We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zest appeal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of zest Gastronomia

zest Gastronomia
21 market street, Lytham St Anne's, England
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Blackpool
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Zest appeal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Took my wife out for a birthday lunch and dropped into this well known Lytham eatery after a recommendation from a colleague. We were not disappointed - The service was quick and polite and the food was really good - We shared home made houmous with crosini and and a plate of tortilla chips to start and they were delicious - Mains arrived and they too were generous portions - Brie and crispy bacon on toasted ciabatta and a goats cheese salad - yum! All in all a very nice lunch in pleasant surroundings with a good 'buzzing' ambiance.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portofino L, Manager at zest Gastronomia, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear customer,

Thank you for your fantastic comments.
We are very pleased to hear you had a lovely time with us.
We hope to see you again in the future.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    32
    17
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Gone downhill !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We used to go to zest quite regularly, the food is still good,but we have found better quality elsewhere. Recently I have found the clientele is a mix of posers and general sad people who appear to be acting badly we saw a couple have a nasty fight,and a chap offering an alternative to wine (leave that one to your imagination)
Its best to go in the daytime for coffee and cake. However, One of the waiters is habitually rude,stressed,and really scruffy. The back rooms and toilets have become grubby. This place needs to smarten its act up. It's in a fab location, it has the right ambiance, the food can be good. But things have seriously slipped.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portofino L, Owner at zest Gastronomia, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us,
Im sincerly sorry to hear about your recent visit. We value all comments and do take them on board.
I hope you will give us another chance in the near future.
Best wishes
Zest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarleton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Nice food - but a bit too cosy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Drawn in by the number of customers and pleasant ambience we enjoyed a nice lunch. I had the slow cooked BBQ ribs, served with salad & fries, and they were good with the meat falling off the bone and a nice tasty sauce. It might have been nice to have been provided with a side bowl for the bones.

My only criticism is that the tables inside are too close together for my liking which means you can be bumped into by customers arriving, leaving or visiting the bathroom.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Noisy bu nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We arrived a little after 11.30am, too early for lunch but too late for the breakfast cut off time at 11.30. No matter, we settled for drinks. A very nice place to visit but very noisy seemingly due to the acoustics of the room where every sound was amplified and echoed.
We found the staff very attentive and pleasant.
The menu cards are a bit are a bit tatty and could do with some new ones. Overall, well worth a visit when in Lytham

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just rude...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Zest looks lovely and inviting and on a sunny day we were really pleased to find a small table outside. Brusque and lacking any care is, however, how I would describe the service by the waiter who later took the art of eye avoiding to a new level. Our side did not arrive, we asked about it and were told it would be chased, nobody came back to report and eventually we asked again, this time to cancel it. The side was not included on the bill but only when we asked did it occur to the lady at the till to offer a lukwarm apology. We gave up on the idea of coffee and would not return. Great waste of potential.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed zest Gastronomia also viewed

Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire
Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire
 
Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire
Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire
 

Been to zest Gastronomia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage zest Gastronomia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.