We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic 33rd Wedding Anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jack's Restaurant Bar

Jack's Restaurant Bar
54 Wood Street, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1QG, England
+441253 780990
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $58
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a fantastic 33rd Wedding Anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

A superb meal with attentive, thoughtful staff in lovely surroundings with amazing food. We went there on Saturday the 19th January for our 33rd wedding anniversary and the staff had added a beautiful rose to the table, an amethyst candle (that's the anniversary colour), and put champagne in our glasses. The food was fab and reasonable. What a super evening and a brilliant way and place to celebrate in.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JACKSBISTRO, Manager at Jack's Restaurant Bar, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
On behalf of myself and the staff at Jacks, I just want to say congratulations on your 33rd wedding anniversary. Thank you for such kind words. I am so pleased you enjoyed your special evening and that we could play a small part into making it so.
All the best and I hope we see you again soon in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    66
    33
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
blackburn
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice dog friendly restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Staff brilliant, food superb, appears to be a bit pricey, but certainly worth it. Four of us had different starters and different main meals, They were all really good, the Steak Pie (don't be misled into thinking it was a traditional pub type pie), was absolutely fab, probably the best I have ever had.
We emailed the week before to confirm that we could bring the dog in. Quick friendly reply to say yes. Right next door to the Travelodge where we were staying. The bistro is well worth a visit

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JACKSBISTRO, Manager at Jack's Restaurant Bar, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
At Jack's we always pride ourselves on the high standard in which we hold ourselves against and are so glad to hear that you have all enjoyed your visit.
Every Tuesday, we look to change our early diner menu and table d'hote menu to keep a fresh new look to us and the steak and ale pie was certainly one of our more popular dishes that week.

Thank you for your kind words and they have been passed on to everyone within the team.
I hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent - will be going back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

This place was recommended from friends a while ago but living in Bispham we never really got round to trying it. However, we decided to give it a go for my wife's birthday...... And we weren't disappointed. The service and food was excellent from start to finish. The portion sizes were surprisingly large in comparison to other top end restaurants. The lamb was cooked perfectly, my wife said it was the best she'd had in a very long time (and considering she eats it at least once a fortnight that's quite a compliment).

We didn't have a problem getting a table because we went during the week but I should imagine at the weekend you'd have to book a table because the place itself is quite small.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JACKSBISTRO, Manager at Jack's Restaurant Bar, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
On behalf of everyone from Jack's, Id like to say thank you for your kind words.
Throughout the team, from the chefs to the waiters and waitresses, we always pride ourselves on the service in which we provide and we are proud to have been able to make your wife's birthday special.
The lamb rump dish is one of our more popular dishes and as it is cooked to order, we can always ensure that it is exactly how the guest would like it.

I hope that you decide to make the trip to us again soon in the near future and I look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Our favourite restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is an excellent restaurant. We have been many times and never have been disappointed. We very often have the early diner menu which is varied and unusual. Maybe some would find the portions on the small side but it suits us fine. We would recommend it to any visitors to St Annes - it is central and easy to find.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lunchtime with kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Food was lovely although seemed limited in choice for kids and quite expensive - but the food was really good

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JACKSBISTRO, Manager at Jack's Restaurant Bar, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
On behalf of the staff I would like to thank you for your kind comments.
We are currently in the process of reviewing all of our menus and as a result of our findings we have decided on changing the children's menu and it has become more extensive and appealing, giving more of a varied choice.
I hope to see you again soon and would love to hear your thoughts on our changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack's Restaurant Bar also viewed

Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire
Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire
 
Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire
Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire
 

Been to Jack's Restaurant Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jack's Restaurant Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.