We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returned on many occasions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Passford House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Passford House to your Saves list
Passford House
Mount Pleasant Lane, New Forest National Park, Lymington SO41 8LS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lymington
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Returned on many occasions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

A beautiful hotel in a stunning location. The staff have always been very polite and helpful with nothing being too much trouble. Food is excellent and reasonably priced, as is the bar compared to comparable sized hotels. Bedroom clean and comfortable with the usual necessities, paper was at the door when we woke up. Bathroom was spotless.
Only slight observation is that the swimming pool which is of an excellent size was on the chilly side!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    110
    43
    16
    8
See reviews for
66
165
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I chose this hotel after looking for a quiet retreat for my husband's birthday gift. On arrival we were made to feel very welcome. Even though it was the middle of winter there were a few guests and still the grounds were lovely to wander around. We decided to dine at the hotel that evening instead of going out into town. The food was out of this world. The service from all members of staff was fantastic, an excellent stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I had Sunday lunch at this charming hotel . Even though we were the only guests on this very chilly Sunday we were made to feel very special and nothing was too much trouble . We offered not to stay so as not to put the staff out by cooking just for us, but the staff would not hear of it. We also enjoyed coffee in the delightful lounge. We were given a tour of the function rooms after lunch as we are thinking of having a private party at the hotel in the future. Thank you for a lovely afternoon. Looking forward to our return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Beautiful location, fabulous, large rooms, wonderful small pool/sauna. Staff friendly and warm and full of advice if you ask them, but not intrusive.This hotel is not modern, as in everything white and characterless, but it has powerful showers/baths, large comfy beds and, in my experience, is spotlessly clean. Food was delicious. Small bar was warm and toasty with a big log fire. Excellent for a winter break away from everything!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my boyfriend found a deal on this hotel online and so we went for it. However we weren't expecting such beautiful grounds (the view from our standard room window was stunning) nor such wonderful food or top quality service. Worth more than its 3 AA stars in my opinion. We also got snowed in one of the days but there was still an abundance of things to do including walking the beautiful grounds, using the swimming pool and sauna, playing games by the fire in the bar, as well as relaxing in our comfortable room. I want to go again next year!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

my husband and I stayed one night betwixt Christmas and New Year, wish we could have stayed longer, a big plus for us was the acceptance of our little dog. It was like a country manor, and I expected our room not to be great seeing we had a dog, as certain rooms on ground floor were put aside for dog and owner, pleasant surprise, it was lovely, and so warm, the bathroom was huge, we called it the dogs bedroom. We only had breakfast at the hotel and it was a good experience. The owner was there with his family. The next day we caught the ferry to the Isle of wight and would def stay again. Alot of money had been spent in the bathroom with two different shower heads and good water supply. A bonus was the indoor swimming pool and sauna..Looking forward to staying again this year hopefully.

Room Tip: we stayed in 143..did go through some quirky rooms to get there but did not mind as we had the dog...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed overnight whilst visiting relatives in Lymington who recommended the hotel. Overall very pleasant, good atmosphere, nice place etc. We were booked for dinner b&b and found the receptionist almost rude in trying to book us into the restaurant at a time that did not suit. Not the best start to the visit. Dinner was (again) pleasant - not stunning with a rather dull menu. The chef is of a fair standard for a 3* privately owned country hotel (it would have been unreasonable to expect more). We enjoyed the buffet breakfast - excellent bacon - shame the scrambled eggs had been kept warm for too long.

To summarise - rather like the curate's egg; good in parts.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Passford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Passford House

Address: Mount Pleasant Lane, New Forest National Park, Lymington SO41 8LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Passford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Passford House Hotel Lymington
Passford Hotel Lymington
Passford House Lymington, New Forest National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Passford House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.