We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel with true soul and individuality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pencraig Court Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ross-on-Wye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pencraig Court Hotel
Save
You added Pencraig Court Hotel to your Saves list
Pencraig, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6HR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A hotel with true soul and individuality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

I have just returned from a night's stay at Pencraig Court and feel ten years younger. No - there isn't a spa, pool, yoga sessions or whirlpool - but there is relaxation, good food, peace and quiet (we didn't hear any noise from the road ), and a friendly welcome. Our room was lovely - superb views, four poster bed, good bathroom, character - and was clean. The welcome was superb - Liz and Malcom are lovely - and are pleased to accommodate well behaved customers (as well as dogs!). What can I say about the food - Liz would be at home in any posh restaurant - and Malcom's customer service is first class. If you are looking for a plastic hotel with no soul, with plastic furniture, no individuality, no beauty (and I mean true beauty) then don't stay here - go to a Travelodge. If you want to remember a hotel and have a relaxing time, have people who care about your experience, then stay here - but be warned - you may put on weight!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    2
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fremantle, Oz
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

Found Pencraig via web searches and chose it for its proximity to locations with childhood memories - its near Ross-on-Wye, Goodrich Castle and Symonds Yat, right on the banks of the Wye River.
Very pretty location despite being adjacent to the A40 (which surprisingly wasn't noisy) and the hotel itself is beautifully appointed.
Although a little more expensive than average, facilities were a large step up and the excellent food and large comfortable bed were much appreciated. Only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Liked — Service, Quality and Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Pencraig to celebrate our Pearl Wedding Anniversary for only 3 nights. Our only downer was that we wish it had been forever. The owners and staff were extremely pleasant and could`nt do enough for you. The hospitality was second to none. Soon as you walked through the door of the hotel (our first at Pencraig) we were made to feel special. We just called to Pencraig in the off chance we could get a room and we were so glad they could fit us in. The cleanliness of the hotel was first class. The rooms were with magnificent views accross the Ross countyside stretching for miles. Our trainee guide dog puppy Ebony came with us and took a shine to Sam one of the owners dogs. She loved it with all the grounds to explore wich is a credit to the gardner who has the pleasure to work there. The food which is done by the owner ( she must be a highly talented Chef) was absoluteley magnificent. We couldn`t have asked for anything better in our short stay. We would strongly reccomend a visit to Pencraig if your`e in this area you will not be disapointed.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2007

We first stayed there with a group of friends for New Years Eve 2007. Now I'm not saying that Liz and Malcolm and the team looked after us, but we were back just a few weeks later for a Valentines weekend stay, and there is a group of us going for NYE 2008!

Ok, if you want modern design, and all the "mod cons" of modern high rise hotels, this isn't the place for you. But if you want a hotel, oozing with character, run by people that really want you to enjoy your stay and come back, I'd say its hard to beat.

Another reviewer commented on the noise from the nearby dual carriageway. Yes, it *is* kind of close, but I can't say I noticed any traffic noise. As for the "only" one bathrobe, maybe I just go to the wrong hotels, but I've stayed in plenty of hotels without bathrobes in the past, and I can't say it ever ruined my stay!

Quite simple, "Pencraig" is a great place to stay, with great staff, a great atmosphere, and stunning views over the wye valley.

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home Counties UK
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2007

Pencraig Court is a jewel of a Hotel to be treasured
and is of a type that is sadly rapidly disappearing these days.
The accommodation, like the reception given to guests,
is warmly inviting with nothing too much trouble for the owners.
Fed up with chromed modern international hotels?
then the Georgian style of Pencraig Court will suit you down to the ground. The food is superb, and we do mean really good, with generous portions of everything.
My family have enjoyed Pencraig Court three times so far and we are returning in three weeks for our fourth vist. Batteries are
always fully re-charged with even a short stay.

  • Liked — has an ambience of timeless charm
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2007

I have stayed at Pencraig a couple of times - both times the accommodation and service has been excellent.

The first trip was to attend a friends wedding and the second to attend a New Years Eve party.

On both occassions I really enjoyed my stay and I look forward to staying at Pencraig again sometime soon!

Stayed January 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glos
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2007

After numerous stays in this wonderful hotel we would thoroughly recommend it to anyone. The friendly, accomodating staff always made our visits a complete pleasure, with good food and drink in a warm, relaxed atmostphere.

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pencraig Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pencraig Court Hotel

Address: Pencraig, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Hotel Pencraig Court
Pencraig Court Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pencraig Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.