We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Organic without being overly 'worthy'” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hill House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ross-on-Wye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hill House
Save
You added The Hill House to your Saves list
Howle Hill, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5ST, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 37 Ross-on-Wye B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Organic without being overly 'worthy'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2007

I've been coming here about once a year for long weekends over about 4 years. It's a fun, relaxed place, with the slightly wacky Duncan and his wife Alex giving a very friendly welcome.

The house has an emphasis on serving up organic, locally-sourced produce, which is excellent. I eat meat, but not in large amounts: the cooked breakfast is fabulous but in very big portions so you probably won't be needing lunch. On my most recent visit I tried out the veggie breakfast which is equally huge and delicious - try out Alex's 'Welsh mountains' if she is still doing them.

One rather less 'green' touch is the fact that they have a hot tub - but it feels like such a treat sitting in there with a chilled glass of wine, so it's hard to resist! I think this service may incur an extra charge, if I remember rightly, so check first.

I've stayed in the Dryad Suite which has the most huge 7ft bed and the Mrs Thomas room (I think that was the name) which has a smaller but very comfy bed and a Japanese-style bath. I've never seen ghosts there, but the place does have something of an interesting atmosphere.

If you're into hiking the surrounding countryside is great walking territory, but there are also a couple of fairly short walks you can go on straight from the house itself - there are laminated guides and walking sticks available if you want them. There is a small area of woodland which belongs to the house itself so you can sit out there at night and go badger or owl watching if you wish (didn't manage to see any, but I heard the owls!)

Pubs and local restaurants are a drive rather than a walk away but the owners may be able to cook you dinner at an additional charge if you book in advance, and you can also eat takeaways in the B&B. If you want a drink, the house has a little wood-panelled tv/board games/bar room where they sell wine and beer.

There's also a little 'home cinema' (don't expect anything fancy from the title, it's just a room set aside to play DVDs) and they have a selection for you to watch if you feel like it.

I'd agree with the reviewer who said this may not suit people who like Holiday Inn style functional modern accommodation - the house is a family home and the downstairs areas aren't incredibly tidy. On the other hand this place is going to be highly suitable for people who like organic, local food, hikers, wildlife-watchers, ghost-watchers, pagans or those simply looking for a friendly, idiosyncratic place to stay in peaceful rural surroundings. Writing this review makes me feel like going back there again...

  • Liked — Overall unique atmosphere of the place in its own little patch of woodland
  • Disliked — There's nothing I really dislike about the place
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    17
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
19
91
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2007

As others have stated before, the Hill House has magnificent views, amazing food and a very warm & friendly welcome from both Duncan & Alex. but what about its darker side............

We went on a paranormal weekend after hearing of the house's other Worldly guests and I must say we wasn't dissapointed.

Ghostly noises in the Dryad Suite, strange sensations in the White Lady room and Who was the little old Lady in Old Mrs Thomas's room, these all made for an absolutely excellent weekend and an ideal way to make yourself jump when the gray cat lands on your lap in the dark.

All in all, an exceedingly wonderfull place to visit, look forward to my return.

  • Liked — Food, Ambiance views
  • Disliked — Cold and Rain
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2007

As the previous reviewer has noted, don't stay here if you like Holiday Inn's. The rooms are clean and tidy, with comfy beds, snuggly duvets and great pillows. The bathrooms are individual. Each of the rooms has its own charm - the Dryad Suite with its huge four-poster is ideal for honeymooners or couples on romantic weekends away. The proprietor will even serve breakfast in bed or in front of the fire.

The grounds are large enough to have an enjoyable half hour walk, and in the summer it is possible to sit out and admire the views whilst drinking local organic wines or beers.

All the food is either locally sourced or organic. Breakfasts are huge.

Sauna and hot tub are great, and you can choose your own music for the sauna. The hot tub has views across the Wye Valley.

In the winter, you can snuggle down into the beanbags in front of the fire with other guests in the cosy bar area.

Ideal for anyone wanting a cheap but fantastic escape from the stresses of everyday life.

  • Liked — Friendliness and quirkiness.
  • Disliked — Having to leave.
  • Tips/Secrets — Book the Dryad or North Suite.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holmfirth
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2006

This is the most wonderful of places however you need to be a certain person to stay here..don't stay if you want pristine furnishings and daily dusting do stay if you want the most magical experience on earth. Local sourced HUGE breakfasts, local wine and bottled beers, a sauna and spa. If you think that Holiday Inns are wonderful don't stay here if you want a rambling, chaotic home from home then this is the place for you.

  • Liked — its individual laid back atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — if you are a dusting freak don't go!!!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hill House

Address: Howle Hill, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5ST, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Ross-on-Wye
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Hill House Hotel Ross-On-Wye
The Hill House Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hill House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.