We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Hotel Lytham” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Grand Hotel to your Saves list
The Grand Hotel
South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1NB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Grand Hotel Lytham”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed a year ago with a front sea facing room above the entrance (exec de luxe) Were disturbed by the constant musak playing outside the main entrance and by a late wedding party and shouting. Also the evening meal had far too much salt and had to ask for another.

This year asked for a quiet room and allocated one at the side, (exec de luxe) still sea view, but nice and quiet. Saved money by pre booking on line , but no refund if you cancel. Spa is free and is great, swimming, jacuzzi, spa / sauna - very gentle and relaxing and we were only users at times. Food was very good in cafe bar, ambience only disturbed by rather loud musak from speakers above the table, playing all evening, had to speak loudly at times to make conversation. Very Annoying - why do people insist on playing musak?

Overall comparing with other hotels in the area, the best . Great service and attention. Would have given 5 stars apart from the eternal musak....

Room Tip: avoid front sea faciong rooms if you want a dead quiet room and have window open
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear ian H

Welcome to Tripadvisor and thank you for making The Grand your first review, for both your visits!


I’m pleased we located you in a quieter room this time, can I remind all potential guests that if you you require a quieter area of the hotel or have any other requests please add it to your notes on making your reservation, we will do always do our utmost to you fulfill your request.

Regarding the music, we pipe our music through a Sonos music system throughout the hotel. This system has approximately 14 speakers located in certain areas of the hotel, all of these speakers can be individually controlled so the level of music can be reduced, or increased if necessary.

Other than the “musak” I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    128
    41
    15
    3
See reviews for
138
335
12
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

As previously, The Grand was in full splendour. The staff were friendly, even when I was convinced I had lost my wallet, and then locked it in the safe not being able to get it out again. The hotel maintains.it's cleanliness and we were in a newer room at the back. It was still spacious and clean, though could have done with a window in the bathroom ad it got pretty warm (a room without air conditioning). Restaurant was accommodating, and the food was lovely albeit a little pricier than previously. Well, it has been three years lol! A classy stay in a classy hotel. See you soon.

PS as we were dancing most weekend we did not get to use the spa facilities, so cannot comment on that.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear mbs1973

Thank you for another visit to the hotel.
I’m pleased you found your wallet, there’s nothing worse than thinking you have lost it, is there!


You are correct in saying that the bathrooms in the new extension don’t have windows that open, the window design is just for natural light, ventilation is through the extract fan.


We do strive to produce locally sourced food, freshly cooked, and served at the most reasonable price. 

However like you mention, and as with most commodities nowadays, prices have risen over the last three years, here at The Grand we are careful not to develop dishes that become an unreasonable cost to our guests.

Once again, thank you for your visit and we all hope to see you again next year.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We have been frequenting this hotel for many years and have never submitted a review, and
thought it was time we did. Arriving late afternoon on a cold miserable February afternoon, we
were given a lovely welcome by Jenni, our room was warm and very clean, we booked a table in
the restaurant for Dinner at 8.00p.m. it was very busy and the excellent staff, went out of their
way to look after us, one of the waiters recognised us and made us feel special, because it was
so busy that evening, they ran out of quite a lot of food that we wanted, but we still found something, it was beautifully presented, service impeccable. Well done team Grand,Thank you
we shall see you soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Davidsons681

Thank you for your many visits to the hotel, your custom is very much appreciated!

I will ensure Jenny and the rest of the team read your review, all the kind comments we receive on tripadvisor give the staff give them a tremendous boost and are very welcome, thank you!

Hope to see you both again soon.

kind regards

Derrick Holland

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is our second stay at The Grand and it just gets better, we stayed in room 117 which is fantastic with great views. We also indulged in the Pink Bubbly and Strawberries with melted chocolate, cream and sugar, gorgeous. The staff are really nice and make you feel at home. We had Tapas on the first night which was lovely. Also made use of the pool and jacuzzi and practically had it to ourselves. Thanks for a great stay.
Can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: Can highly recommend room 117
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Cathryn28

Thank you for your recent visit and taking time to post a review, it is much appreciated.
As with the previous guest I’m pleased your benefited from the late checkout offer, it’s a great way to extend your well deserved break!

Hope to see you at the hotel again soon

Kind regards
Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My husband booked a night at the Grand for my birthday, which was a lovely surprise as it is such a nice hotel and somewhere we always enjoy going. As always everything was spot on, great room friendly helpful staff good food and wine, as an extra my husband ordered the bottle of pink bubbly and chocolate dipped strawberries, this was a lovely touch which came with the option of a late check out at 2 P. M. giving us extra time to use the hotels facilities and freshen up for the day, a nice thing which is the sort of thing which makes this hotel special. Hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear MrsG

I’m pleased you enjoyed your birthday with us here at the hotel and benefited for the late checkout offer, this is something that quite a few customers have been taking us up on as it allows you to enjoy our lovely spa facilities before departure.

Thank you for your review and hope to see again soon.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My girlfriend and I booked into the Grand at a minutes notice after being a little bit tardy with our arrangements to attend a friends wedding, from start to finish the staff couldn't have been any more helpful:

They directed me towards their website in order to get a cheaper rate,
They got us checked in a few hours early so we could get ready for the wedding,
They got a rather fantastic warm salad sent up to the room as we didn't manage to eat properly whilst travelling up from London...

No matter what, it seemed if we needed anything to make our rather frantic visit easier, they would bend over backwards to accomodate us!

As we have friends in the area, needless to say we'll be hopping on the train up from London and staying again!

The room was well appointed with a great TV, a nespresso machine (being a caffeine addict this made my day), a massive bathroom with Molton Brown toiletries, lovely big comfy bed with fluffy pillows and everything you would expect for its star rating.

Following our inclusive breakfast (great range of continental meats, eggs, pastries, toast and cereals) a walk along the beach (a couple of mins walk) was the order of the day.

Again, many thanks again, your staff do you no end of credit! Keep it up.

Room Tip: Don't forget to ask for complimentary fresh milk to make your in-room nespresso coffee even tast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear IGRLeeds

Thank you for taking time to write a review, the feedback is much appreciated!

I’m pleased you were well looked after, from initial telephone inquiry, bedroom facilities, room service to continental breakfast before your departure.
Please tell your family and friends, it the best endorsement we can get, thank you!

Don’t forget to get those train tickets booked, Preston station is only 20 minutes taxi ride away, or the local train from Preston to St Anne’s runs every hour, we hope to see you soon!

Kind regards
Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Had the pleasure of staying in the hotel for our wedding anniversary.From initial greeting to leaving all staff are very courteous and efficient.The evening meal was a delight and at a very reasonable price for a hotel of this standing.We were given a sea view room with lovely views of park located at front.My only complaint is that i didnt get the chance to sit outside on the patio area with a nice glass of wine bit this is down to the Great British weather.The swimming pool was excellent and what I believe the hotel excels in is that it is not stuffy and formal but genuinely trying to offer the customer with a first class stay which it does in bucket loads.Once again thanks for making a memorable anniversary special.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are a delight
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear ManchesterRobbo

Thank you for choosing to stay with us to celebrate your anniversary.

I’m pleased you enjoyed the hotels facilities, except the terrace, you’ll have to come when the sun is shining, it’s absolutely fabulous, glass of wine, sunshine, great music and watching the world go by, what better!
I hope I have tempted to see you again before your next anniversary!

Kind regards
Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Spa Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#2 Business Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four star deluxe spa hotel offering a unique ambiance with unrivaled boutique guest rooms and spa facilities. The Grand also incorporates Cafe Grand, our "all day" continental dining experience with a vibrant modern atmosphere and dishes created using local specialist suppliers. The Hotel has recently undergone a large refurbishment throughout all of the room stock (Nov 2011). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lytham St Annes
Grand Lytham St Annes
The Grand Hotel Lytham St Anne's, UK - England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.