We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great freshly cooked food and friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Queens Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lytham St Anne's
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Queens Hotel
Save
You added Queens Hotel to your Saves list
Central Beach, Lytham St Anne's FY8 5LB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Great freshly cooked food and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

The Queens is vastly improved since the recent refurbishments. It is now clean and tastefully decorated with a few quirky touches such as syrup tins to put the knives and forks in.

I've eaten here twice recently and have been really impressed with the friendly service and freshly prepared food. Can vouch for the burgers and the mussels. The chips are home-made and yummy.

My only criticism is that range of vegetarian dishes is really poor. I was eating with fish eating veggies so it could have been worse but there is only really one truly vegetarian main course - a delicious looking cheese and onion pie - so veggies would be unlikely to want to return.

Prices are reasonable and the place was pretty full on Friday evening so it might be worth booking if there's more than a couple of you.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    42
    6
    7
    4
See reviews for
26
43
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

we went to the queens lytham for our 12th wedding anniversary . just been renovated and change of theme (used to be a bit of a bikers pub) now completely refurbished beautiful. now for the food absolutely fantastic i had rottiserie chicken their speciality absolutely superb . great service great kids menu. you need to book tho esp sundays very busy. going back mothers day !!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We live just down the road from the Queens and for the past 25 years have seen the various transformations. I have to say that the new management have got it spot on with the refurbishment and new style Queens. The food is of restaurant standard, a small excellent menu with top quality food and is well worth the price. None of your microwaved pub grub here!! The kitchen is open for all guests to see and spotlessly clean.
We now go regularly to either eat or call in for a warm welcome and drink when walking the dog. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the management were happy to chat to us making us feel very welcome.
Moving with the times and creating such a great relaxing environment for coffee, drinks or food is perfect! Well done to all involved!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

bad service rude waiter longest wait ever for a quick pub lunch when complained the owner a man also rude no sorry or explanation and as for the food had better at a burger store i suggest thats where you go and save yourself some money as it is very overpriced and overrated

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Living in Lytham we have a great number of places to eat, but the new refubished Queens hotel has to be in my mind one of the great places in Lytham to eat.The re furbishment is really good a wonderful relaxed atmosphere and the young and keen staff are a pleasure.to be served by. On Christmas eve we had guests to stay and could not get a table anywhere in lytham so went to the Queens as a last resort. What a wonderful meal we had! The food was fresh and simply great! We have been since and the quality is just the same. Well done we are total converts!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lytham uk
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

I live just around the corner from the Queens and it's always been a favourite of ours - particularly for the outdoor space that faces the sea, which is perfect on a sunny evening after work. The pub/restaurant on the ground floor has been tastefully refurbished in recent months and I have to say an excellent job has been done! Everything has had a lick of paint and has been stripped of any old-fashioned (and less than fresh) carpets and upholstrey. It still has a lovely friendly, cosy atmosphere.

Although, like I say, for location the Queens has always been a favourite, it was looking a bit tired and some of the comments made by the previous reviewers were unfortunately true. Thankfully the needed renovation has taken place in the restaurant and I believe the rooms are being refurbished right now.

We ate lunch in the restaurant on new year's eve. The food was fresh and tasty. The menu has been updated with lots of local ingredients - such as fish from our local fishmonger Lannigans. Nice crispy chips & proper onion rings too!
I have to say thank you to the management for resisting the temptation to ludicrously increase prices. Drinks and food are both still very reasonable. Not only does this mean you can still stay for a couple before you wander home, it also means that it has not yet attracted the 'Lytham Set' (if you live here you'll know what i mean) who prefer to drink overpriced cocktails in places where the main aim is to be seen!

The management also deserve a big pat on the back for keeping and encouraging the pub's policy of allowing 'well behaved dogs'. We called in for drinks with my parents last week and they were so impressed at this that my dad changed plans to meet a friend the following day at the Queens instead, especially as he could bring their puppy. We chatted to some of the other dog owners and it was agreed how great it is to be able to stop in on your walk along the seafront with man's best friend.

If the rooms are refurbished to the same standard as the pub/restaurant this will be a big hit too. My only concern is that the lovely outdoor space where I love so much sitting on a sunny evening, is currently being used as a car park. I can only hope that this is just a temporary thing and that when the warm weather returns so will the outdoor tables and chairs. Please bring it back or we'd all be missing out!

Overall, I'd say if it's been a while since you visited the Queens it's well worth calling in for a drink to see for yourself what they've done and the improvements that have been made.

Room Tip: this is just a review of the pub/restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011 via mobile

The hotel is not yet open for business so i cannot reciew the room.

We have eaten in the pub twice since the new owners too over. They are the former landlords from the Stag's Head near Preston, which was an excellent place to eat so we were very excited to hear they had taken over the Queens in Lytham.

The first meal we had was shredded duck and potted shrimp followed by venison burgers (from the specials menu) all of which were delicious! We sadly could not squeeze in a pudding. Following this trip we returned with a group of friends who all really enjoyed their meals!

I had the ribs the second visit, I usually avoid them due to the messiness. These ribs however fell off the bone and were do tender I was able to eat every scrap with a knife and fork!

The owners have kept it as a nice English pub, clean, fresh and cosy. It is fantastic to stop off at when walking on the prom for a pint of Ale or a coffee. They also allow dogs and childeren!

We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Address: Central Beach, Lytham St Anne's FY8 5LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#5 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queens Hotel is a fine Georgian Grade II listed building. The Bar & Restaurant have recently been refurbished and the en-suite letting rooms will be completed in 2012. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Lytham St Anne's, UK - England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.