We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting and informed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Barbe Museum and Art Gallery

St Barbe Museum and Art Gallery
New Street, New Forest National Park, Lymington SO41 9BH, England
44 1590 676969
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 24 things to do in Lymington
Attraction details
Lymington, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Interesting and informed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Great for a "small town" museum with fantastic art exhibitions, historical re-enactments and very enthusiastic followers. Friendly and accommodating people support group.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    15
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Graz, Austria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“discworld exhibition and fun at the museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

almost by accident I found out, that there was a Paul Kidby exhibition going on only 2 streets away from our b+b. the discworld exhibition was great, I always wanted to see the paintings this close! WOW. the staff at the museum was really nice, we had some fun at the museums own exhibition on lymingtons past, the smuggler, the eel fishing, how to get salt out of sea water...there were boxes full of stuff for children, you could dress up as a house maid or in a bathing suit, search the smuggler for tea/brandy/silk and so on..we had a really good time (ok, we act a bit stupid for our age, but that's holidays for you)! and the best of all: we met Paul Kidby in person! the lady at the reception even made him sign 2 pictures I bought, I was rather panik stricken and didn't want to bother him, but she insisted :D one of the best days in southern england!!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This is a great place to take your grandchildren on a rainy day. It has very clean toilets and seems to have been designed with bored children in mind. It is not free but the entry cost is only £3 for OAP's and children are less. There are lots of interactive exhibs to amuse the kids and several chances for them to dress up as Victorians, pirates or fishermen.

For the grown ups there are original photos and a varying display of local art. OK, it not the National History Museum and it is run by volunteers, but they do it well and it is really good for half an hour to an hour for the children up to around 10 years old.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

The museum is an absolute hidden gem in Lymington! It has plenty of interactive & hands on exhibits to please my young nephew & niece but interesting older artifacts to engage my elderly parents with reminiscences of war time & times gone by.
The pictures in the Art Gallery when we visited were lovely & I understand that there are some other interesting exhibitions coming up over the year.
Its really a worthwhile visit during a trip to Lymington!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Magic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

This museum is well worth a visit, lots for children to do, hands on exhibits in the museum with plenty to keep the children amused. The Art has an impressive programme of exhibitions from local history exhibitions to nationally aclaimed art exhibitions. From their 'Whats On 2012' guide I've spotted that there is going to be an exhibition of works by Randolph Schwabe later on in the year.

I came to see the 'Geoffrey Dashwood, Bronze Sculptures', my goodness how impressive!! I love the monumental Great Crested Grebe!

I'll definately be bisiting again.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Barbe Museum and Art Gallery also viewed

Milford on Sea, Lymington
Lymington, New Forest National Park
 
Lymington, New Forest National Park
Milford on Sea, Lymington
 

Been to St Barbe Museum and Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Barbe Museum and Art Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.