We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stew and Dumplings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of the white hart pub/restaurant

the white hart pub/restaurant
17 Milford Road | pennington, New Forest National Park, Lymington SO41 8DF, England
01590 673495
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 99 Restaurants in Lymington
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Stew and Dumplings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

Six of us, including 2 small children had a very good meal, at 5.30p.m. The service was speedy and friendly, and our meal was delicious, especially my Stew and Dumplings, which was exceptional.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    28
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Scrummy Sunday Roast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

We were out on a Sunday drive and came across this pub by chance. Had their carvery which was fantastic!! Will certainly go back there again when we are in the area.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good meal in the garden on a warm evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014 via mobile

We visited on a warm evening in late September and decided to start with drinks outside in the garden. It was so pleasant, we stayed outside to eat our meals.
The menu seemed a little limited at first sight, but we found that what we chose was cooked and served well. A case of 'stick with what you're good at'?
The Landlord and his beautiful German Shepherd entertained us and we enjoyed a good experience. Recommended. We'll certainly be back.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Meal at the White Hart Inn, Lymington”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Range of food offered was rather limited compared to most of the English pubs that we visited during our couple of weeks in the UK (this time) and the standard of service was very average.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Saved by This Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

The day after having to endure the worse food in a decade at the Pig my friends who we were staying with who live near Brockenhurst asked if we would like to go out for Lunch as we were all hungry from the day before they said do not judge this Pub / Rest by the cover which we agreed to
We got to the pub and were seated near the back door very nice young man made us feel very welcome and knew what he was doing, we watched plates coming from the kitchen and all of us
were beginning to feel hungry we ordered the ribs and they were wonderful all garnished and seasoned we also had puddings and wine.
This meal we all agreed was one of the best meals in a pub we have ever had and next time we are staying with our friends we will eat at The White Hart again

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the white hart pub/restaurant also viewed

Lymington, New Forest National Park
Lymington, New Forest National Park
 
Lymington, New Forest National Park
Lymington, New Forest National Park
 

Been to the white hart pub/restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the white hart pub/restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.