We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xmas weekend break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dalmeny Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dalmeny Hotel to your Saves list
Dalmeny Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 - 33 South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1LX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Burnley, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Xmas weekend break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights with our children 8 and 11 and travelled with others in a large group.
The Santa themed weekend was excellent from the staff to the food. we had a great time. On arrival our room was a lovely refurbished family room. A card addressed to the kids with 2 snowmen biscuits was waiting in our room( nice touch). The food was in the carvery both breakfast and evening and was excellent. On site pool and spa lovely as was rest of hotel. Nice bar and ballroom for entertainments events. We liked it so much we booked again for early next year. Definitely recommended. Great for families and great location on the promenade, which was nice and quiet. Easy access to st Anne's if you fancy a change or want to do bit of shopping.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room as they are lovely. Sea view if available is nicer. Our rooms was 1 floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZoeR1, General Manager at Dalmeny Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your excellent comments. Our Santa Weekends gain in popularity year after year. I hope that you and your family will visit us again in December 2013. I note that you will be staying with us again early this year, and look forward to welcoming you back

Kind regards
Zoe Robertson
General Manager
zrobertson@dalmenyhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    146
    78
    26
    21
See reviews for
246
77
19
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel 30th November 2012.This is the 5th year we have stayed.We took our 4 grandchildren and stayed in room 212 next door to our friends and their 2 grandchildren.We all had a fantastic time,the room was huge,and refurbished to a very high standard.It was spotlessly clean,we had two seperate bedrooms with a large bathroom in between.The childrens bedroom was huge,and consisted of a set of bunk beds and two single beds.The childrens entertainment was first class,Kieren was was brillient as usual.The food was lovely and the staff were all very friendly.All the children want to come back next year for another Santa weekend.Thank you all for working so hard to make it so special for all the children.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have a fantastic sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZoeR1, General Manager at Dalmeny Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your very positive comments, which I have passed to all heads of the departments concerned. These particular weekends are extremely popular and it is very important that we get things right. Our Santa Weekends for 2013 are 29th/30th November, 6th/7th December and 13th/14th December, and I hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back again for some more Festive Cheer

Kind regards

Zoe Robertson
General Manager
zrobertson@dalmenyhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights 23/24/november 2012. Staying with me and my wife where our 4 children and 6 Grandkids. Great place for children plenty to do for them all day if needed.The swimming pool was very good at 4oclock the pool attendents put a load of floats in the water for the kids large and small to play with, the water was warm and the pool was never over full. Our room was excellent very large and clean. minor problem on Saturday night there was a party in the atrium just below our room, if we had had young children it would have been to noisey for an early night, but as the party finished at 11.30 it did'nt bother us. The Food was very good with a good choice both for dinner and breakfast. The bar area was very modern and clean but at times the wait was a bit to long as there was only one bar staff working. We visited the rooms of our other family members which all family rooms they had no real complaints but looked like they could do with a bit of modernisation. My son and his family have stayed in this hotel on other occasions and we booked on thier recommendation. It is a hotel that is geared up for families with children and the entertainmnet was geared up for the kids but was very good and we all enjoyed the evening disco. We would certainly stay here again for a short break. Lytham is a nice town and very handy for Blackpool and St Annes

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZoeR1, General Manager at Dalmeny Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your very positive comments. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your 'family weekend' with us. I was concerned to read your comments regarding the length of time you waited to be served in the bar. You will be pleased to know that I have addressed this problem with our Bars Manager, and you should definitely see an improvement in this service on your next visit.
Our modernisation programme continues, and we do hope to have a large number of rooms updated during the coming year. It is difficult to plan, taking into consideration the high occupancy levels we currently enjoy, but I am totally committed to this project

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the non too distant future

Kind regards
Zoe robertson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horwich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I have just had a fantastic weekend at the dalmeny with my wife and two grandchildren aged 6 and 10 our room was 213 on the second floor absolutely stunning the bathroom was fabulous evrything matched it was spotless flatscreen telivision in both bedrooms all the staff were very nice and friendly the food was excellent as usual grandchildren love going to the hotel they go swimming in the fantastic pool play on the xbox generally have agreat time and they are safe in the hotel evrything they need is there this was our fifth time for the santa weekend and we will back next year

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZoeR1, General Manager at Dalmeny Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
It is always heartening to read such positive comments, and to learn that, overall, we continue to provide an enjoyable experience for families.

I look forward to welcoming you back for a Santa Weekend in 2013

Kind regards
Zoe Robertson
General Manager
zrobertson@dalmenyhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I was overall disappointed with the Dalmeny Hotel. The public areas have clearly been refurbished but are very sterile. The rooms have not received any attention for years & years. Our room number was 34 which was a trek from the main reception. The receptionist was poor & didn't offer breakfast or explain about the amenities (pool opening hours etc) on offer. When we got to our bedroom the only thing I was pleased with was the clean bedding, bathroom & towels. There was a disgusting blue carpet throughout the room that was threadbare & at least 20 years old that went all the way through to the bathroom. I had to lay towels on the floor when I got out of the shower as I wasn't prepared to put my clean feet on the carpet. There was also a two ringed hob & an ancient microwave in the room which were disgusting. There was a kettle & tea & coffee making facilities. The crockery & cutlery was two of everything & was laid out in a very strange regimented style. The drawers in the dressing table were broken & the wardbrobe was old like everything else. The maids do a good job given what they are working with but I wouldn't ever stay here again. I never tried any food but did have a few drinks at the bar which seemed reasonably priced for a hotel bar. We intended to but didn't use any of the leisure facilities so I can't comment on them.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview & don't ask for room 34 as there is no view, you can see the sea but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZoeR1, General Manager at Dalmeny Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
I was extremely disappointed to read your review. You do not state whether or not you were offered a room choice at the time of making your booking. Room 34 is classed as an economy room, but additionally we do have various other options ie standard rooms (some with sea view and balcony) and also premier rooms (again with sea view and balcony). However, I do expect all rooms in the hotel to be well maintained and clean. I will take up your comments with our Executive Housekeeper and instruct her to carry out an assessment of this particular room. Thank you for bringing this matter to my attention

Despite your disappointment, I do hope that you would consider staying with us again in the future, when I would recommend that you consider upgrading your room choice to either a standard or premier unit. Our reservations team would be delighted to assist you with your choice

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Dalmeny

Kind regards
Zoe Robertson
General Manager
zrobertson@dalmenyhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

took the premier rooms expecting something a bit more special as i have stayed in the family rooms at the back of the hotel before and they are really dated. the television in the 2nd bedroom didnt even work,you have to go through the main bedroom to go to the toilet,not good in the middle of the night. the wallpaper is peeling of near the radiator, leaking taps in the bathroom,in the bar at night i had two drinks that both had lipstick round the glass,the only beer on draugh was stella or becks,went to bed at about ten both nights as the entertainment had died a death by then,was expecting a kids disco but there wasnt any both nights when i left. the food in the restaurante was very good,but on the second morning,we went for breakfast at 10 10 and they say breakfast is served untill 10.30'and there was no bacon,when i asked for some she said they could make me some it would be 7 minutes,i had already got my breakfast on the plate so she said she would bring it when it was cooked,just as i nearly finished my breakfast a girl walked round and never said anything then set of back,luckily my daughter saw her and i had to go and chase her,by then i didnt even want the darn bacon, at tea i think they go upstairs to the bar for drinks as both nights a couple of drinks were ordered and we had to ask where they were,it became a joke that wede better order a few at a time as it took that long, probably i should of complained whilst we were there but the manager is not the most diplomatic guy i have met,and is quite off hand,we paid about 400.00 for two nights for 1adult and 3 kids,so not a cheap break, also why would you put family rooms right next to the atrium which had line dancing music on till midnight.

Room Tip: room 53 bright and spacious but noisy from music in the atrium,well it was on line dancing weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZoeR1, Manager at Dalmeny Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
I was extremely disapointed to read the review of your recent stay at The Dalmeny Hotel.I note that your stay corresponded with a residential Line Dancing Weekend, when The Atrium was used to accommodate the dancers. I am sorry if you felt that this aspect of your stay marred your enjoyment.

I note that the television in the second bedroom of your suite was out of order. However,If you had reported this fault to Reception, I'm sure they would have sent someone to try to fix the problem. If not, the normal procedure is to replace the set with an alternative. I'm sorry if this was not the case

There is certainly no excuse for dirty glasses, and I apologise profusely for this incident.

You stayed with us over the weekend specially themed as a Kid's Activity Weekend, with a theme of 'Grease', and I note that, on the entertainment programme, we specify children's entertainment as 7pm-late, so I am at a loss as to why this did not occur. I will take this matter up in the strongest possible terms with our Entertainments Manager

We do serve breakfast until 10.30am over the weekend period, although after 10am it is normal practice to cook some breakfast items freshly (eg bacon) to order, to avoid waste. However, I am sorry that you were forced to wait for this service

In conclusion, I can only express my concern that you were left disappointed with your experience. However, I continue to hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future, and look forward to welcoming you personally on your next visit

Kind regards

Zoe Robertson
Manager/Director
zrobertson@dalmenyhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

it wasnt what i expected at all, the accomodation for a premier was standard and very basic. and the fact that you have to walk through the main bedroom to go to the toilet? an en suite for both rooms would have been ideal and got rid of the wet room completely. the tiles in wet room were disgusting needs thorough cleaning. overall rooms were nice and tidy, buffet was ok 'ish' on first night,second, downhill,but the breakfast was good both mornings.there was variety and plenty to choose from,and especially the choice of crispy bacon. night entertainment for children was brill,on saturday was grease night and there was a children dancing group,fab. during the night, nightmare, there was line dancing that started as soon as you go for breakfast throughout the day till 1.30 am, appalling, especially if you have little one's and trying to get them to go to sleep and this was like right close to were our accomodation was? i wonder if these people were guests staying there or just booked the facility? overall i would not go back there because it wasnt cheap either!!!! i dont mind paying for something thats worth what it says on the tin,this did not i am afraid to say

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dalmeny Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalmeny Hotel

Address: 19 - 33 South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dalmeny Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location on the main promenade overlooking the beach, promenade gardens and pier, and within a short walk of the town centre with its array of shops, bars and restaurants.The hotel offers a wide choice of rooms, including family units accommodating up to two adults and 4 children.The excellent facilities include a 20m indoor pool, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi, children's pool, fully equipped Techn Gym, Squash Court.Spa Dalmeny is open seven days per week offering a comprehensive range of beauty and holistic treatments.Dining options include the Atrium Brasserie, Traditional Carvery, Patio Cafe Bar and Terrace and casual dining in the trendy Bar Indigo.Business travellers will appreciate the free Wi-Fi facility throughout the hotel,access to business services, free on site parking,extensive conference facilities, and our Snooker Room, which is available for private hire ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dalmeny Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalmeny Hotel Lytham St Annes
Dalmeny Hotel St Annes
Dalmeny Lytham St Annes
Dalmeny Hotel Lytham St Anne's, UK - England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dalmeny Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.