We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend at the Lindum with friends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lindum Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Lindum Hotel to your Saves list
The Lindum Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   63 - 67 South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1LZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Abergele, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Weekend at the Lindum with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Just arrived home from an excellent weekend at the Lindum. Room was clean, warm and comfortable, Staff could not have been more helpful and courteous and the food was fantastic. Plenty of choice of excellent fresh produce. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindumreply, Public Relations Manager at The Lindum Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Hello There

Many thanks for your review. Happy to hear you loved our food. It is certainly something that everyone raves about.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind Regards

Ben Glover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    78
    27
    13
    13
See reviews for
43
80
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swinton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

My friend's badminton team have a weekend here every Jan & I missed the last two so was determined to make it this time! The car we were travelling broke down but we made sure we reached the hotel! The staff were as friendly as ever & even helped suggest a local garage where the car could be towed to! The food is always excellent here & Saturday night dinner was
delicious, the beef was so tasty, the wines on offer very reasonable & we all had a fun night with our "Elvis" from Wigan who later sang songs from the 60's & 70's & had the floor packed. Cannot fault the staff waiting on & the applause "Elvis" asked for them was well deserved. Our Sunday lunch was as popular as ever & always enjoy my breakfast here. I know the hotel does have some older clients but I am hoping to bring my family later on & we will have a 5year old with us, The Lindum suits all ages I think. Snacks & drinks available in the lounge & at a fair price. Pity the weather wasn't as warm as the welcome.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindumreply, Public Relations Manager at The Lindum Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Hello There

Many thanks for your review, and after your long and stressful journey we are glad to hear a few Lindum comforts helped you forget all about it. Thank you for all your kind comments. Please do bring your family along soon it would be great to welcome all of you as a group

Kind Regards

Ben Glover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This was the sixth Christmas Dance Weekend we have been on - we enjoy them so much that it is our Christmas Present to each other. The only downside this time was that our usual Hosts/Dance Teachers Nick and Carol Atack, were unable to run the weekend because Nick has been very unwell at the moment - we wish him a speedy recovery!! At very short notice the Lindum had to find alternative dance professionals as the weekend was very well supported and we have to say a big "thank you" to Lyn and Brian who stepped in to save the weekend and certainly made it very good fun. As usual the Lindum looked after everyone in a friendly and professional style. Our daughter and son-in-law came with us for the first time and our son-in-law is wheat-intolerant. As soon as Tina the Restaurant Manager was aware of this she made sure that he was offered gluten-free bread and the Chef specially prepared gluten-free gravy - wonderful when you realise that apart from the Dance Weekend the Lindum was also running a Turkey and Tinsel weekend. There were six of us on our table and four of us like to have fish for breakfast - we can strongly recommend the grilled kippers - and do order a bowl of mushrooms with them - a healthy and thoroughly enjoyable breakfast. I have to say the other two members of our party went for the "full English" - which they also thoroughly recommended!! After six years naturally my husband and I have a favourite bedroom and we do not even have to tell the hotel which one we want. It is right at the top of the hotel and has spectacular views over the seafront - and a side window also has a lovely view of the town. A very nice gesture upon our arrival at the hotel was two mini bottles of chilled Champagne awaiting us in our bedroom - much appreciated!! We really do feel at home at the Lindum. It is comfortable, friendly and the staff cannot do enough for you. It is family run and you can certainly tell the difference from one of the big hotel groups - so much more personal.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindumreply, Public Relations Manager at The Lindum Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Hi Guys

Thank you once again for your custom and support of our dance weekends. Brian and Lyn have had great feedback and we were relieved that they could step in at the last minute to run the event. We are happy to hear you enjoyed all the added little extra's and that you were looked after so well in the restaurant.

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Regards

Ben Glover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

my wife and I have just had another great weekend at the lindum , we both had a great time .even though my wife had not been well before we set of for our stay on arrival at the hotel the staff were very helpfull,we cannot fault this hotel and have stayed here many times and will be staying again for the Christmas package.

as for the dance weekend this was first class .brian&lynn marshall did a super job running the dance on Friday and Saturday nights. Even though my wife was to ill to dance Lynn offered to dance with me for most of the evening. we do hope we shall meet again and continue in the future with the dance weekends. if people think this is an old folks hotel come to the dance weekend and see how the old folks do, you may be surprised

Room Tip: ask to look before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindumreply, Public Relations Manager at The Lindum Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Hello There

Many thanks for your kind review. Firstly, it is fantastic that you have commented so positively about our clientele. In a world of equal opportunities, it is shameful that so many people feel the need to make comments about the elderly.

We shall certainly be organising future dance weekend events. Please give the hotel a call if you are not already on our mailing list.

Kind Regards

Ben Glover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The food is very good, the accommodation is very dated and old fashioned. They have one lift for 3 floors that's says you can fit in 3 people but it's a squeeze to fit in 2 people and your practically on top of each other and that's without the suitcase's in either.
The beds are doubles beds and it has more holes in the mattresses than cheese does and you roll into the middle, rooms are clean but a bit pricy in the bar, but the location is beautiful for a lovely walk in the mornings.
But if your hopefully wanting a good nights sleep don't come here... Reception staff lovely along with the food waitresses and the heating is on on full blast all the time so very hot but that's great if your elderly, which most of the residents are.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindumreply, Public Relations Manager at The Lindum Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Hello There

Sorry to hear your stay with us was not to your satisfaction. Whilst we are a good quality two star establishment we do have a large elderly clientele base. It is a shame that you did not mention to us at the time you were not happy with your mattress. We do have new spare's in storage and would have changed it immediately. Our bar prices are inline with the other hotels along the promenade. £3.30 for a pint of Lager, £2.95 for house wine, and if you take advantage of our clearly advertised House spirit offers you can get a Double (50ml) measure and mixer for £3.40.

Many thanks

Ben Glover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsager, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed at the Lindum Hotel 4th to 8th November 2013. Christine our 'favourite' receptionist gave us room 502. Oh Boy; what a spendid room! Big and with a lovely bay window overlooking the sea, a great room indeed; not a typical broom cupboard for us! Well done Christine. Now for the hotel generally. Clean and tidy and obviously refurbished. Food; well superb actually. Three courses and plenty of it with a selection of starters, mains and sweets. Bar prices; great. So many hotels now try ripping off customers it is refreshing to find a hotel that doesn't. Pint of good beer - £3.40. Now you cannot grumble at that? Staff; do not knock 'foreign hotel staff'. Give them a chance. All staff good and courteous and professional. Well done the Manager; pay them more and keep your staff, good staff are hard to find and yours are great. Only complaint; a coach party (unlike ours) joined us on the Wednesday and bought a number of 'small' drinks and had the cheek to place them on the tables in the lounge thus reserving the seats for the evenings entertainments. Some pensioners (unlike our party) are devoid of manners. God I hate some pensioners; and my wife and I are pensioners!! Some of us older 'statesmen' should be culled! All in all a great hotel and with great service and staff; many thanks. Well done the Manager!

Room Tip: Sea view a must; spend a little more, go on treat yourself. None of us live forever and I tell you m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindumreply, Public Relations Manager at The Lindum Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Hello There

Many thanks for your kind review and it is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comments on our staff and prices, we do like to provide value for money. With regards to people leaving their drinks on tables, yes we do agree this should not be allowed and the bar staff have now been given the authority to remove drinks that are left on tables and place them behind the bar, the lounge is a first come first served area and fingers crossed this will not happen again when you return

Kind Regards

Ben Glover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stopped here for one night earlier this month on room only basis. although the room was clean the hotel is in need of a major make over operation. This hotel is primarily for OAP and even though we are in our 60:s we do like a more upmarket hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindumreply, Public Relations Manager at The Lindum Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Hello There

Many thanks for your review. Whilst we admit we are not perfect I would have do dis agree that the term Major Makeover Operation is valid. We market ourselves as a good quality two star hotel. We have an on going refurbishment programme and we try our best to ensure all areas of the hotel are kept up to a good standard that meets the current guidelines. It may be worth considering a higher rated hotel or a "More Upmarket" one next time you decide to book a holiday

Many thanks

Ben Glover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lindum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lindum Hotel

Address: 63 - 67 South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lindum Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has been in the hands of the Rowley family for over 40 years, providing a perfect combination of quality, warmth and courteous service that has long been our hallmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Lindum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lindum Hotel Lytham St Anne's, UK - England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lindum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.