We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   South Baddesley Road, New Forest National Park, Lymington SO41 5ZB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lymington
Stroud, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This hotel is in a beautiful old building with newer additions in the grounds over looking the harbour at Lymington.

I booked via Secret Escapes but for whatever reason my booking did not show up on their system although I had all of the confirmation details. Luckily they had spare rooms so there was no problem but it could have been an issue on another occasion. The reception staff were not as helpfull as they might have been and I was left feeling that it was somehow my fault they did not have my booking!

We took advantage of the all inclusive deal which included dinner in Waterford restaurant. The staff were attentive and helpfull if a little inexperienced. The food was excellent but the wines were overpriced in my opinion with no bottle under £21.

The room was in a block set apart from the hotel. It was spacious and well equipped with a very large bed. The shower was probably the most powerfull I have ever encountered but there was mould around the bath and tiling which needs addressing.

Breakfast is taken in a separate restaurant in an adjacent block. It is a bit cramped and was very busy. The food was excellent; I judge breakfast by how well my eggs are cooked and the poached egg was nigh on perfect.

All in all the stay was very good just spoilt a little by the booking hastle.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your very constructive feedback. I was really pleased to read that overall you really enjoyed the food the service and our great Macdonald breakfast!!!
Please accept my apologies for the booking issue, I am sorry you were made feel this way and I have shared your comments with the reception team to ensure of no further guest disappointment.
Yours sincerely,
Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    210
    111
    54
    35
See reviews for
173
320
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Located adjacent to the Isle of Wight Ferry terminal this hotel offers excellent facilities. The Hotel building is a former country house of some size, offering interesting rooms and architecture. Many rooms are chalets surrounding the grounds which offer excellent accommodation. The restaurant is excellent being part of a 'clubhouse' facility with adjacent health facilities. A walk around the extensive grounds to the river offers great views across towards the Isle of Wight, whilst the well kept grounds allow post dinner walks. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for posting your review on trip advisor. We were pleased to read that you thouroughly enjoyed your stay at the Resort. Including all the facilities and its ideal situation.
We look forward to welcome you at the resort in the not too distant future.
Yours sincerely,
Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night in November. Every member of staff we met were friendly and attentive. Check in and check out were efficiently handled. Our room was large with a comfortable bed. We dined in the Scottish Steak club. There was an extensive menu, plus some attractive "specials". The food was freshly cooked to order, and tasted great. We also breakfasted in the same restaurant. There was a good selection of cereals, pastries, and dried fruits. There were a selection of fruit juices. English cooked breakfast was available, cooked to order. The only criticism we would make was the cooked breakfast - the fried eggs were oily, and the 'mushrooms' consisted of only 2/3rd of one mushroom.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your great review. I have shared your feedback with our team as such great comments are a boost to their morale and such great reward for their hard work.
I was sorry to read about your experience of our cooked breakfast, I have shared your feedback with our Head Chef and he will retrain his team to ensure of no further guest disappointment.
We look forward to welcoming you in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel

Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

A fantastic venue for a wonderful wedding! Nothing was too much trouble for the staff of this hotel from the day we first visited to the actual wedding day itself. The wedding coordinator was always on hand to answer our (many) questions prior to and on the day and the staff on the day were outstanding and worked extremely hard to make the whole day run smoothly. The venue itself is beautiful and helped to make the day even more special. We would recommend it highly!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your great review. Thank you also for choosing our venue for your special day. It was such a privilege to be able to make your day such a special one. The entire team, including Kirsty our Event Manager, would like to congratulate you and thank you again for your kind words.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Beautiful hotel set in extensive grounds, even on a rainy October afternoon it was lovely to walk around them & watch the ferry going to the Isle of Wight. Room was a good size & had the bonus of the what can only really be described as a walk in wardrobe! Lovely en suite bathroom/wet room. Great facilities within the leisure suite, pool does get very busy very quickly though. Food in the main restaurant was very good, drinks are very pricy though. The staff were efficient & helpful & took a round of drinks off our bill when we checked out after a small complaint about the guests above us whose children decided 05:30 was an acceptable time to run/jump/bang around their room, wasn't exactly the relaxing wake up I'd been planning! Overall a very good, thoroughly enjoyed break

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on the trip advisor website. I was so pleased to read that you really enjoyed your time at the Resort. During ½ term the pool, you are right, is a very popular facility. Please accept our apologies for the disturbance, again during school holidays we are extremely busy with families which does explain.
Our bar products are ones of the most competitively priced in this area.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

> *VERY* over prices food and drink in Scottish Steak Club.
> Very poor range of beers - no ales in Scottish Steak Club. Cans of Guinness!? (4 star hotel!?)
> Breakfast service poor in Scottish Steak Club. Good food though!
> Wedding on in main house which meant that the 'other bar' was used as a washing up facility while we tried to have a nice drink. Teenage staff forgot that we were there and spent most of the time being noisy talking about their sordid antics at the weekend.
> Feels like the staff are there under duress - always have to ask for things, never offered.
> Freezing cold pool which incorporates the 'whirlpool'.
> *SHOCKING* Tiny mens changing room - my five y/o had to endure other naked men at very close quarters.
> Kids in the sauna and broken steam room.
> Damp smelling room - very tired and dated décor.
> Noise travels down from upper rooms rather well.
> Nothing seems to happen in the main house. Generally staff don't give two hoots that you are there.

I genuinely have nothing good to say! If it was badged as a 3 star then I'd pipe down!

Room Tip: Go upstairs in the chalets to avoid early morning stomping!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on the trip advisor website. You are right we have not been awarded our 4 AA star yet however we are committed to develop our Resort in order to reach this accolade.
We do have bottled ales in all of our bars. The Guinness cans are the latest “Surge” product from Guinness which recreate the same product as draught however ensuring of the maximum freshness.
I am glad you enjoyed the food served for breakfast however I was surprised to read that you were disappointed with the service during your stay overall. I have shared your feedback with our Operations Manager and we will retrain our teams to ensure we remedy these issues highlighted.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Booked this hotel for a 2 night 'spa break'. Included breakfast (great choice available) 2 treatments each, wine on arrival and dinner on 2nd night. All the above were great ( although treatments were only 20-25 minutes each, not 30 minutes as advertised) but we kicked ourselves for not reading previous reviews about it not being a relaxing spa break. Unfortunately the spa pool was very cold and full of kids whenever we wanted to use it. It was more of a health club with a swimming pool than a spa, although this may be different out of half term. Apart from that, the staff were all very friendly and the location was beautiful. In short, don't book this for a romantic/relaxing spa break, but great location for taking in the local sights.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your objective review on this website. I was really pleased to read that overall you had a good experience. As mentioned previously on different review during school holidays we do welcome a number of families which have entire use of the leisure facilities, please accept our apologies if this was an inconvenience to you.
We look forward to welcoming you maybe out of school holidays, please contact us direct and we will ensure your booking is swiftly processed.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort

Address: South Baddesley Road, New Forest National Park, Lymington SO41 5ZB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the stunning Solent Coast, this New Forest hotel is only 15 minutes' walk from the nearby town of Lymington. Set in a manor house dating from 1820 and surrounded by 23 acres of private grounds, the Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort is the ideal venue for a weekend break or a romantic wedding in the Hampshire countryside. Swim in the indoor or seasonal outdoor pool, book in for a spa treatment, dine in the elegant Waterford Restaurant or simply relax in the spacious accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel Lymington
Macdonald Elmers Court Lymington
Elmers Court
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort Lymington, New Forest National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.