We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Accommodation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Britten House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Britten House to your Saves list
Britten House
21 Kirkley Cliff Road, Lowestoft NR33 0DB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 26 Lowestoft B&B and Inns
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Comfortable Accommodation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Comfortable, friendly accommodation. Excellent choice of food for breakfast. In the best part of Lowestoft. Short walk to the best beach. Take your own deckchairs. Easy pleasant walk to town centre. Choice of restaurants nearby limited

Room Tip: Chopin Suite has an excellent large shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    29
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
122
10
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Have stayed here many times. Always made to feel welcome by the owners. Comfortable beds delicious breakfast. It overlooks the beach uninterrupted views. Short walk from restaurants and Lowestoft town centre.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Had a wonderful 3 night stay, amazing breakfast, lovely room over looking the sea, beautiful bathroom. Genuinely nice couple, Anne and Colin. we would stay here again.

Highly recommended, Carol and Norman from Lancashire.

Room Tip: The front rooms have the sea view, all are named by famous composers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Myself and my daughter had a wonderful few days here,the birth place of Benjamin Britten. Ann and Colin gave us a warm welcome and we felt at home right away. Our room was lovely and clean and the en suite was a good size. The full English breakfast was amazing, all cooked by Ann! She also makes her own preserves which taste fantastic. Colin waits on you at breakfast with his cheery face and funny wit. You certainly go out for the day feeling you won't need anymore to eat for some time. Very filling. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Britten House to anyone. We are hoping to go back again in the not to distant future. Thanks again to Ann and Colin for a lovely stay!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittenann, Owner at Britten House, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
It was really lovely to have you both to stay. Happy smiling people, like yourselves, makes our day. We hope to see you both again soon.
Kindest regards Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey uk
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Shame we only stayed one evening. A lovely hotel.asked for a superior room .got front of hotel overlooking sea. With a four poster bed. And a spa bath. The breakfast was lovely. The staff were really helpful with things to do. Suggested I walk to Ness point. I did then on to the maritime museum. Had a nice meal in the harbour pub. Which thankfully only had the football on low key

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittenann, Owner at Britten House, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
I am glad you had a lovely weekend. Our Maritime museum is run by volunteers and they are so passionate about our local history on the sea.
There are also two other museums in the park also.
Perhaps if you come again you can visit those and also the Lowestoft museum.
Kind regards Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Our staff constantly stay in hotels/B&B, It is an absolute pleasure to be able to give positive feedback on an establishment. Britten House is very clean, very well maintained and presented, with a friendly and accommodating host, the breakfasts was excellent. We very highly recommend this establishment for the business or pleasure a definite 11/10! Thank you

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittenann, Owner at Britten House, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for the 11/10. We do appreciate business travellers taking the time to leave a review for others, and we look forward to welcoming you and your staff again in the future.
Kind regards Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Made Lowestoft (211 miles from Dover) and stayed in this well appointed and friendly guest house where Benjamin Britten (the classical composer of "Young Person's Guide" and "Peter Grimes" fame) was born and grew up. We stayed in the Schubert room overlooking the sea and had an excellent breakfast the following morning. We will be back for the start of our Lowestoft to Ardemurchan trip in 2016.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms on the front of the house overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittenann, Owner at Britten House, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is surprising the number of cyclists who stay with us. Your visit to Lowestoft ticks two boxes, the first that we are the most Easterly point in England and Second that Benjamin Britten was born at Britten House, and was inspired by the beauty of the sunrises over the sea, to become a great composer. We look forward to seeing you again in 2016.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Britten House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britten House

Address: 21 Kirkley Cliff Road, Lowestoft NR33 0DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Lowestoft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Britten House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britten House Lowestoft, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britten House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.