We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“such a lovely comfortable hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Castle Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Castle Lodge Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wilton, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6AD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence 2014
essex
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“such a lovely comfortable hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2008

we stayed at the castle lodge for two nights. the hotel is really comfortable, very clean and the menu is excellent with no end of fish dishes to choose from.
the owners, Carlos and Maria are just great they are so friendly always got time to have a chat and nothing is too much trouble.
the room rates are very good and the hotel postion is very good to, just a minutes drive into Ross on wye.
we would totally recomend this hotel and would love to go back sometime.
if you get to read this Carlos and Maria thankyou so much for a lovely stay.

Stayed November 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlelodgehotel, General Manager at Castle Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you. We do work hard to make your stay with us enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    35
    6
    10
    5
See reviews for
15
52
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2008

I have just returned from the Castle Lodge Hotel and can honestly say it was fantastic. We stayed over as we had family and friends who were also visiting this beautiful part of the country. Carlos and Maria are really lovely people. Maria was he first person we met, what a wonderful lady. She made us feel completely at home. She is dedicated and a true professional but most of all she has a wonderful personaility and a great sense of humour and cannot do enough for her guests. Carlos is her husband who is also a wonderful host. He has a huge passion for food and ...WELL...the food is second to none. Starters are amazing, mains are wonderfully inventive serving pasta, steaks, chicken and if fish is your passion...you might have died and gone to fish heaven, the menu is highly recommended, there is something for everyone, even our daughter who is a vegetarian was easy to please BUT..the desserts are not for diet conscious, I have a sweet tooth and they indeed stole the show...YUMMY .all home made (A rarity these days).

Our whole time was unhurried, we started with a drink in the lovely bar, then had our starters, we were always asked if we were ready for our next course. The wine list is also highly recommended, my husband was delighted to also find that they serve ice cold Spanish lager.

I would most definitely recommend this little gem of a hotel, but even if you don't want to stay try the restaurant, you will be back time and time again...fantastic.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlelodgehotel, General Manager at Castle Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2008

The Castle Lodge Hotel, Wilton, on the edge of Ross on Wye, an area of beauty set in the Herefordshire countryside, offered a warm and generous welcome to our party. Nighly room rates are reasonable and their Sunday Carvery lunch, in my opinion, the best in the area.

We held our annual dinner in the hotel's cedar resturaunt.
The owners, Carlos and Maria could not have been more helpful.
Their staff were polite and helpful; the hotel clean ( the loo,s spotless).

We chose our own menu, and the room was set up to our liking.
On the night the food was well prepared and presented with generous portions. The sweet trolley was exceptionally generous offering over a dozen , 'made on the premises' choices.
All our guests thoroughly enjoyed themselves and I would recommend this hotel for a quiet weekend away as well as a more formal occasion.

  • Liked — Excellent service
  • Stayed April 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlelodgehotel, General Manager at Castle Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Glad you enjoyed your meal. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2008

My wife and I were travelling to Cardiff on business 21/4/08 when car trouble left us stranded on the M50 a few miles from Ross on Wye the pick up truck driver was very helpful and rang around to get us a room and he told us the only hotel that actually answered their phone was the Castle, obviously one would think in two ways is it because it,s so bad or because they actually are professional enough to make themselves availible at awkward hours as it was now nearing midnight we did not question.
Anyway if we did have any trepidation it was removed as soon as we got to the hotel where the owner was there waiting for us with a sympathetic smile and a philosophical outlook which was refreshing and probably got us through the initial trauma of our situation,we were greeted booked in and shown to our room within minutes in a very efficient manner which helped no end as we were both very tired,the owner even mentioned that if we were late for breakfast it was not a problem "so dont worry about a thing"
I have read a review from another visitor to the hotel and I must admit I dont recognise the descriptions he provides of the staff and the owners of the Castle Lodge,as for his physical description of the hotel like the reviewer we have also stayed in hotels all over the world and I have never stayed in a hotel that is not in need of some attention as after all they are at the mercy of us the guest.
The rooms at the Castle Lodge are appropriate to the cost of a stay there and are comfortable in fact despite our reason for being there I havent slept so well in a long time, so for any prospective visitors to the Castle Lodge take our word for it the place is great the owners and staff are friendly warm and very helpful also the steak au poivre is to die for they also have an extensive fish menu which if the food we ate is anything to go by you cant lose.
Many thanks to Carlos and Maria and their staff.

Mr and Mrs J Lloyd

  • Liked — the helpful manner and support recieved at a bad time for us
  • Disliked — the hotel does require some decorative work but its not catostrophic
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlelodgehotel, General Manager at Castle Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2008

Having travelled as a single older woman, i found the family environment of this quant little setting quite charming, and the upfront honesty of the staff a refreshing change. Their willingness to chat and offer any assistance more than welcome. Sure there are hotels around that pamper you, but it is places like this that make you feel more than welcome

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlelodgehotel, General Manager at Castle Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for your kind words
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

I've travelled most of the world and stayed in some very poor accommodation in countries like India, Sri Lanka & Pakistan. The £2 a night I paid for floor space in India seems luxurious compared to the Castle Lodge Hotel. I've never experienced such an unwelcoming place in my life. Rooms are gloomy and extremley uncomfortable, but not as uncomfortable as the Manager makes you feel. I quote 'I don't like customers' is one of many classic comments from the manager. 'I will lock you out' is another. But it wasn't until after I tried to complain over the phone when the staff hung up on me I really started to get annoyed. I'm asking for a full refund, If I don't get it, I'm reporting him to the British Toursim Hotel Authority.
Never stay in this hotel, especially when there are so many beautiful alternatives around the area.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlelodgehotel, Owner at Castle Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
The hotel is under new management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Lodge Hotel

Address: Wilton, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Castle Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set upon the banks of the Wye, this lovely 16th-century country house awaits to warmly welcome you. Our family-run hotel offers its guests a stylish and friendly atmosphere. Dine with us in the Wilton restaurant serving the best of local and international cuisine (non-residents always welcome). We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Castle Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Ross-On-Wye
Castle Lodge Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.