We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hatfield Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Hatfield Hotel to your Saves list
The Hatfield Hotel
The Esplanade, Lowestoft NR33 0QD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Lowestoft
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for a long weekend , fantastic staff , polite and very efficient , room spotless ,
Ate on the sat night , lovely steak !! And the wife said her cod and chips were the best she had eaten for a long time !!!
Met the GM , very nice and very helpfull man ! Going to rebook ASAP !!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    79
    34
    19
    21
See reviews for
47
82
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

booked this hotel as we were attending a wedding there, room was nice and clean adequate for a nights stay, breakfast was nice cooked to order so a full English went well before a 5hr journey home, staff were friendly . the organiser of the wedding planner done really well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We went for a Saturday night 29th June.
Location - Lovely spot on the front, near cafes, restaurants and not far from the town centre. Next door to a nightclub. Noise didn't bother us (I heard it once) but some of the other guests mentioned it.
Room - nice & clean, lovely comfortable bed. Large flatscreen TV. Tea & biscuits. Fudge was a nice touch and we really appreciated the 2 bottles of water! Shame about the view of the fire escape.
Breakfast - quite busy, had to wait for glasses and again for bread. The food was good quality and a good choice (eggs benedict, kedgeree, kippers - extra to pay on B&B price). However, we did wait about 40 mins for it - chef was overstretched.
We'd return for a night but want a different view/room if staying any longer.

Room Tip: A sea view would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I booked a single room, what I got was inferior in size to a prison cell! The difference being that the walls were made of cardboard.

In the dark corridor the light flickers out before it is possible to insert the oldfashioned key in the lock The only good thing about the room was the comfortable bed - I suppose you could therefore say the room was 45% good, as that is the proportion of the room it occupied.

Said bed was wall to wall on three sides, the television perched high on a shelf beside the pelmet above the end - the only way to watch was to lie flat on the bed, the angle made the picture colour very strange! The aged bathroom was a triumph of compression, the lavatory jammed between the wall and the bath, with the towels balanced on top of the cistern.

I asked the receptionist where I could sit downstairs (the choice in the bedroom being the edge of the bed or a stained upright chair jammed at a right angle to the wall facing the bed). He said 'the library'. It was full of tables laid for a meal when I went to look, but he said that the waitresses would be happy to let me sit at one without eating! Sitting at a restaurant table is not most comfortable way to relax in the evening, or catch up with work. It had a small balcony with assorted ancient metal furniture overlooking the sea, but I discovered that sitting there meant being engulfed with fumes from the people who went there to smoke. There was no where else to sit at all.

The receptionist could not move me unless I doubled my payment for a suite - the cell had cost £65.00 with breakfast! The breakfast menu had a mouthwatering picture on the cover, of a croissant, a bowl of marmalade and a steaming mug of coffee. Reality was sliced brown/white bread and a diy toaster, help yourself to coffee from a thermos, and a bowl of assorted jams in plasic boxlettes. There was a lacklustre 'English cooked breakfast' included in the price.

The room had ancient stained carpet and furniture lacking knobs, but was absolutely clean and all the staff were pleasant and friendly. Even so, seriously, avoid this place!

Room Tip: Maybe sea facing rooms are better? Avoid 'Single' like the plague
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times. The hotel's location is excellent just on the seafront.
The hotel has a small carpark which this time we couldn't get in as people who were using the restaurant were parking there. We were lucky there was space to park in the road. The hotel is going through a refurb at the moment so part of the bar is closed, which meant if you wanted a drink you only had two tables as the other tables were set up for dinner. The carvery is very good and good value hence the packed car park. The staff are very welcoming, helpful, polite and cheerful.
We had a seaview room which was clean and comfortable (206) only complaint about it - that little bit of sun that always gets through the crack in the curtains at 5am, when will English hotels bring in a blackout curtain as well. Bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet. The hotel's location is excellent, and there are bench's just at the back very nice to sit out on after breakfast and look at the sea.
Breakfast is where I feel the hotel lets people down on, it's a little limited just a choice of two cereals - rice krispies and corn flakes, some yoghurts, a couple of pieces of fruit, a bowl of dried apricots and a bowl of nuts. You do your own toast, but no marmalade just jam and choc spread. They offer a full english which was good, it was hot and the eggs were cooked lovely. But it was completely let down by self service tea and coffee, which you poured from flasks. This is fine if the tea has just been made but if its been sitting there to long it tastes so stewed, I know some people like very strong tea but some people don't and quite frankly it was horrible. I wish they would go back to pots. Looking forward to going back when the building work is done.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Lovely large double room with wonderful sea view. Lot of building and refurb work in progress. Half board excellent value, great carvery option, popular with locals. Staff friendly and efficient. Breakfast choices limited if you can't eat a fried full English.

Room Tip: 2nd floor, sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Did not intend to stay here but accommodation was short in the area so took a chance. The hotel's location is excellent - practically on the well-kept, semi-sandy beach, lovely for a pre-breakfast stroll. The hotel itself is quite impressive but has probably seen better days. It is undergoing a refurbish which should bring it back to its former glory though. Swirly patterned carpets and a pub-like feel to the public areas feel more welcoming than off-putting. The food is better than you'd get in a pub although with a similar range of dishes: steak, fish and chips, burgers plus some more interesting stuff. The breakfast was ok: cooked to order but with a limited buffet for cereal, juices etc. the room itself was absolutely fine, very clean, but SO hot. We left the window wide open all night and when we returned from breakfast found two pigeons in the room! The nightclub wasn't such a problem as others have suggested. I would definitely stay there again but maybe upgrade to a sea view room....it might be cooler with a bit of a sea breeze.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hatfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hatfield Hotel

Address: The Esplanade, Lowestoft NR33 0QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Lowestoft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Hatfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatfield Hotel Lowestoft
The Hatfield Hotel Lowestoft, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hatfield Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.