We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stanwell House with the children” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stanwell House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Stanwell House Hotel to your Saves list
Stanwell House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14-15 High Street, New Forest National Park, Lymington SO41 9AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lymington
Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stanwell House with the children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed in a suite at Stanwell House for 2 nights in August. The suite (16) was ideal for our needs with a 2 1/2 year old and a 6 month old. Comfy travel cot and the sofa bed in the lounge area was huge for our oldest. The suite itself was lovely and looked out over the garden. on the sunday we'd been advised when booking there was a wedding in the hotel but with the bathroom door shut no noise from the entertainment disturbed us.

Breakfast is highly recommended with a good sized (but not oversized) portion of excellent food on the English breakfast. We had dinner in the hotel on the Monday night and the menu was excellent and the staff very friendly and accommodating.

Overall the location is excellent, the staff are friendly and the food is good. Parking wasn't an issue for us although the hotel's car parking area was usually busy. Only points to note that on the sunday night we ordered room service and the smoked salmon sandwich definitely had never seen either focaccia or ciabatta bread (2 slices of sliced brown bread) and that if putting a young child who is a light sleeper in the lounge area of the suite the window is a skylight which does not have a blind (although this did not prove a problem for us).

Overall would recommend for the friendly staff, location and quality of food. On one of the many deals the hotel offers this represented excellent value for staying in school holidays in the New Forest area.

Room Tip: Suites look really nice and are well worth spending a little more for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    194
    73
    49
    20
See reviews for
92
527
11
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Booked a room for a friends wedding, on booking we were told we had a Georgian room on the top floor. On arrival we were given a garden room with hard flooring. There was a very strong smell of bleach/detox - turns out we have one of the 'dog friendly' rooms, a little like the old days of being put in a smoking room when you don't smoke. They never mentioned this on arrival and when queried just said 'its because they are a pet friendly hotel' ....not a reason in my eyes to keep it from us.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Booked a room for a friends wedding, on booking we were told we had a Georgian room on the top floor. On arrival we were given a garden room with hard flooring. There was a very strong smell of bleach/detox - turns out we have one of the 'dog friendly' rooms, a little like the old days of being put in a smoking room when you don't smoke. They never mentioned this on arrival and when queried just said 'its because they are a pet friendly hotel' ....not a reason in my eyes to keep it from us.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

What a wonderful stay, we got an upgrade to a suite which was a lovely room with separate bathroom and sitting area. We parked in the small carpark which was free, there were other pay and display spaces close by if that carpark is full. We decided to stay for dinner, being vegetarian we normally struggle but they have a separate vegetarian menu so we had plenty of choice. We got great starters of goats cheese salad with sides of focaccia and olives - all delicious! For the main course we ordered wild mushroom tortellini which was amazing, with really tasty sauces around the edge of the plate every mouthful was a delight. Really top marks to the chef for producing such wonderful food, more often than not we find even in very good restaurants, meat and fish dishes are great but vegetarian dishes don't live up to expectations. The breakfast was delicious too. All in all we would highly recommend staying and eating at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night break. The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. Bathrobes in the room would have been perfect and something I would suggest that the hotel consider, we stayed in a garden room and it was very quiet , we got a good nights sleep and thoroughly enjoyed a hearty breakfast. All of the staff were really friendly! Without exception, we were very impressed by the service which was always with a smile! Especially in the fish restaurant. We really enjoyed our stay, we would recommend and would stay again. Situated on the high streets very central and close to local amenities.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed for two nights-lovely hotel. Welcoming and attentive staff. Only ate breakfast , which was very tasty with generous portions. Enjoyed the conservatory and patio area. Car park quite close by and free. car park filled up quickly plenty of pay and display areas close by. Good free strong wifi.
Room compact, very clean, comfy bed and nice bathroom with large effective shower. Will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I was treated to an afternoon tea here and would definatley recommend this to anyone as it was lovely! We sat in the quiet garden and when the 2 slates full of treats came out we thought great and was about to share them between the 4 of us however another 2 came out meaning we had one each! Beautiful sandwiches, cakes and scones! Lovely!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stanwell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanwell House Hotel

Address: 14-15 High Street, New Forest National Park, Lymington SO41 9AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanwell House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanwell House is a cosmopolitan and stylish boutique hotel situated at the heart of Lymington, near the New Forest in Hampshire. As part of your stay at Stanwell House you can be sure you will enjoy a warm welcome and superb stay complimented by fine dining and sumptuous wines at our cocktail bar, bistro and seafood restaurant whilst absorbing the relaxed and tranquil ambience, ideal of all the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stanwell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanwell Hotel Lymington
Stanwell House Hotel Lymington, New Forest National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanwell House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.