We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend trip 11th October” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dalmeny Hotel

Save Saved
You added Dalmeny Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dalmeny Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 - 33 South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1LX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 18 hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“weekend trip 11th October”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful weekend at the Dalmeny. This is a great family hotel to stay at and the kids absolutely loved it. From swimming, to playing nerf guns, to the kids films to the games room to the running up and down the long corridors everything was great fun for them. The staff are excellent and very helpful and food was wonderfull. Very difficult to find anything not to like.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZoeR1, General Manager at Dalmeny Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
I was delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us. We do aim to provide a varied range of entertainment and activities for all ages, so your feedback is very important and helps us in planning future events and activities
I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the non too distant future

Kind regards
Samantha Lewis
General Manager/Director
slewis@dalmenyhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    126
    68
    23
    16
See reviews for
209
66
18
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Returned to the Dalmeny ,as three generations, for a short break , and am pleased to say the hotel still manages to please all age groups. We have stayed here many times over the last forty years and it is good to see that family values still count in this day and age. High standards for a family hotel.Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZoeR1, General Manager at Dalmeny Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your very kind comments. For the last 67 years my family has aimed to provide an enjoyable experience for all the family, and it is gratifying to learn that, overall we continue to succeed in this very competitive market.
I hope that you will continue to stay with us, and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back personally on a future visit

Kind regards
Samantha Lewis
General Manager/Director
slewis@dalmenyhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

came to the dalmeny for my birthday celebrations with parents, husband and daughter. cannot fault the room (155) lovely premier family room with sea view and balcony. lovely bathroom and toilet. room consisted of two double beds and a single bed. very comfortable. yes it was very warm but room was individually controlled and we were able to turn the heating down. had kettle with nescafe sachets and tea bags and milk in the fridge. the hotel catered for all our needs. enjoyed the swimming pool although being a frequent swimmer in my local pool i found changing room grubby (around the floor corners), not a problem though, didnt spoil our holiday. felt the bar staff in indigo took a while to serve you. we ordered a round of drinks before our taxi was due to arrive in 30 mins, however,ended up having only 5 mins to drink them and im afraid an expensive round of drinks had to be left on the table. taxis in and out of blackpool cost 12-14 pound per journey but i would avoid blackpool at the weekends, especially if you have children as it is full of drunks, stag and hen parties even at 10 oclock. we took a taxi as parking spaces were limited in both dalmeny and blackpool so decided to leave car in a safe place. did enjoy the legends show at the sands.
the food at the hotel was good but not great. breakfast was fab.i found the atrium to have a very limited menu, especially for the older generation. the carvery was fine but felt it a bit claustrophobic. we arrived for the childrens activity weekend but unfortunately did not try out any of the activites. did not think my daughter would have joined in the activites. also time was very limited, it didnt get 5 stars as paint was flaking off walls and ceiling, carpet had a straightener burn in it and two buckets were placed on the reception floor to catch water from a leaking ceiling.....however, that happens,
.
all in all though a fab hotel, as long as it keeps its maintenance up to date. in a lovely position in st annes, lovely sea views and close enough to blackpool if needed (as we did for pleasure beach), mostly helpful and cheery staff. would come back here anytime, as would my parents.

Room Tip: room 155 huge with two double beds and a single bed. seating area, balcony overlooking sea/promenade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZoeR1, General Manager at Dalmeny Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your constructive comments. I was pleased to hear that, overall, you and your family enjoyed your stay with us, although I do take note of the issues raised regarding the standard of cleanliness in the Leisure Centre and also the slow service in Bar Indigo. I have taken these matters up with the Heads of Department concerned to ensure that these problems are rectified immediately
You will no doubt be interested to hear that we are now embarking on a refubishment programme to encompass all rooms and public areas, although progress is a little slow due to the current high occupancy levels. I trust that you will find considerable improvement on you next visit
Thank you again for bringing these matters to my attention. I look forward to welcoming you back again on a future occasion

Kind regards
Zoe Robertson
General Manager/Director
zrobertson@dalmenyhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

There are some hotels you walk in & think wow straightaway. The Dalmeny is one of them. A very modern, welcoming feel. The receptionist couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. My room was fabulous & very big. It could have accommodated a football team quite easily! It was spotlessly clean throughout as was the en-suite bathroom. Very nice to stand on the balcony & breathe in the fresh sea air. I was very impressed with the gym & swimming pool & I even noticed a games room. The breakfast was lovely & very fresh. I was here with work but would definitely go back for a leisurely break.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZoeR1, General Manager at Dalmeny Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your very complimentary comments. It is always gratifying to hear that, although we are a resort hotel, our many business guests also continue to enjoy the ambiance, and facilities provided at the DalmenyHotel. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon, whether on business or for a leisure break with your family

Kind regards
Zoe Robertson
General Manager/Director
zrobertson@dalmenyhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Room(153) - premier room
Pros - large spacious room, great view, nice balcony
Cons - reeked of smoke (not told that this was a smoking room and didn't think you needed to specify a non smoking room in this day and age with smoking bans in public places), no basin in toilet so had to walk to bathroom (separate room) to wash your hands (very unhygienic), room was roasting hot all the time, decor dated and seriously needs updating eg. stained carpet, marks on furniture, mould in shower, etc., new bathroom suite is required

Meals
Pros - Breakfasts and meal in Atrium were of high standard, plenty of choice.
Cons - Service was terrible for most meals, older gentleman showing people to tables at breakfast was very abrupt, rude and looked under pressure (he snapped at us when we asked for a different table saying that we had to go to a certain table as they had to do over 300 covers!), plates cleared from table too quickly (I was half way through breakfast, left table for minutes and table was cleared. The same happened to other guests in the party during breakfast and dinner. The party felt like they were getting rushed to finish their meal as the hotel was busy.), food at granary was average but expected more for the price

Other
Pros - Good swimming pool, plenty of sitting areas to relax, good bar
Cons - Not suitable for younger children eg. no plastic cups, plates and cutlery, only activity for younger children was crafts that was an additional cost etc., the big sell for it being a family hotel seemed to be the crèche, no lifeguard in attendance in the swimming pool, temperature everywhere in hotel was uncomfortably hot (member of party complained about this but nothing was done)

Room Tip: Ask for a newly refurbished room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZoeR1, General Manager at Dalmeny Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your constructive comments.
I was concerned to learn that that you were disappointed with certain aspects of your recent stay with us.
We do not allow smoking in any part of the hotel, and levy a considerable charge to guests who persist in smoking in bedrooms. If you had contacted the Duty Manager immediately, we could have re-allocated your room without question. I note that your room was also very warm, although there is a thermostat on all bedroom radiators to enable guests to control the heating. I am sorry that this was not brought to your attention at the time of check in
You will no doubt be pleased to hear that all rooms within the hotel are now earmarked for refurbishment, although we do ask guests to bear with us, as this process will take a little time, due to the very high occupancy levels
I have passed your comments regarding the dining facilities for children to our Food and Beverage Manager, who will no doubt rescource the various items you requested
Your comments regarding the attitude of our Breakfast Supervisor do concern me greatly, and I have taken this matter up with the member of staff concerned as a matter of priority
I note your comments regarding the lack of a lifeguard in the pool area. However, we do organise supervision throughout the children's floats sessions, and certainly children under the age of sixteen are not allowed in the pool unless accompanied by an adult
Despite your disappointment on this occasion, I do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future, and look forward to welcoming you personally

Kind regards
Zoe Robertson
General Manager/Director
zrobertson@dalmenyhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The title says it all. Some food undercooked, some overcooked and stale, when returned as being unpalatable, pasta or veg risotto was offered (woopee) - no thanks. Poor choice of dinner menu and very small portions too. Breakfast was however excellent and no fault could be found, staff in the carvery/breakfast room were good too. Note to hotel, have children sleep in bedrooms on the ground floor, no guests want to listen to them running up and down the bedroom above them, shouting and screaming, hence we left a day early.

Room Tip: Check out the room before you stay and see what's on offer for dinner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZoeR1, General Manager at Dalmeny Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
I was extremely disappointed to read your review. The Dalmeny Hotel has always enjoyed an excellent reputation for the quality of food served, so your comments regarding the dinner menu concerned me greatly. I have now taken this matter up in the strongest possible terms with our Executive Chef. Please accept my apologies for your disappointment
I note that you were disturbed by unruly children running and screaming in the hotel bedroom corridors. If you had contacted the Duty Manager immediately via Reception, he would certainly have spoken to the families concerned and requested that this disturbance ceased immediately. However, please accept my apologies for this situation
Despite your disappointment, I do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future and trust that your next visit will prove entirely enjoyable

Kind regards
Zoe Robertson
General Manager/Director
zrobertson@dalmenyhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincs
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Arrived Friday 27th Sep we booked through Superbreaks as my husband being in the military received a 10% discount, I am still waiting to this day for the Dalmeny to ring me back about price matching and I booked in July! Room was large and had a fridge and tea making facilities, however the shower both myself and my husband couldn't stand under the attachment fixed to the wall was so low, we had to duck to wash!!
Picked up an information sheet for entertainment Friday 1530-1630 Floats in the pool, great, kids got ready and in the pool for 1530, by 1600 no floats despite me asking at the spa reception, finally they appeared and the member of staff sat in her chair on her phone the whole time, now considering this is supposed to be a supervised session (as told by spa reception) she did very little supervising! Adults walked around the pool with outdoor shoes on taking photographs both of which there are signs asking you not to do.
Saturday breakfast was superb, allocated table quickly, food piping hot and plentiful, staff pleasant and attentive, coffee was rank and cold!
Children went in the pool again at 1530 to be met with an abundance of floats, a superb male member of staff who got out whatever the children wanted. Children's pool was out of action as was the Jacuzzi.
We happened to be in the lounge when the children's film was due to start at 1715 on the Saturday, the staff member set it all up and wandered off leaving the title screen on for over 20 minutes despite parents speaking at reception about it no one came to sort it. Surely she could of made sure the film was actually going to run?
Sunday morning breakfast again superb, tea and coffee was fresh and hot, staff a little slow at clearing tables but to be fair we did hit breakfast at the busiest time. My Father couldn't use the pool on Sunday afternoon when he wanted to due to a private party.

We have stayed at the Dalmeny many times over the years and this year has seen us say we wont be rushing back! The place is tired in parts, paper peeling off the walls, carpets looking dirty and tired, between the Atrium and the reception there was actually drops of water coming through the ceiling. The entertainment was the worst I have ever seen. Yes I did have children but we also had extended family who didn't want to watch grown ups being wrapped in toilet paper and drinking pints through a straw! Surely you could achieve a happy medium for all?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZoeR1, General Manager at Dalmeny Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive account of your recent stay at The Dalmeny Hotel. I am sorry to hear that you were expecting a call from the hotel to discuss your booking.I certainly was not informed of this situation , and cannot ascertain which member of staff undertook to do this. Perhaps you would care to speak to our Guest Services Manager, Rachel Rothney on 01253 712236. Rachel would be delighted to go through your concerns with you and endeavour to reply to any queries you may have regarding your original booking
I note your comments regarding the height of the shower in your room, and have passed this on to our Executive Housekeeper for action
Your comments regarding the behaviour of our Pool Supervisor concern me greatly. Staff are not allowed to use mobile phones when on duty. This is a sackable offence and I would appreciate your help in identifying this person to enable me to deal with this. She should also have refused entry to adults wearing shoes in this area.
Please accept my apologies for the late start to the Children's Film, I will ensure that the Entertainment Team are reminded to keep to the advertised timetable.
I am sorry tht your father could not enjoy a swim on Sunday afternoon, due to a pre-booked party, although these events normally only last for approximately forty five minutes.
You will no doubt be pleased to hear that all rooms have now been earmarked for refurbishment, although this will take a little time due to the current high occupancy levels. Please bear with me as I am sure you will be delighted with the result
Despite your disappointment, I do hope that you will consider staying with us again and that I may have the pleasure of welcoming you back personally

Kind regards
Zoe Robertson
General Manager/Director
zrobertson@dalmenyhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dalmeny Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalmeny Hotel

Address: 19 - 33 South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dalmeny Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location on the main promenade overlooking the beach, promenade gardens and pier, and within a short walk of the town centre with its array of shops, bars and restaurants.The hotel offers a wide choice of rooms, including family units accommodating up to two adults and 4 children.The excellent facilities include a 20m indoor pool, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi, children's pool, fully equipped Techn Gym, Squash Court.Spa Dalmeny is open seven days per week offering a comprehensive range of beauty and holistic treatments.Dining options include the Atrium Brasserie, Traditional Carvery, Patio Cafe Bar and Terrace and casual dining in the trendy Bar Indigo.Business travellers will appreciate the free Wi-Fi facility throughout the hotel,access to business services, free on site parking,extensive conference facilities, and our Snooker Room, which is available for private hire ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Dalmeny Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalmeny Hotel Lytham St Annes
Dalmeny Hotel St Annes
Dalmeny Lytham St Annes
Dalmeny Hotel Lytham St Anne's, UK - England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dalmeny Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.