We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great course” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Lytham & St. Annes Golf Club

Royal Lytham & St. Annes Golf Club
Links Gate, Lytham St Anne's FY8 3LQ, England
01253 724206
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The most famous course in the area has hosted the British Open 3 times in the last 30 years.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great course”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Course lived up to expectations except for the greens which looked and felt poor fora club of the prestige. Other than that staff friendly and helpful

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    10
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Awesome Golf Course, Great History, Take Your Hanky to Cry In”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Fantastic golf course, wonderful condition, very hard with too many bunkers! Club house is very traditional. Members seem friendly though suspect some may not quite be as welcoming to visitors as others though I have had no bad experiences. Food served was excellent.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Walk the walk of champions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I was invited by a friend who is a member and therefore I only payed a guest rate. If I had to pay their visitor rate I may have a different view as the course is not very scenic, it has a railway line along it's border and a public footpath through the course and the Old Links Golf Club next door is very similar course but cheaper. However, this is the course of the elite and always in superb condition, only play it when the weather permits or it will break your heart when that wind blows off the Irish sea, and stay out the bunkers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great venue, Ok experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Ive been in the UK for 18 months, and have had the fortunate opportunity to have some great golfing experiences: County Down, Turnberry, Carnoustie, Birkdale, Hoylake, and St George's to name a few.
We attended then 2012 Open, and really enjoys the venue and experience, so we were really looking forward to the experience of playing in March this year.

The Dormy house was great, accommodation right on the putting green, and the manager of the house a great guy, very friendly and welcoming.

There are some great holes at Lytham, some of the best in the rota. But it seems the timing would be key to choosing a trip here.

We played in mid march,and while still paying £165, many bunkers were still full of water, greens furry and still growing out from a coring.

We were also unable to play off tees with any length, so if you are a long to average hitter, the holes just don't set up as they should from the forward tees, and you really aren't getting anything close to the experience of the open course on many of the hole. Much of the genius bunkering which makes it such a great design is simply not in play.

We also came across a group of self righteous members who took themselves a little seriously, which somewhat tainted the experience. That said we also came across some very friendly and welcoming members, and the staff were also great.

In all this is a great place to stay, and while not being as visually spectacular as places like Turnberry and Birkdale, it is a great open venue, and holes like 18 are very special to play.
But check the course conditions before you overpay, and check the tees you can play if you arena low marker.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyserth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic reception, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We called at Royal Lytham in June 2012 just to take a look at the place as it was hosting The Open that year and we were staying and playing golf in the area.

As luck would have it Ricoh had a corporate day there and Retief Goosen was giving lessons to some of the invitees. I think divine intervention would have been required to get some of those guys to hit a ball with any authority. The attending R & A official was extremely helpful and a delight to talk to.

The highlight of the visit though was we had ventured into the pro shop for some souvenirs and I wanted a hybrid. As we were leaving the pro (ashamedly I have forgotten his name) asked if we wanted our photo taken with THE CLARET JUG. We were like kids and the pro duly got the trophy and gave us plenty of time to have our photos taken with the most famous of old silverware (photo on this review).

We were made to feel most welcome and it was indeed a privilege to meet such delightful people. Thank you Royal Lytham & St. Anne's and particularly those we met.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Lytham & St. Annes Golf Club also viewed

Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire
Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire
 
Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire
Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire
 

Been to Royal Lytham & St. Annes Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Lytham & St. Annes Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.