We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Britten House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Britten House to your Saves list
Britten House
21 Kirkley Cliff Road, Lowestoft NR33 0DB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 26 Lowestoft B&B and Inns
lincolshire uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Everything lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Could not fault this hotel everything as it should be rooms were very comfortable lovely big shower room. Plenty of tea coffee biscuits you only have to ask if you want more of anything the best breakfast I have had away from home

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    29
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
123
10
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We travelled here at very short notice, together with our adult son. There was one small mistake, in that our room only had one cup on the first night, but as soon as this was mentioned, the apologies were forthcoming, and the necessary second one so hubby and I caould have a cuppa at the same time was provided. The owners and staff were helpful, friendly, and keen to do all they could to ensure everything was well done. Breakfasts were clean and fresh - no dirty plates, greasy food etc. Plenty of juice, milk, cereals and fruit available, and excellent cooked breakfast with choices - which they kept to (some places muddle orders) serving the entire group together, so all have a fresh, hot, freshly cooked meal together. Various teas were offered, or cafetiers of fresh hot coffee. Room and bathroom for ourselves and our son were spotless and perfectly well provided - including a fridge in each room - blessing for milk, and in recent hot weather for bottled wated which we bought for outside use. There were also fans in the rooms - again ideal in this weather, with decent facilities in terms of wi-fi, tv ( + channels, in case of bad weather, resting with cuppa late at nigiht etc). Plus, alothough card details were verified at the time of the booking, funds were not taken until the end of our stay - and this was done while ensuring everything had been ok with our stay. Various types of family groups - sinleton, cuples, small children, were seen at different breakfasts during our stay, and all were clearly content with all elements of hteir stay. An excellent place to stay whether as part of a seaside break, for business, or, as in our case, when needing somewhere to stay while looking for our new home. The rooms are named as suites bearing the names of composers, to echo the fact that Benjamin Britten had been born in that house.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croissy-sur-Seine, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have been regular visitors to Lowestoft for over 20 years, visiting and staying with family here on our annual visit from France. We now need to provide our own accommodation in order to visit our family and on our 2nd attempt, we have now found Britten House which gives us a really good base, ticking all our boxes - comfortable, well equipped (wifi, TV), spacious rooms, modern bathrooms, great breakfasts to start off the day with quality ingredients, cooked to order and served with good humour .. We would definitely return here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

A B&B with character , charm and a sea view coupled with well appointed rooms . Good food with a very flexible breakfast menu all contribute to this being a place to really recomend.The hosts Colin and Ann do everything they can to satisfy any request . My room no 1 on the ground floor was a real bonus for me as I am awaiting knee surgery while the ensuite was of a high standard.There is car parking at the rear but also adequate free parking on the road.When you have stayed here you will realise why Britten house has won awards.

Room Tip: Try and get ensuite though this is not an absolute essential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Good food and comfortable rooms with every facility, this is a house with history and a sea view, and the added convenience of shops and a bus stop nearby.

Thanks to Ann and Colin who made us feel welcome and special - the perfect hosts.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Once again I was put up in the Britten house on business.
Breakfast was excellent and lovely friendly service.
I had a sore throat and had lost my voice, the landlady Ann gave me strepsils to help me, which was a really nice touch.
The room was clean and comfortable, and the landlord Colin, had altered one of the rooms which I had commented on earlier to allow the TV to be viewed from the bed and make the room bigger. Well done.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

we stayed one night in a heatwave so room was a bit warm but we had a big fan which made it bearable. Great shower, comfortable beds and a very nice breakfast . And the thai just down the road was excellent although a bit quirky !

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Britten House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britten House

Address: 21 Kirkley Cliff Road, Lowestoft NR33 0DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Lowestoft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Britten House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britten House Lowestoft, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britten House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.