We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A return to Lymington” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stanwell House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Stanwell House Hotel to your Saves list
Stanwell House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14-15 High Street, New Forest National Park, Lymington SO41 9AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lymington
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A return to Lymington”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We enjoyed the last visit so much we decided to revisit. The decision was helped by the Returning Guest Voucher and we were not disappointed.
Cold weather notwithstanding the hotel was of the same high standard throughout and we shall probably make another visit - especially if we get a similar offer from the hotel.

Room Tip: We had a garden room on both visits and certainly no complaints on that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    194
    73
    49
    21
See reviews for
92
527
11
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, England
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Stayed here for one night with 2 other couples an a DBB break which included a cream tea and bottle of wine in our room. We were impressed with our friendly welcome by the receptionist, leaving our cases there until our rooms were ready. We then headed off to the shops and enjoyed a couple of hours or so in the shops. There are all the usual ones plus some different boutique type shops, did have a bit of a spend up. We went back to the hotel just after 3pm and our rooms were ready. We had room 12, an upstairs garden room, perfectly acceptable decor, bathroom recently redone I would think. Plenty of choices of various teas and some biscuits. Our wine was ready and waiting in a bucket of ice and you just rang reception for it to be opened. I actually had a corkscrew so didn't bother with that. My only minor niggle was the poor water pressure meaning the shower was pathetic and it would have taken forever to fill the bath. It was a bit better in the morning but didn't give a really decent shower. Everything was very clean in the room, bathroom and bar areas.

Our afternoon tea was beautiful, warm fresh scones, one plain and one with fruit, clotted cream and jam. Our evening meal was even more wonderful, have to say one of the best meals I have had, they must have a very good chef. As part of the DBB deal, you get an allowance of £26 and can choose 3 courses from a set menu (about 4 choices of each) for this but can upgrade if you want to. Two of our party upgraded to steaks which were thoroughly enjoyed. Their New Zealand Savignon Blanc at around £20 a bottle was very enjoyable. Tip, ask what the house wine is as we didn't find this on the wine list. The restaurant is split into more than one room which gives it a pleasant ambiance and intimate feel. There is also a snug area where you can sit and have a pre-dinner or after dinner drink which we did.

This really is a lovely small hotel (28 rooms or so I believe), very welcoming and pleasant staff and lovely surroundings. We ate our afternoon tea in the conservatory which was enjoyable as the sun came through the glass roof. They also set this area up for breakfast as well as in the dining room. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order and beautifully presented. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a smaller hotel and who enjoys gourmet dining. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Our friends had a ground floor garden room with patio doors which would be wonderful in the Summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Rather tired decoration .corridors dingy with cleaning bucktes left around .
Strong smell of disenfectant . room rather tired . Unable to open window - frame rotten .
Food not good a provincial chef trying to be too clever . would rather have eaten at Pizza Express
nearby .
Staff polite but service slow .
Would not recommend .

Room Tip: Ask to view room on checking
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This is a lovely hotel with very pleasant staff. Looking at the reviews I am glad we were able to stay mid week as it sounds very busy at the weekends. I do agree with the comment about the hallway to the back rooms. It needs decorating as it looks very tired and yes smells of disinfectant. It wouldn't cost a lot to update it a little. Room 15 is not particularly pleasant and I would not want to stay in it again. Some of the rooms on the website look amazing. Saying that, the rest of the hotel was wonderful, the food is marvellous and the service is very attentive. Really enjoyed sitting in the seafood restaurant and the selection of wine and champagne is excellent. Breakfast again was marvellous, so much selection from the buffet and so many choices from the hot food. We were very impressed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We were looking forward to our two night weekend break just a shame we picked this hotel. We upgraded to a suite where once going through the busy conservatory with our bags with just being told 2nd door on the left by reception we walked into a shabby hallway with a strong smell of disinfectant. The suite was very tired with glass furniture which was badly broken with sharp glass on the bedside table etc. Coffee stains on the carpet. When we reported this to reception they were surprised! We arrived at the restaurant to be told we were booked in the fish restaurant even though I had confirmation not. The three course meal took from 7.45 to 10.15 to be served, even though the restaurant was not full. Food average but enjoyable and waiting staff tried hard but were very inexperienced with not a lot of mentoring.
Our bed was comfortable and after a good nights sleep enjoyed breakfast. Once again the staff were helpful but didn't always understand. A second pot of tea took 5 requests.
Down to dinner for the second night where we thought a before dinner drink in the bar would be good, no bar staff once again (our 3rd visit to the unattended bar) welcomed by a door bell to ring. Didn't bother and went to the fish restaurant for dinner, wedding in the other restaurant. We could choose from either menu which was good. The starters were lovely, potted shrimps and Thai crab cakes. We both ordered grilled plaice which tasted like boiled fish and under cooked. We left the dinner and when the waitress commented we told her and left. The service once again was friendly but confused, wrong wine was brought to the table etc. Next morning breakfast in the conservatory, pleasant although items missing and when we asked for brown sauce the waiter smiled nicely but clearly didn't understand so chose to ignore it, my partner went and found some! I was refunded the dinner and sweet we didn't have on the second night because I complained. What a shame I had to do that. To sum up we have stayed in boutique hotels before but this hotel is trying to be one and is clearly not. We would never recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We reached Lymington at 1200, as it was a lunch party which had drawn us there, and we got the last legitimate space in the hotel's own car park. I'm not sure that there was very much movement later in the day. If one can't get into the car park then parking is expensive and requires payment, or moving the car, by 0800 the next morning.

Mind you, we'd intended to go by train; it was only on discovering that the railway would be shut east of Brockenhurst when we would be returning that we took a car instead.

The hotel is in at least one Georgian building in Lymington's attractive High Street. There is a tiny bar on the left as one enters, before reaching Reception. Beyond Reception there is a very attractive area with seats and tables in what is effectively an atrium. This gives the impression of being between old buildings, although apparently it was created deliberately and the flagstones are actually only about 15 years old.

The rooms are well equipped, with good bathrooms. Our room, at the back, was quiet. Unusually I didn't use the free wifi, so can't comment on it.

As we only needed a light supper after an excellent lunch, we went out; the hotel does offer options, but they all seemed likely to be more than we needed. There are plenty of alternative places to eat nearby.

Luckily we just beat the rush at breakfast, which was slightly chaotic, although it was a very good breakfast and freshly cooked.

We enjoyed our stay at Stanwell House and would return, so long as we didn't have to rely on the hotel's car park.

Room Tip: Ask for a Garden Room, to be away from the street (especially on a Friday night, as the market sets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

This is a very pretty hotel and the front of house/reception is clean, bright, stylish and pleasant. Sadly it all went downhill as soon as we entered the corridor leading to our room. Dark, dank and with a strong smell of industrial cleaning products, the room was no better; small, dark, stuffy, full of way too much furniture and equipped with what appeared to be two child-sized single beds shoved together.

The bathroom was laid out for the convenience of advanced contortionists and the towel rail was, rather alarmingly, held together with gaffer tape.

The bed lived up to its promise, contriving to be so concave that, regardless of where I laid, my feet were the only bit of me able to go to sleep. In the end I gave up and curled up on the floor.

It may be that, because we were staying as part of a Red Letter deal, the hotel decided to stuff us by giving us an awful room. I don't know. Either way, a nasty experience and one we have no desire to repeat.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stanwell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanwell House Hotel

Address: 14-15 High Street, New Forest National Park, Lymington SO41 9AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanwell House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanwell House is a cosmopolitan and stylish boutique hotel situated at the heart of Lymington, near the New Forest in Hampshire. As part of your stay at Stanwell House you can be sure you will enjoy a warm welcome and superb stay complimented by fine dining and sumptuous wines at our cocktail bar, bistro and seafood restaurant whilst absorbing the relaxed and tranquil ambience, ideal of all the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stanwell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanwell Hotel Lymington
Stanwell House Hotel Lymington, New Forest National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanwell House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.