We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely country pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Plough

The Old Plough
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Old Plough to your Saves list
The Old Plough
2 Church Street | Braunston Nr Oakham, Oakham LE15 8QT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Oakham
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely country pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This lovely country pub set in a beautiful part of England is well worth a visit. We stayed here with a couple of friends and had an excellent meal in the bar at a very reasonable price. Our accommodation for the night was comfortable and clean marred only by the fact that the bedroom window did not open, I do like an open window at night! The breakfast was prompt and plenty of it. Our host was welcoming and the staff friendly. Do treat yourself to a visit and it will not break the bank.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    17
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
23
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I arrived late on Sunday evening and was welcomed into the Old Plough by Carl the barman. The local clientele were also very welcoming and after a long drive, and a couple of great beers, I was shown to a lovely ground floor room (I am currently on crutches after a knee operation). Though the exterior of the building may not look modern, the rooms have recently been refurbished and have lovely comfortable beds, bright and modern decor and good facilities including a wet room which enabled me to shower without difficulty having recently undergone surgery. Mark Goode is the Manager and Chef and supported by his lovely wife ensured my stay was very comfortable and hassle free. Mark is an accomplished chef and the quality of his food ingredients, menu choice and excellent selection of wines and spirits made my 5 day visit extremely enjoyable. To elaborate on the menu, breakfast is an adventure of choices and the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs were presented beautifully and were of fantastic quality. At dinner the Venison Steak with a Port and Mushroom Sauce was a winning dish but equally as good was the Lambs Liver and Bacon. Mark has an excellent pallet and this is reflected in the quality and presentation of the food he presents. In the evening whilst in the bar, I also had the pleasure of meeting Louise who is the longest serving member of staff at the Old Plough and is a mind of information on the local area. All in all a very comfortable and enjoyable 5 night stay which is reflected in the fact have booked again for another 5 nights stay in a couple of weeks time.

Room Tip: All rooms have recently been refurbished but if you have any special requirements contact the staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A friend booked for 4 of us to have a meal on Easter Saturday, 30.03.2013. He was told they were busy that evening but we'd be OK to book for 7p.m. Fine so far. When we were shown to our table we were the 2nd group of 4 to be seated. The only people in the conservatory. We were put next to a window which was cold and draughty. On asking if we could move to another table the waitress told us the only other one set for 4 was next to the outer door (colder?). We offered to move one place setting across to a table set for 3. Not allowed! I was wearing a thick jumper so swapped seats with my friend. The main meal was fine. Dessert? I ordered chocolate brownie, it was so hard the spoon reverberated when I hit it (I don't usually attack my dessert in this manner!). I asked, politely, what consistency a brownie should be and was told, in an unpleasant way, that's how they were. We finished our coffees wearing outdoor coats. As for being very busy, no other tables in the conservatory were reserved and not used by the time we left, around 9p.m.. We could have changed tables. I don't know whether the waitress was having a bad day or not, we've previously eaten here and things have been satisfactory.

Room Tip: Didn't sleep here, service and our table location in the conservatory was not good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is a village pub run by really friendly and hardworking people who are making all the right moves here. Despite some parts being a bit in need of TLC, the rooms are clean, comfortable and recently refurbished with nice shower rooms. A cosy bar deserves a better fireplace, but has a good buzz about it. There is a good menu, and the breakfast was as good as any had in far more expensive places. The value is really excellent for this lovely area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Just back from an overnighter at the Plough. What a lovely place to stay. The room was spotless and although basic had everything we needed. Very cosy, warm and super comfy bed. We arrived an hour early for check in but as room was ready we were shown there straight away. Had our evening meal at the pub which was soooooo lovely and big portions too so couldnt manage a desert. All staff were helpful and friendly :( . Breakfast was very nice too and once again plentiful.Thanks to everyone at the plough for making my birthday treat so enjoyable. Would definatley like to return some time soon next time we visit Rutland.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 which was lovely. Had a fab shower in it too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Great value for money. Had a great dinner - big portions. Breakfast very tasty. Room comfortable with own bathroom and freeview tv. Staff very friendly. Had our dog with us and didnt have any problem :-) can just recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I enjoyed staying here and it's worth a few lines to describe it.

If you're looking for a pub with a good restaurant and OK rooms then you'll like this place a lot.

If you're looking for a hotel then this is not for you and if you want Michelin dining then again the Old Plough is not set up for that. It's a proper restaurant menu and choice and pricing seemed right.

The breakfast was good and the evening meal was OK but not more than OK. It's a nice menu and my wife's fish was excellent but my steak wasn't quite so good but the rest of the meal was fine and the wine list was well chosen. We booked for the conservatory but ended in the bar which had a nice atmosphere and some excellent real ales.

The room we had, Room 5, could do with a bit of work but it's no big negative. Tele worked fine and the internet was fast and free.

Hospitality was friendly and the value was excellent. The B&B rate is competitive and likely to make us go back.

I gave this 4 stars because it's a nice place and the people are friendly. They'd get the 5th Star if they spent a little on tidying things up in the car park and outside and making the rooms a little more modern but maybe that might spoil the "charm" of the place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Plough

Address: 2 Church Street | Braunston Nr Oakham, Oakham LE15 8QT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Oakham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Oakham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Old Plough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Plough Hotel Oakham
Old Plough Oakham
The Old Plough Oakham, Rutland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Plough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.