We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Passford House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Passford House to your Saves list
Passford House
Mount Pleasant Lane, New Forest National Park, Lymington SO41 8LS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lymington
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Beautiful location, fabulous, large rooms, wonderful small pool/sauna. Staff friendly and warm and full of advice if you ask them, but not intrusive.This hotel is not modern, as in everything white and characterless, but it has powerful showers/baths, large comfy beds and, in my experience, is spotlessly clean. Food was delicious. Small bar was warm and toasty with a big log fire. Excellent for a winter break away from everything!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    110
    43
    16
    8
See reviews for
66
165
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my boyfriend found a deal on this hotel online and so we went for it. However we weren't expecting such beautiful grounds (the view from our standard room window was stunning) nor such wonderful food or top quality service. Worth more than its 3 AA stars in my opinion. We also got snowed in one of the days but there was still an abundance of things to do including walking the beautiful grounds, using the swimming pool and sauna, playing games by the fire in the bar, as well as relaxing in our comfortable room. I want to go again next year!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

my husband and I stayed one night betwixt Christmas and New Year, wish we could have stayed longer, a big plus for us was the acceptance of our little dog. It was like a country manor, and I expected our room not to be great seeing we had a dog, as certain rooms on ground floor were put aside for dog and owner, pleasant surprise, it was lovely, and so warm, the bathroom was huge, we called it the dogs bedroom. We only had breakfast at the hotel and it was a good experience. The owner was there with his family. The next day we caught the ferry to the Isle of wight and would def stay again. Alot of money had been spent in the bathroom with two different shower heads and good water supply. A bonus was the indoor swimming pool and sauna..Looking forward to staying again this year hopefully.

Room Tip: we stayed in 143..did go through some quirky rooms to get there but did not mind as we had the dog...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed overnight whilst visiting relatives in Lymington who recommended the hotel. Overall very pleasant, good atmosphere, nice place etc. We were booked for dinner b&b and found the receptionist almost rude in trying to book us into the restaurant at a time that did not suit. Not the best start to the visit. Dinner was (again) pleasant - not stunning with a rather dull menu. The chef is of a fair standard for a 3* privately owned country hotel (it would have been unreasonable to expect more). We enjoyed the buffet breakfast - excellent bacon - shame the scrambled eggs had been kept warm for too long.

To summarise - rather like the curate's egg; good in parts.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We have just spent 4 days here. What a lovely place. Rooms are decorated in country house style, lots of wood and pastels. The lounges have huge log fires very welcoming on a cold wet evening.The staff are friendly helpful and spot on with service. Always on hand without being obtrusive.The food was first rate the chef is equal if not superior to any top of the range hotel/restaurant. All in all a super place to visit. Baby/child/dog /friendly. We are certainly going to revisit.

Room Tip: An upstairs room which have lovely views over the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here for three nights over Christmas and enjoyed an excellent time. The owners have a culture of trying to ensure that guests mix, make friends and they have created an atmosphere of staying at a friend's country house rather than at an hotel.

Without fail all the staff were nice, friendly and helpful. Being a very old building, the layout can seem a bit quirky - but that is part of the charm of Passford House. Despite it being cold outside, the temperature indoors was always very warm and the log fires added greatly to the ambience.

The chef is excellent and all the food was of very high quality. In fact I would say that the chef is a potential Michelin Star chef. The food was as good as almost any five star hotel in London apart, perhaps, from the most elite establishments. Mealtimes were most enjoyable with excellent, attentive service and a friendly, fun atmosphere.

Our room was a little disappointing, being about what one would expect from a good three star hotel. It had everything you needed, of course, but was a little dated and tired. Sleep quality was compromised by something the hotel owners can do very little about - the creaking and noisy floorboards and joists overhead in this old building. I could have been persuaded that an elephant was using the room above us!

Drinks in the bar were reasonably priced, little more than a few pence above pub prices, which was very encouraging! However, the chairs in the public rooms do need reupholstering. Whilst adding to the old, clubby feeling, they have been very well used. The clientele, middle aged and older, do not find it easy to rise from sunken seating. In fact the state of these chairs is the only thing really that has stopped me suggesting that Passford House deserve a five star rating.

In short, I recommend Passford House to anyone who wants to stay in an individual, warm and welcoming hotel - just a two or three miles from Lymington and the New Forest.

Room Tip: As the hotel has grown organically, I understand the rooms are all different shapes and sizes. But a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed Sunday lunch at this stylish hotel. I loved the decor and especially welcoming were the real log fires in each lounge. Did n't get chance to see the gardens as it began to rain but I imagine they would be lovely in the summer. Well worth a visit!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Passford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Passford House

Address: Mount Pleasant Lane, New Forest National Park, Lymington SO41 8LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Passford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Passford House Hotel Lymington
Passford Hotel Lymington
Passford House Lymington, New Forest National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Passford House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.