We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Pit Stop on a New Forest walk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hare and Hounds

Hare and Hounds
Durstan | Hampshire SO416AL, New Forest National Park, Lymington, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 102 Restaurants in Lymington
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Perfect Pit Stop on a New Forest walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We loved this little pub. The staff are friendly and welcoming. The beer garden is a lovely little sun trap where we could easily spend hours. We didn't eat, but the menu looked good. I would really recommend, especially if you are doing a New Forest walk as we were.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    31
    5
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Perfect Pub Grub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

The Hare and Hounds is our local, and I suspect we've eaten there more than most who post a review.
It's a great pub. Pretty outside, comfy atmosphere inside, and super hosts and staff. Good choice of beers, good value wine, and great pub grub. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Old Pub Grub!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Came to this pub for lunch after a long walk in the forest with our dog, we both opted for the burger as it was quick and easy for a cold day before returning home, top quality pub grub, service was good although the one barman was a bit swamped as he seemed to be on his own behind the bar (we did visit in the afternoon however) overall very enjoyable lunch and very accommodating to pooch.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Great location, food and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Popped in here on the way back from visiting friends in nearby Wootton.
Easy to find on the road leaving Sway to Brockenhurst.
Plenty of parking adjacent to the pub.
Great buzz on entry and nice welcome from the bar staff. We ordered our drinks and meals at the bar and then chose a table. Various places off the bar area to sit. Some private.
Very rustic interior with low beamed ceiling. Lovely traditional feel.
Loads of locals so we took this as a good sign.
Good selection of draught beers as you would expect and some guest beers too. I suspect you could spend a full day here trying everyone and still leave missing a few.
My wife and I chose a curry and chilli con carne to eat. This arrive 15 minutes after we ordered and
both were piping hot - plates too. Plenty on the plate and tasty.
Thoroughly enjoyed of meals and felt that our food and drinks were well priced - unlike some gastropubs that charge £4-5 more per meal for the same basic food.
Will visit again and a big thank you to everyone at the Hare and Hounds.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Nice lunch in this pleasant country pub. Real fire and good decor. Dogs allowed in the bar but not the restaurant, which may be good or bad depending on you attitude to pets.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hare and Hounds also viewed

Ringwood, New Forest National Park
 
Lymington, New Forest National Park
Milford on Sea, Lymington
 

Been to Hare and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hare and Hounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.