We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a 1-night coastal getaway; great value for money!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monarch Hotel

Save Saved
You added Monarch Hotel to your Saves list
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Monarch Hotel
29 St Anne's Road East | St Anne's, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1TA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
coop16
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Perfect for a 1-night coastal getaway; great value for money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed at the Monarch for 1 night in January. The value for money was exceptional here; the rooms are very clean and modernly furnished, comfortable beds, excellent location, on-site parking, etc. The owners made special concessions for me to have an early, cold breakfast on the morning of my departure, as I needed to depart before normal breakfast hours. The only think I could say negative about the hotel (and it really wasn't that big of deal), was that I could hear EVERYTHING from the bathroom in the room next door to mine (which woke me up a few times as well as being a little awkward). Also, there were no toiletries provided, which is fine, but I would have brought soap/shampoo if I had know this. Overall, I would definitely stay here again. The village is beautiful, and the Monarch was the icing on the cake for my stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
7
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London Scot
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Most of the previous reviews use the words friendly, comfortable and excellent. This establishment does exactly what it says on the tin. Okay, the stairs are on the steep side and rooms are not overly spacious, but welcome, comfort, location etc far outstrip the concerns. As stated, Lesley and Steven are uber-friendly hosts who put in the hours to ensure excellence. I am not a breakfast person, but plenty of others clearly are with no limits on their praise. No hesitation in recommending this establishment.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

My mum and I stayed for a couple of days and we had a lovely time. Steve and Lesley are so friendly and they make you feel very welcome. The breakfast was delicious, they even remembered I had decaff coffee at breakfast and kindly left some in the room. The room had new furniture and carpet it was quite small but adequate for our needs. The bathroom had plenty of shelf space and an easy to work shower. The hotel is ideally situated for the shops, cafes and station. The beach is about about 8 to 10 minutes walk. Lesley makes lovely cards and jewellery which she sells very cheaply. The Monarch is great value for money and would recommend it.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

A fantastic place to stay-especially if you enjoy a game of golf. Steve and Lesley are the friendliest couple you could meet. Nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was excellent and the hotel and room were immaculate. It is in a great location with the town only a 2 minute walk away. It is easily accessed from St Annes On Sea train station. Also the two golf courses are within perfect walking distance. Very impressed and highly reccomended!!

Alex & Carleton

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I stayed here for a period of 6 months for work and have to say Steve and Lesley are the friendliest owners you will come across! Breakfast was great and a decent choice was always available.
For a working away perspective the seperate kitchen area with microwave and fridge was a real bonus.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Good value for money, clean, friendly owners, nice and quiet B&B. My daughters and I stayed here recently and found it lovely. Would recommend it. Good breakfast too!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

I booked the Monarch for a weekend break for myself and my partner. We received a friendly welcome, but were disappointed with the general standard of the hotel. We stayed in Room 5 which was a very small double room with just enough room to walk around the bed but no room for luggage, etc. The room and bathroom needed some redecoration - in several places wall paper was coming away from the wall and the doors to the rooms looked like thay had been recently replaced but not yet finished (they were unfinished plyboard). The wall between our room and the room next door was so thin it was possible to hear the TV / conversations taking place in the room next door relatively clearly. We paid £52 per night for this room so our expectations weren't high, but still felt disappointed given the general state of decoration.

Room Tip: Do not book room 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monarch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monarch Hotel

Address: 29 St Anne's Road East | St Anne's, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1TA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and friendly bed and breakfast accommodation only two minutes walk into St Anne's town centre and five minutes to promenade and golf courses. All rooms en-suite cozy guests' bar/lounge. Free Wi-Fi connection. Private off road car parking. On the bus route, train station two minutes walk away. Convenient for BEA at Warton and DWP at Moorland Road and Peel Park. Only three miles into Blackpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Monarch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monarch Hotel Lytham St Anne's, UK - England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monarch Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.