We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow Sunday lunch with my boys” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Old Court Hotel to your Saves list
The Old Court Hotel
Symonds Yat West, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6DA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
london
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow Sunday lunch with my boys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We visited the area with my two grandsons ages 7 and 3. At lunchtime we took advantage of the rib of beef on offer. It was absolutely delicious and the veg accompanying the beef could not be bettered. The boys went for the roast chicken option and wolfed it down, veg and all. I really believe that the food option here offers good value for money and congratulate all at the Old Court for delivering a great product. The boys loved the play area while we relaxed with a drink in the lovely garden, still some summer colour left. We plan to stay there in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    59
    30
    14
    8
See reviews for
46
94
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Popped by the Old Court Hotel after a hard day shopping on Sunday and as usual the welcome was great and the Sunday lunch just what we needed. This place never dissapoints. Thanks again! Will be seeing you soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

We stopped for quick Sunday lunch and left disappointed.
Roast rib of beef was on offer so we had 2 of them, Wow rib of beef - sounded lovely. Unfortunately the beef was very well done and tasted like it had been reheated, and didn't seem to be rib of beef. there was a good selection of veg, however the red cabbage was cold and tasted strongly of vinegar. potatoes were bland and Yorkshire puddings were burnt.
We were asked if everything was ok-which it was, however 'ok' doesn't exactly encourage recommendations or repeat
custom-this question should probably be asked in the kitchen before food is served.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria S, Owner at The Old Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments in relation to your Sunday Lunch last weekend. I am sorry that you found it to be "Average". Our Beef is butchered on site, we used to cook it rare but so many people asked for well done, we decided to cook it all well done. If you would like to contact us, we would be happy to communicate directly with you in relation to your experience. We have spoken to our chef and he will be making extra checks on meals going out as we are concerned about your feedback in relation to the vegetables and yorkshire pudding. As a business we sell a lot of Roast Beef, in the 6 1/2 years we have been here we have sold just over 19,500 portions of the lunch you have had and only had poor feedback 5/6 times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I have just returned from what should have been three nights of relaxation away from the family business. 3 for 2 deal.

After one night I was called back to the grindstone, but was having to pay the full whack as 'you have booked through booking.com'. Didn't quite see the logic in that, but was in too much of a hurry to argue. Presumably, OCH has paid a percentage to B.com for taking the booking which I would have been happy to reimburse.

Otherwise a clean hotel, rooms small unless you are lucky to be upgraded. As many reviewers have stated, get a room in the old part, the new extention has some dire views on one side!!!!

Evening meal was very fatty and underseasoned for my tastes. Breakfast could be improved by doing away with the plastic sliced bread for toasting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria S, Owner at The Old Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thanks for your feedback. We do indeed have to pay a large commission to booking.com which is not refundable once you the guest has arrived. Booking direct with any hotel gives the hotel more flexibility if there is an emergency and your plans change. Three of our standard rooms look out onto a farm yard which we appreciate is not the best view. Most of the other rooms have great Wye Valley forest views. Thanks also for rating us highly for sleep quality and cleanliness. These are important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This was our second stay at this hotel; it is a charming old building with large well kept gardens. Its location is perfect for walks in beautiful countryside. There are several accommodation choices ranging form old to new and a barn converted into self catering units. Dogs are welcome in most parts of the hotel though a £10 a night charge is applicable. Our stay was on a buy two nights get one free basis. We felt this offer was value for money but would have considered room rates high if not for the offer.

On this occasion we stayed in a room in the old part of the hotel above the beer garden and bar. We found the room to be a little on the small side and a bit stuffy.
There was a considerable amount of conversational noise from the beer garden that went on quite late into the night. (On the Saturday) Friday and Sunday nights were not as bad. We found the bar and restaurant prices to be on the high side and don’t feel that drinks or meals were value for money.

On a more positive note the restaurant food was very good and well presented. The staffs in all parts of the hotel were attentive and friendly. On the night we eat in the restaurant it was extremely busy but our meal arrived soon after we ordered. (A credit to the staff) Breakfast was a ten out of ten and we had a great long weekend. My above comments as regards noise prices and rooms would not put me off staying here again though I would book a different room.

Room Tip: If you are light sleeper avoid rooms above the bar and beer garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria S, Owner at The Old Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
I read your feedback with interest. We are pleased that you enjoyed the Restaurant and Breakfast whilst you stayed with us. We are concerned that you did not feel we offered value for money in our Cotswold Bar area. Our main meals start at £10.95 of which there are many. We battled for years to keep prices under £10. However, when the government raised the VAT to 20% it became impossible to keep prices low and maintain good staff and a 450 year old building! The same goes for the drinks. We try our best to offer the best value possible and there is a large range in price of drinks and food. I am glad you feel that you would like to come back sometime although maybe in a different room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stopped off at the Old Court Hotel as hungry travellers eager for a nice meal. 2 adults and our 5 year old grandaughter. Hardly anyone in the place but we were told we could only dine in the conservatory as our child was under 14. The conservatory was cold and not set out for dining so we asked to move into a snug at the rear of the bar. Our starters were served with a handful of wilted mixed salad, the mains served with another handful of the same wilted mixed salad, not sure if it was the chipped potatoes or the steaks (or both) that had been cooked in burnt oil, but the burnt oil taste was overpowering, at this point we thought that maybe the Brie wedge starter had been given the burnt oil treatment too. Presentation was very poor and unappetising. The main course was served without cutlery yet no one told us we needed to collect the cutlery from another room. An orange juice, one beer, a glass of wine, two starters, two main courses and one children's meal cost £70, we left feeling really dissapointed as we continued our journey.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria S, Owner at The Old Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
We were interested to read your views about your experience here. It seems that we upset you straight away by children's policy. When we bought the business we decided to not allow children in the bar for many reasons; but mainly because we could not guarantee behaviour. You would have seen that our Conservatory has a lovely wood burning stove, not lit when you arrived but I am sure if you had mentioned you were cold someone would have lit it. I apologise that you feel that you were pushed out - it certainly was not the case!
In relation to the food, you were not going to enjoy your meal if you did not like where you were sitting. I am sorry everything tasted like it was cooked in burnt oil but this is impossible as in the kitchen the chips are cooked in seperate oil due to guests who have allergies - so a Brie Wedge would be cooked in a different fryer to avoid cross contamination of someone who may for E.G. have a dairy free diet. Then the steaks are not fried at all, they are cooked on a grill, which makes it hard for them to be oily too. In terms of our salad - we have deliveries 6 days and week of fresh food. We use a leaf base with an organic herb mix to spice it up. Sometimes the herbs look wilted due to the fact they are of a floppy variety. Again I apologise if you did not like it. Our aim is to always please our customers and I wonder if you expressed how disappointed you were on the day?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed here with friends in March, having spent many previous long weekends here in the past escaping from the stresses and strains of our 9-5 lives! Suffice to say we were not disappointed - once again we received a warm welcome from the staff and owner Victoria, who were keen to ensure we had all we needed to make our stay comfortable. The bedrooms are clean and functional and the beds comfortable, but there's no need to spend time in your room when you could be relaxing by the log fire, chilling in the cosy lounge area, enjoying the views from the garden room or mixing with the locals in the bar area.

The best thing about this place is the delicious hearty food (generous portions fantastic for warming you up after a day out in the Wye Valley) and the warm hospitality. Everyone here has a smile on their face and whilst we've not ventured too far on our stays here, there's apparently lots to do to help you forget your worries, from walks in the stunning countryside to kayak trips down the river Wye.

This hotel is a real gem for families and friends (you can bring your dog when booking into some of the rooms too!). We've already booked our next trip there this August for some more rest and relaxation!

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria S, Owner at The Old Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Court Hotel

Address: Symonds Yat West, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Old Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.