We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sailors Home

Sailors Home
302 Church Road | Kessingland, Lowestoft NR33 7SB , England
01502 740245
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 125 restaurants in Lowestoft
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Thetford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Have eaten here a few times and every time the food and service have been outstanding. There was live entertainment last Sunday (23/06/13) which was great as well. The staff are all very friendly and welcoming. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    21
    11
    4
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Forgtet the look, the beer, food and atmosphere are fantastic.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

It looks a little run down but the beer, food and atmosphere are fantastic. We had cod, caught by the landlord that day - now that's fresh!

Ideal for walkers, cyclist and nearby campers.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“sunday tipal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

stopped off on way back to caravan warm friendly welcome even though we were srangers we visited twice once again during a evening even though we did,nt eat there the menu looked tempting

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Pub in Kessingland!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Big thanks to Paul and all the staff at the Sailor's Home Pub in kessingland, just love the place, best pint of Adams Ale served in Suffolk, and you will find it a challenge to find any better fish & chips anywhere in the UK, very friendly pub and a must if visiting Kessingland.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I visited this restaurant for lunch with my family and was impressed by the food. We had scampi and chips and fish and chips and they certainly give your money's worth in terms of portion sizes. The menu is varied but somewhat expensive. There is a fine selection of ales. There is a nice seating area outside, ideal in the summer. I must admit the first time we visited we were all very impressed, having recently moved to the area this was going to be our local. It was extremely disappointing therefore that we received a very rude welcome on our second visit. We went in the bar early evening and I asked the gentleman if they were serving food yet, as it was empty. He had no time for us at all, looked at the clock and then back at me with a look of disdain and simply said 'nah'. I questioned when they would be serving. To which he replied 'in an hour, but you should have booked a table as we're always full'. We walked out very unhappy by the lack of customer consideration, he really couldn't be bothered to make us feel like we should bother booking up. I walked the dog past there later that night and it was half full. We haven't bothered going back since.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sailors Home also viewed

Kessingland, Suffolk
Kessingland, Suffolk
 
Kessingland, Suffolk
Lowestoft, Suffolk
 

Been to Sailors Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sailors Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.