We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuinely great coffee - great escape from the coffee chains” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sophie's

Sophie's
4 Quay Hill, New Forest National Park, Lymington, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 99 Restaurants in Lymington
Price range: $5 - $8
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout
Description: Named after our two year old daughter, who likes cake, Sophie's is a family run business in Lymington's cobble quay hill. We're fully trained baristas who serve up proper coffee and homemade slices of cake that our nans would be proud of.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Genuinely great coffee - great escape from the coffee chains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

On a visit to Lymington it was hard to find an independent coffee shop serving high quality coffee, but thankfully we found Sophie's. Monmouth Coffee was being served which was a good sign and we had two flat whites that were well made. The milk was steamed correctly and served without any pretentiousness (that sometimes goes along with good coffee for some reason!).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    21
    6
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
“Top notch coffee,let down by the cakes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Very popular and located on the cobbles leading down to the quay. The coffee was absolutely top notch, freshly ground with some latte art on top. Not at all like the big chain coffees, a notch above. Surroundings modern clean and very quaint.
So why the average review, the cakes we found very dry and average taste, especially given they where clearly home made. Im not sure if they had been hanging around a while in the summer heat or we were simply unlucky. I would definitely go again, its better than the other options down on the quay.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely coffee and cakes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

What a find! Homemade cakes and lovely coffee served by helpful and very pleasant ladies. My husband had the lemon drizzle cake and I chose the banana cake. Look out for this little gem.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great coffee house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Went to Sophies over the weekend and had a great cup of coffee and a really excellent Panini, filled with tuna red onion and cheese - all the staff were delightful and very chatty - well worth a visit - great place to meet with friends for a good cup of coffee

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Visited here during weekend break to new forest. Clean, friendly place with one of the best coffees I've tasted outside London. Service from my waitress was attentive and relaxed and i recommend you try their Victoria sponge - i even took a piece away with me. It was very busy so I did have to wait, but it's worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sophie's also viewed

Lymington, New Forest National Park
Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park
 
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park
Lymington, New Forest National Park
 

Been to Sophie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sophie's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.