We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch Disaster” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on the Prom Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Inn on the Prom Hotel to your Saves list
Inn on the Prom Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11-17, South Promenade | St Annes on Sea, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1LU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Macclesfield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lunch Disaster”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We have only lived in this area for 4 months and I wanted to take my Mum for lunch and thought it would be good to try one of the hotels on the promenade. I looked at the reviews last night for this hotel and decided to try the Caffe Lingerie at this hotel. There did seem to be a limited lunch menu but the reviews were pretty good.

When we entered the hotel we found our way to Caffe Lingerie, we appeared to be the only people there for lunch but we found a table and had a look at the menu. After waiting for about 10 minutes I had to go and find a waiter to take our order. We ordered 'Catch of The Day' which we were told was Haddock (Fish & Chips basically at £5.99). After waiting for around 20 minutes the waiter arrived with our meal which I have to say, presentation wise, did not look very appetizing and looked as though the food had been thrown on to the plates (no garnish at all!). Once we had tasted the fish my first fears were confirmed, the Haddock was extremely dry and the chips, described as French fries were thick oven chips. We ate what we could of the meal but left some of the fish and most of the chips.

Once again I had to ask someone to find the waiter so I could pay the bill. When the waiter arrived I did say that it was the worst fish and chips I had ever tasted. He did in all fairness apologise and said he would only charge us for the drinks and he would pass our comments on to the chef.

I know that £5.99 per person is not a lot to pay for fish and chips in a café but I would rather pay more and receive a decent meal and good service.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPC21, Owner at Inn on the Prom Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
ouch that hurt we apologise most sincerely for the dissapointment with your meal and service we have undergone a major kitchen brigade change and are working on new menus all the time please visit us again where we shall be delighted to give you a complimentary meal we are now confident that our new kitchen team are in control and you will see major changes thanyou for taking the time to give us feedback many thanks a most apologetic team .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    125
    79
    47
    37
See reviews for
159
126
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed during Feb. half term with our 2 boys, aged 5 & 7 for 2 nights. Located across the road from sand dunes and prom. The hotel has a small games room and separate pool table room which kept the boys entertained.
There are lovely large comfortable areas to sit before or after dinner around the reception area and bar. The family rooms are large with a flat screen tv and plenty of expected channels to keep children distracted whilst you get ready or chill out. 2 separate single beds to the delight of the boys and so comfortable. However the bedrooms are stifling as the day progresses, even with the small window left open all day the reason being mild wet winter and the hallway radiators at full power. Disappointed, that with the extremely comfortable beds, sleep was interrupted due to heat, however, boys slept no problems. Some guests may not have an issue, but thought mention it as we were both exhausted when we returned home.
Swimming pool, sauna and spa pool, dated and need of refurb, but boys not disappointed, to their delight we were able to use the spa pool altogether, as no life guard to tell them off - parent supervision - fine as have a little common sense regarding its use with children.
The best part for me was the Remedy Spa, Linda the therapist was wonderful. I enjoyed a reflexology treatment and other half had a massage, very competitively priced and relaxing treatment rooms that we booked when we arrived.
Had the dinner menu, different menus on both nights. For the boys we paid £10 each for their dinners, they were able to choose from the child menu (usual, sausage, chicken nuggets, pizza etc) or have a child's portion from the main menu - this turned out to be the same size as an adult portion, my eldest who loves his food was delighted whilst the youngest fussy pot wasn't so!
The staff are very attentive, we had an issue when we arrived with a flat tyre, and grateful thanks to the member of staff who gave directions to the nearest garage then ended up going to the garage with my other half instead - brilliant, as I was able to entertain 2 very excited children on the fabulous sand dunes - sea too far out to see!
This attention to detail was not lost on us and we would definitely return in the warmer weather, when heating is not required! The hotel is ideally placed, beach to the front and shops just round corner, extra bonus the department store had a sale, so ended up with 2 pairs of boots and 1 pair of shoes all for me!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPC21, Owner at Inn on the Prom Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
hi many thanks for the very complimentary feedback much appreciated by all the team at inn on the prom we look forward to seeing you again soon and linda sends her regards best wishes the team at inn on the prom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We had a look around this hotel with a view to staying here inthe future,the hotel has been modernised well with lovely soft furnishings and boutique rooms fitted to a high standard.we decided to stay for a three course dinner but were sadly disappointed.My 8 year old could have produced something more edible than this.Pate that had been on the counter for a while was warm and slightly grey. Lamb that had been pinged from a microwave and desserts that looked straight out of an Iceland box. This hotel could be great but sort out the catering!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPC21, Owner at Inn on the Prom Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
ooh dear where did we go wrong we apologise most sincerely on your dissapointment as we have undergone changes to our kitchen brigade we are continually improving our menus and systems we would like to take this opportunity of apologising most sincerely and if you would consider staying we would be delighted to offer you complimentary evening dinner where we are sure that your experience was a one off and our food and service is really great many thanks all the best the team at inn on the prom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Excellent welcoming staff who are on hand anytime to give advice on hotel and surrounding area. Good double room (number 72) for just myself, cosy/comfortable/quiet, no view, but I wasn't in there during the day, only slept there. (The mattress could have done with renewing, I felt like a dog trying to find the most comfortable patch! ) Food was excellent, plentiful, great variety for breakfast and choices for dinner. Snack bar service was well cared for and the service was excellent with good variety, tasty food.
Great hotel position on the prom. Didn't use the leisure facilities but others who did said they were pleased with them. I would visit here again definitely.

Room Tip: Number 72 was fine for me but for two persons, ask for new mattress!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPC21, Owner at Inn on the Prom Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
many thanks for the great review much appreciated by all the team at inn on the prom we look forward to seeing you again soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

This hotel is family run but has corporate appeal, the staff and service they offer is excellent together with the presentation and quality of food.

My room looked over the sea and was beautifully furnished.

I stay regularly when working in the area, my only observation with a recent stay was a particularly noisy group of line dancers who retired between 11.30 and 12.45 and were very inconsiderate shouting greetings and their plans for the following day as they stomped along the corridors, some of us staying have to be up early for work!

That said our paths are unlikely to cross again therefore I will be staying again during my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPC21, Owner at Inn on the Prom Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
many thanks for leaving the great review we really appreciate the feedback we look forward to seeing you again soon best regards the team at inn on the prom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockport
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed in the family room for 5 people (257) last night, visiting in a party of 11 for a family celebration.

The hotel is a home away from home. The staff are courteous and helpful in all areas of the hotel. Rooms comfortable and very clean. Lovely sea view and had a great nights sleep. I would suggest more towels in the room as 6 in a room for 5 is not really enough.

Dinner was superb, food excellent and waiters were so good with our children addressing them by their names and really taking an interesting, especially Sam (I think was his name).

Swimming pool was fab and changing areas spotless.

All in all a great stay. Can't wait for a reason to visit again!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are lovely, nice to wake up to that view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPC21, Owner at Inn on the Prom Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
really nice of you to leave us such positive feedback really appreciated by all the team we look forward to welcoming you back soon many thanks cheers the team at inn on the prom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Just spent five days at the Inn on the Prom for a conference/course. It's a very friendly hotel. Clean and well maintained. Room was at the rear (160), not a great view but clean and well equipped. (Bathroom a bit tired perhaps, but others of our party had bathrooms which looked to have been done more recently so it probably depends on the room you are allocated - the club rooms were amazing). Mattress was lumpy but after mentioning to reception a new mattress appeared which was very comfy. The team that cleaned the room everyday were great and well worth a tip. The management were great too, nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Attention to detail was good with public area toilets cleaned regularly throughout the day.The waiting on team varied a bit. One or two who grunted and need a few people skills tips! but most were excellent, friendly and very helpful. One of our group had dietary needs which weren't always catered for - lack of internal communication there. However for the rest of us the food was really excellent and made the stay very pleasant.. Gym, pool sauna etc were clean and well equipped. Snooker table needs a bit of TLC please. Overall a really excellent stay at a great hotel. We have already booked for next year!

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for the sea view rooms on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPC21, Owner at Inn on the Prom Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
many thanks for the great feed back much appreciated by everyone we look forward to seeing u again next year all the best cheers the inn on the prom team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on the Prom Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Prom Hotel

Address: 11-17, South Promenade | St Annes on Sea, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn on the Prom Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Inn on the Prom Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Prom @ Fernlea Hotel And Niven`s Health Club
Inn On The Prom Hotel Lytham St Anne's, UK - England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on the Prom Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.