We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B and B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Olde Barn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lymington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Olde Barn
Save
You added The Olde Barn to your Saves list
Christchurch Road, New Forest National Park, Lymington S041 0LA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 42 Lymington B&B and Inns
Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great B and B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We have stayed here 3 times. The Olde Barns hosts are delightful. The rooms are spotlessly clean. Beds are comfortable. Tea and coffee facilities in each room. Breakfast is good. Bedrooms quiet due to being a distance from the main road.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
42
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I stayed the Olde Barn for a quiet, romantic getaway with my boyfriend and it delivered! The accommodation is clean and cosy. With lots of lovely touches such as magazines, DVD’s, a varied selection of tea and coffees, and I even had hairspray and make up remover provided which is great to know if i ever forget anything!

The breakfast was lovely on both mornings, it was cooked fresh and to order. We asked Julie (the owner) what to do and see in the local area, Julie was very helpful and full of ideas. Nothing seemed to be too much! All in all it was a great stay, in a great locations with a couple of pubs within walking distance and local towns in either direction within a 10 minute drive.

I will definitely be visiting again.

Thank you for such a lovely relaxing stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in the Family room at the Olde barn for a week. Had a wonderful stay in this charming B&B, clean, tidy, comfortable and welcoming.
Lovely location and perfect for exploring the New Forest
The breakfasts are amazing and set us up for the rest of the day.
We hope to be back to stay with you again soon.
Regards The Cucksey's (Gardeners)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed here for two nights. Clean, quiet and a fantastic breakfast! Good location for access to Lymington and its surroundings. Will definitely return for a stay when we're down this way again.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the converted barn/stables at the rear of the property, where there are separate su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jantrev
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

One of the finest B& B we have ever stayed in . If there was a six star we would award it to you. Everywhere is spotlessly clean and the breakfast was of the highest quality . When visiting the New Forest we will only stay here and will recomend all our friend as well to this accomadation . Thank you Julie .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We are no strangers to the new forest and have stayed in a lot of b and b's and hotels there. We are even getting married there in a few months.We wanted to get away last minute for a relaxing jubilee weekend and booked with the new forest visitors website for 2 nights. We were really excited to get away for a couple of days but when we called the olde barn to confirm booking we were told they only accepted 3 nights stay over the bank holiday weekend. We really wanted to get away so i had to rearrange work so i could leave early and have the extra night. Was a bit put out that nothing stated that on the website (perhaps a fault with the website). And we had to get more money to pay for the extra night with a just few days notice. The accomodation was lovely, clean and spacious, the bathroom had a lovely wet room shower and the bed was amazingly comfy. The purpose of the break was to relax and because we know the new forest so well its wasnt a break for walking or cycling etc. But 2 days in we noticed a show card on the window sill behind the curtains asking guests to be out of the room by 10.30am each morning. We wasnt on this break to get up early and by the time we had seen the notice we had been leaving the room around 11.30am each morning. We didnt neccesarily need the room to be cleaned but i guess that was why we had to be out by that time. I think it could be an idea to have a sign for guests to put on the door asking if they would like their room cleaned daily. As what if one day one of us was taken ill and couldnt leave the room etc. Also, breakfast was a bit uncomfortable on the first morning as you have to share a large dining table with other couples. I feel that its fair to let people know about that because its not very private dining and we found that the couple we sat with the first morning were a bit awkwardly silent. So my fiance and i couldnt have a proper conversation because it felt like we were being listened to. Having to ask a stranger to pass the orange juice is a bit annoying also. Luckily the next breakfast experience was with a nice chatty couple and it wasnt so awkward. But personally we would have preferred a small table just for us. The room does seem big enough for a few smaller tables. All in all, a nice pleasant trip and we got the relaxation we wanted (even if we should have been out of the room earlier than we would have wanted)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We have never done B & B only ever stayed in 4-5 Star hotels. We found The Olde Barn very welcoming, relaxing and was excellent value for money. The room that we stayed was used many years ago as a milking shed, which has been lovingly renovated. We loved the small touches that were in the room. We will revisit Julie and her family again like many others before us

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Olde Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olde Barn

Address: Christchurch Road, New Forest National Park, Lymington S041 0LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Lymington
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Olde Barn Hotel Lymington
The Olde Barn Lymington, New Forest National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Olde Barn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.