We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   South Baddesley Road, New Forest National Park, Lymington SO41 5ZB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lymington
West Sussex UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

The hotel is situated just past the IOW ferry, and across the water from the town. The main house and grounds are attractive - however all bedrooms are in detached blocks - ok if it is not cold or wet! The spa and pool are in a separate block too. Some of the apartments in the complex are privately owned. Rooms are spacious and well heated, with all usual facilities. Some have small kitchenettes or bunk beds for children. Our room was slightly careworn, but overall quite acceptable.

We were on an inclusive break with Secret Escapes which included an excellent dinner in the attractive Wedgwood Restaurant, and a full buffet breakfast in the informal restaurant, with all hot choices freshly cooked. Staff were at all times friendly and attentive, and we were made to feel most welcome.

Overall, most satisfied with the value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for such great comments left on Trip Advisor.
I was pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your time at the Resort, especially the food and friendly service. Although you liked your room thank you for your objective feedback regarding some of the aspect, I am please to say that after our 10 rooms full refurbishment we are carrying the improvement with another 8 rooms having carpets replaced and balcony painted.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    210
    111
    54
    35
See reviews for
173
320
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This was our second visit to the Elmers and we were not disappointed. The hotel is in a beautiful location with views across the water to Lymington.
This was a birthday treat and I had a back massage and a facial - really relaxing!! We used the indoor pool and the steam room as well. The pool is fairly small but if you choose a quiet time it is fine and you can swim lengths.
The only disappointing part of the trip was the dinner package. We ate in the main part of the hotel as this was part of the package - we could have eaten in the Steak Room, but as I am a vegetarian we hoped the main restaurant would be better. The restaurant and the bar area is very pleasant and the entrance hall with the Christmas tree was lovely. However the only vegetarian main that was offered was pretty dire. It was the usual risotto that is offered to vegetarians and was bland, sloppy and had I not been hungry I would not have eaten it. Actually if I had been blind folded I might have mistaken it for porridge!! We did not complain at the time as there were not a lot of diners there and we did not want to make a scene. There were two non meat starters and I wish I had just had those instead of the main. However my partner had the steak and he was not too impressed with that either and he found the forest fruits eton mess a big disappointment as well. Next time it will be the bed and breakfast WITHOUT the dinner!!! However I would thoroughly recommend this lovely hotel as a relaxing place to stay although avoid school holidays if you have not got children as I believe it gets very busy during the summer months. I would also like to mention ALL the staff who without exception were delightful, friendly and helpful. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your outstanding review on this website.
It is great to receive such great comments from return guests and to know that overall you had a splendid stay highlighted by the customer service provided by our team. I was mostly concerned to read your comments on the food you experienced, I have shared these with our Head Chef and asked him to ensure great care is taken to provide outstanding dishes for our vegetarian guests. He ensures me that he will be retraining his team to ensure of no further guest disappointment. Graham has suggested that next time you are at the Resort you ask to see him and he will design a vegetarian dish especially for you to restore your faith in our Waterford restaurant food.
Please do not hesitate to contact me before you make your booking to ensure your booking is processed swiftly.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

To celebrate our wedding anniversary we were bought afternoon tea at Elmer's Court - really looking forward to returning as we had our wedding reception there 8 years ago,

This experience was such a disappointed return, after our previous great experience

We arrived on time and were shown to the tea room, only guests there, after short while we were offered tea and the food was then brought through, we then saw one staff member five minutes later. After that we didn't see anyone else for the next 45mins - no offer of any more tea or food, in fact we finally got fed up and decided to leave.

At which point we then had the massive hassle of trying to explain that it was a prepaid experience and we didn't need to pay, this took a long time to sort out.

It's such a shame the hotel has fallen to this level as it has seriously tainted our memories of what was a great place very unfortunate .

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor.
I was sorry to read your comments. I have thoroughly investigated your feedback and will reply as follow.
Our afternoon teas are increasingly popular and we do at week end up to 40 afternoon teas per day, the feedback is in the vast majority very pleasing.
During our quiet period, our afternoon tea team is also responsible to setting the Restaurant ready for the evening service which explains why the team member did not stay in the Glenville lounge for the duration of your afternoon tea as this could have been perceived as intrusive. However that person should have checked on satisfaction and ask if you needed additional items. Please accept my apologies if this was not the case.
Please also accept my apologies for the miscommunication regarding the payment, our procedure is to process the payment and attach the payment reference to the booking to ensure it is traceable, the person who took the payment did not follow this procedure, the leaflet you presented was not a voucher only an advertising leaflet and the Receptionist on duty was right not too accept it as a method of payment. Once the payment was promptly traced back she was able to settle the account.
I appreciate your disappointment and I agree that the standards experienced were not to the level expected by our guests however I can assure you that it was a totally isolated incident and I hope you will give us another chance at restoring your faith in our establishment.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel

Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We had a two night stay here and you can't help be impressed by the sight that greets you as you approach the hotel from the road. The period exterior is mirrored inside with panelled walls and open fires. There was some confusion over our booking but it was dealt with professionally. Our room was situated in the, frankly, ugly new addition where most of the rooms are. Very comfortable but quite a walk (outside) from the either restaurants...ok if it's not raining. We ate in the Waterford restaurant and although the food was good the service was not as you would expect. The breakfasts are fantastic and can't fault. Probably picked a bad time, but the spa was also disappointing. The pool was cold, the showers didn't work and the steam room was broken....needs improving!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review posted on tripadvisor.. I was really pleased to read that you enjoyed the food and some aspect of the service while staying at the Resort. Regarding the evening Restaurant service we have had a new team and on a couple of occasion have experienced some inconsistency in quality of organisation. We have retrained the entire team and now our team is back to its original strength quality of service is well improved and we are receiving great feedback from guests.
The steam generator has been replaced with a bigger model, and guests have also positively commented on this.
We did have an issue with our Leisure boiler which was repaired in a timely manner.
I can assure you that these issues were isolated incident and I hope you will give us another chance to restore your faith in our establishment.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This was a spectacular break away for 4 days. We have never experienced such a warm, courteous and friendly staff and we have stayed in many hotels over the years. The food in the restaurant was well above average and beautifully presented. We did not stay in the main part of the hotel but were in the garden area in a large, comfortable room with king sized bed. Initially the room was a little cool until the heater warmed the room. Have suggested to the hotel that this be put on at least an hour before guest arrival. There is an indoor pool for use which is a bonus. Would definitely hope to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review left on the Trip Advisor website. I was really pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the Resort especially the friendliness of the team and the quality of the food. I have shared your feedback with our team as they work so hard to exceed our customer’s expectations and feedback such as yours is a real boost to the team morale.
I have asked for the heaters to be increased to ensure of all of our guests confort
On behalf of the entire team thank you again for your kind words.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Resort.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We were after a short break somewhere not too far from London and came across this hotel, offering a two night stay, bed & breakfast and also a meal in the restaurant one evening AND two spa treatments each.
The rooms are more like small ski lodge apartments.. amazing privacy, no annoying corridor mazes, with a nice bottle of wine waiting for you. Direct access to your room from the grounds
Spa treatments were fantastic and the spa facilities were great.plenty of places to explore near by and the local village is gorgeous!
Overall an amazing few days and we left feeling spoilt and relaxed.
Will be going back for sure.
Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review left on the Trip Advisor website. I was really pleased to read that you had such a great time at the Resort and truly enjoyed the facilities and the local New Forest area with so much to do!!
Thank you also for recommending our treatment as we have a new Spa Manager which has really driven the quality of treatments as well as little touches….
We look forward to welcome you back at the Resort, please call us directly and, on top of our best price promise, we will be able to offer you a £10 voucher to spend in our outlets!!

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

A bit disappointed thought this was a country house hotel but the accomodation is chalet style and built around a court yard. We were informed that there were no guest rooms in the main building. The rooms we were allocated were on the ground floor and had been refurbished and were excellent, although we had booked a double and a twin and had two twin rooms. There wasn't much privacy, the curtains had to be closed because you could see into the rooms when walking past. We were on a bed and breakfast break and the breakfast quality and service was excellent. The dining area for breakfast is in the Scottish Steak Bar attached to the spa reception and spa facilities. We only visited the main building upon arrival and then on departure. We didn't feel part of the main "hotel".

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your objective review. I was pleased to read that you really enjoyed the quality of the breakfast and service. I was sorry to read your comments regarding the type of accommodation provided however description on website and all literature as well as part of our Reservation script is “accommodation is in his own courtyard, a minute walk away from the Manor House”. Pictures of the accommodation are also available on the website as well as other websites we work closely with such as Tripadvisor. We only have apartments in the Manor House which are also available for renting for longer breaks please do not hesitate to contact us to enquire on these. In the Manor House you also have all of our Wedding facilities and our fine dinning restaurant the Waterford.
Thank you again for your feedback and maybe we will welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel

Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort

Address: South Baddesley Road, New Forest National Park, Lymington SO41 5ZB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the stunning Solent Coast, this New Forest hotel is only 15 minutes' walk from the nearby town of Lymington. Set in a manor house dating from 1820 and surrounded by 23 acres of private grounds, the Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort is the ideal venue for a weekend break or a romantic wedding in the Hampshire countryside. Swim in the indoor or seasonal outdoor pool, book in for a spa treatment, dine in the elegant Waterford Restaurant or simply relax in the spacious accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel Lymington
Macdonald Elmers Court Lymington
Elmers Court
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort Lymington, New Forest National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.