everything works in your room as TV and shower not always working very well, staff will put it right but can be a bit of a nuance.

Room Tip: Ensure everything works !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Loved my stay, place was quiet as early in season but service and quality was better than i had expected. Client paid so not sure about room cost but it was a good room, hot water and all that. I would bring wife here for short break.
I am working wind farm here soon so plan extended stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Stay for one night paid £155 felt it was overpriced good location 10 mins from beach lovely for dogs restaurant over priced served us wrong meal . Sheets were dirty and found spider in the bed ! Would I stay again ? Not for that price

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I know I have written quite a few reviews, and may have said this before, but this hotel is near enough perfect. It is located in serene countryside close to Oulton Broad. The rooms are so comfy; the bed gave me the best night sleep in a long time, which was wonderful. The staff were so friendly and gave us such a warm welcome. I loved the relaxing bar in the conservatory and the breakfast was perfect home-cooked food. My only disappointment was the evening meal menu; you can choose between the restaurant or bar menus which gives you choice depending on what you want, but the food in the restaurant seemed uninteresting. Instead, we chose the bar menu which was great, but this didn't have the ambience of the restaurant. Apart from that little moan, we found not much to find wrong with this hotel as it is just something really special. We will be returning some time soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ivy House Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy House Country Hotel

Address: Ivy Lane | Oulton Broad, Lowestoft NR33 8HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lowestoft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ivy House Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ivy House Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Hotel Country
Ivy House Country Hotel Lowestoft, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ivy House Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.