We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The County Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The County Hotel to your Saves list
The County Hotel
1 Church Road, Lytham St Anne's FY8 5LH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Wiltshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Went for three nights on a deal. Recently refurbished budget hotel, Very friendly staff. Good pub underneath with very good vale food(Two pizzas for a tenner on Tuesdays).Very pleasant town with many good restaurants. Ideal spot for a short break.

Room Tip: Room 15 if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    17
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
20
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were told to try the County following its make over and we were glad we did.
Service excellent, Food first class and good wine. We can't comment on the accommodation as we only had lunch but for 2 starters, 2 Pizza's and a bottle of rich red wine all for under £35.
I call that very good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed here as we were going to a party. The 1st thing I noticed was that there seemed to be a really nice atmosphere as we entered the bar area. The assistant manager was brilliant, so helpful. Our room (21) was lovely and we had a great nights sleep. Rooms ultra clean and comfortable. The bar was very busy with a mixed clientele - all very nice. Pizzas here were rather nice too. There are lots of cafes, restaurants and pubs around. Lots of lovely walks - only 2 minutes (if that) to the sea front. Plenty to see and do. I would definately recommend this hotel. The only fault I found.....not enough sockets so I had to straighten my hair at the other side of the room to the mirror.

Room Tip: 21 is on the second floor but farest away from the main bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We decided to try The County after being told it had been refurbished with a completely different menu. We were not disappointed. The interior is vey nicely set out with a modern look, without losing a friendly feel. Plenty of tables and room inside. A good selection of drinks including real ales. Friendly staff and a good, varied menu.The pizza's are especially good, and freshly made. We received a loyalty card at the bar which gave us 20% off the final bill. We will be definitely come here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I revisited The County after enjoying a meal there around a year ago.
Since this time, the restaurant / bar area as well as the hotel has undergone a transformation, and definitely for the better.
I visited on a Friday night and the bar was busy with a great atmosphere, with a range of customers from groups of golfers, to couples, business men and people having a Friday evening drink all with smiles on there faces.
The new menu is strongly geared towards their new pizza oven, but this doesn't cause a problem, it was the best pizza id eaten in a long time!
Great for both couple wanting a night out or a family meal, id recommend visiting The County.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We've just had 3 nights at The County on a golf trip and it was the ideal choice of accommodation. There were 12 of us and we were looked after really well - the rooms were clean and well appointed, the staff were uber friendly and the hotel itself is ideally located. Great pizzas too! Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Just a one night stay on business 21st Aug. Room on second floor - clean and freshly decorated; excellent bed / mattress - very comfortable. One minor gripe that shower was a bit weak, but otherwise everything was good. Freshly cooked breakfast (so much better than hotels who leave the hot stuff in warmer trays). Well located with access to shops, bars, restaurants. Pub itself seemed lively and friendly but not too noisy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Hotel

Address: 1 Church Road, Lytham St Anne's FY8 5LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The County Hotel Lytham St Anne's, UK - England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The County Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.