We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viewed for wedding venue” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Parkhill

Parkhill
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lowestoft
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkhill
Save
You added Parkhill to your Saves list
Parkhill, Lowestoft NR32 5DQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Lowestoft
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Viewed for wedding venue”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Recently checked the marquee and barn out as possible wedding venue for son and fiancée. The marquee smelled very damp and musty, the drapes looked very grubby with mildew evident. The chairs were old and badly worn and required (at extra cost) covers. There hadn't been a function in there for a few days and was untidy and grubby. The barn wasn't much better and while fine for charity coffee mornings etc, didn't present well for a wedding. Old paper plates were lying in puddles on the ground between the hotel entrance (which again smelled stale and carpet filthy) and the marquee. Needs a complete overhaul before it would be an acceptable place to hold what is a very expensive event.

Room Tip: Didn't stay here, so can't comment on the accommodation or service.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    9
    4
    5
    5
See reviews for
7
15
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

A lovely little hotel. We chose this hotel because it is dog friendly. First appearance the grounds and the house are stunning and is a beautiful wedding venue. The decor is 'old fashioned style' BUT it is in
keeping with the building and really does suit the hotel and gives it a wonderful homely feel. Our room opened up to the beautiful gardens which was great for our puppy and the room was spacious and clean. The food is amazing!!! Freshly prepared and huge portions. The owner is so freindly and accomodating we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely come back. I highly recommend this hotel with or without a puppy!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We would like thank Ruth and staff at Parkhill for a fantastic time we had at our daughters wedding,you made us all fell welcome and we all had agreat say in the hotel.Food was very good and you service was very good. thanks again Ruth. We will be back again for further functions. Thanks parkhill laura and chris biggs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have just had a few days in the Parkhill. It was meant to be one day but we stayed on because it was so great. It’s a hotel of real character so it may not suit people who like a minimalist, sterile environment. But it honestly doesn’t get more relaxing and it’s astounding value for money (check out the price of a Premier Inn room and that doesn’t include breakfast). The people are lovely, the rooms are amazing, the food is out of this world and the grounds are stunningly beautiful. Even down to the vegetable patch and greenhouse where they grow beans and tomatoes that they use in the kitchen. The hotel is in walking distance of Pleasurewood Hills for those of you who have children, and there’s a secluded pebble and sand beach. We will definitely be going back to the Parkhill and I am SO glad that we stumbled across it.

Room Tip: OK, I don't really want to say this in case they put the price up but room 3 is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesex
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed here with work (someone else booked it) when you drive in, the grounds look great, upon opening the front door you are met with a musty smell and dirty looking carpets, walls and skirtings.

I was shown to my room, which had a padded fabric headboard, really old fashioned curtains (complete with terrible stain) with matching lampshades, carpet in the bathroom with a pink bath suite and a toilet brush holder covered with a wallpaper circa 19080's, all that was missing was the dolly toilet roll holder. The carpet looked really dirty round the edges, skirtings were filthy and the toilet seat all chipped, overall grubby looking.

This is more like a really old fashioned B&B, its really dated, really old fashioned and in serious need of a refurb

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim T, General Manager at Parkhill, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Many thanks for your comments. We are in the process of refurbishment but as you can appreciate these things take time. Regards General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedale
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

me and my husband who's in a wheelchair stayed over after attending a wedding in the grounds, when i booked up three months in advance i explained about my husband they said they had a ground floor room but the shower had a step up and no rails,, i said i could manage if i could have a plastic chair in it for him to sit on, well true to their word the chair had been put in which we were very impressed as they had taken note of our needs, and couldn't be more helpful the room was lovely and spacious and we had a very relaxed stay and the breakfast was very good too, would love to go back to stay again.

Room Tip: ground floor suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I went on Saturday to a wedding at Parkhill, Oulton, Lowestoft. The food was very hot and impressive. Well done to the chef!! This is the first wedding I've been to in a long while where all the courses were hot, the food was nice too as well as the service we recieved from the staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parkhill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhill

Address: Parkhill, Lowestoft NR32 5DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Lowestoft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Parkhill Hotel Lowestoft
Parkhill Lowestoft, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkhill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.