We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay - Food fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The King's Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The King's Head Hotel to your Saves list
The King's Head Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 High Street | Herefordshire, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dinner B&B
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay - Food fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed at hotel for one night stay B&B 23/11/12. Atmosphere relaxed and friendly. Chose superior room which was a lovely room overlooking the High Street. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in.

Paid for evening meal in the restaurant, the food was outstanding. They have an excellent chef and all produce is locally sourced.

Breakfast - what can I say but amazing. The choice, the portions, the quality.

Staff - all extremely friendly and helpful.

Hotel has own car park, so you do not have to drive round looking for car parking space

Will defintely return again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    87
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
25
117
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cinderford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The fact that me and my girlfriend were going to stay in The Kings Head Hotel was more of a last minute thing, and as such we had no time to read up about it. In our mind we were expecting the most basic room but in actual fact it was very lovely and cosey (even if the door knob did fall off!). The bed (2 singles joined together) meant it was enormous and extremely comfortable. Television, internet access and hot drink facilities were also a nice treat. Breakfast was lovely and the service was quick (I think because we were the only ones eating).

There were little things that did bother me but not enough to moan about, for example I was unable to lock the bathroom door or when the door knob fell off as I was leaving. It was a lovely hotel which was surprisngly big - can't belive a place like that can even fit in Ross. My girlfriend did not want to leave and as such we will be returning.

Room Tip: Room 11 has it's own corridor leading up to it meaning no pesky people walking past your door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lautrecs99, Owner at The King's Head Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. and the comfort of your king size bed. I have asked our maintenance team to check on your room's door knob and bathroom lock.
We do recommend guests who have any minor issues with their room to tell us as soon as possible so we can have them remedied. We really do want every guest to enjoy their time with us.
Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay in the Kings Head, which is in the middle of Ross on Wye, with it's own large car park. Our room was lovely but the big treat was the enormous shower room which had recently been refurbished to a high standard. Friendly, helpful and patient staff made our stay great fun. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and were so impressed we returned for the second night. The locally sourced ingredients made for a tasty and interesting menu which was very good value - the cheese board is a must, quite delicious!
In 3 days we managed 2 good walks and a visit to Goodrich Castle - what an excellent cafe!

Room Tip: Rooms on the high street can be a little noisy but worth it to be in the centre of town!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lautrecs99, Owner at The King's Head Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your short break at the King's Head and were able to explore the wonderful countryside of the Wye Valley. The local area does have some great cheese producers, which we are proud to include on our cheese board and ploughmans.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

we had a mixed approach from the staff at the Kings Head, so I can well understand the good and bad comments from reviewers! We had a lovely friendly welcome and there was a relaxed friendly atmosphere in the dining room the first night. However, there was a change of staff for breakfast and dinner the next day, and along with it a change of atmosphere. The woman in charge of the dining room was sarcastic and not very friendly at all. For example, when I asked where we should sit at breakfast time, I was told in a sarcastic manner "any table set for 2 would be good". It is not very nice to be spoken to in that way and the other waitress had a job to smile too. Unfortunately this woman was in charge of the dining room that evening too and more sarcasm was given out.
Having said all this, we stayed on a special DBand B rate in a superior room which was very nice. Everywhere was clean, the food good and the bedroom warm and comfortable. Good value for money.
Beware the entrance to the car park, it's a bit tight!!
And as it is an OLD building you should expect squeaky floor boards and quirky stairs. The hotel does make this very clear on their web site.
It is a great area to stay for a mini break, the Forest of Dean is beautiful at the end of October

Room Tip: If there is a superior room deal, go for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lautrecs99, Owner at The King's Head Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for the taking time to write your review.
We are pleased you enjoyed the comfort of your room, the meals you ate at the King’s Head the great value for money our dinner bed and breakfast offer provides and of course the beauty of the Wye Valley in autumn. We also recommend guest’s book one of our superior rooms as they do offer a higher level of comfort and space than our standard rooms. I am disappointed and concerned you felt one member of staff was not as friendly as she should have been and I do apologise. I have spoken to the person in question and she is truly sorry if she upset you in any way and would never intentionally be sarcastic or rude. Thankfully the vast majority of reviews are complementary, commentating on the friendliness of our staff. However, we do take your concerns on-board and appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is a fantastic old coaching inn, and has been modernised without spoiling its origins, so it was a real treat to stay in! Our room was huge, and with a modern small shower-room en-suite (but not carved out of the original room). And clever double-glazing in the original windows, so it was warm! As we were overlooking the road, and it was a Friday night, there was quite a lot of late (after midnight) noise (cars and people), but the bed was so comfortable it didn't keep us awake for long (and probably my fault for liking to sleep with an open window!). We didn't arrive in time for dinner, but breakfast was superb (we didn't need lunch!).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerdydd
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

A really nice hotel in the centre of Ross. Good atmosphere and staff who are always helpful without making a fuss. Nice rooms, and the best ploughman's lunch in the world - lots of local cheeses! Vegetarian cooked breakfast available, which makes a nice change from lots of places. Big car park at the back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We enjoyed a one night stay at the King's Head recently and I would agree with what most of the other reviewers have said about the ambience and comfort etc.Dinner and breakfast were good, without being amazing. We were on the top floor and although the bedroom was lovely, the bathroom was a bit tired (despite the lovely bottles of showergel etc). They even had a notice on the wall explaining that getting the shower to work might be a problem - it wasn't, but it wasn't a very good one either! A member of staff told us that the owner has plans to extend the bedrooms, using what is now a huge garage. I hope when he does that he refurbishes the current rooms too and incorporates a lift in his plans. Ross on Wye was delightful and we're glad that we visited.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lautrecs99, Owner at The King's Head Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at the King’s Head. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the comfort and ambience of the hotel including your bedroom. Over the past five years, all of our bedrooms and the public areas of the hotel have been refurbished to a high standard, in keeping with an ancient Inn. Of the hotels fifteen bedrooms, over half of them have had their en-suites refurbished in the past four years. All our superior rooms and our four poster room have refurbished en-suites, some with travertine wet rooms and monsoon showers. These rooms are a little more expensive than our standard rooms, but do offer a bit extra in comfort. Our standard rooms, which haven’t had their en-suite refurbished, have a more traditional shower over bath configuration. Whilst the showers are perfectly adequate, the pressure would not be as high certainly as a powered shower. On vary rare occasions in the past a guest has tried operating the shower by using the bath taps. We are glad you read our little notice and managed successfully to use the shower. We are constantly striving to make every guest stay as enjoyable as possible and so refurbishment of the hotel is continuous. You will be pleased to know that our family rooms bathroom is scheduled for a refit in October and further refurbishment of other bathrooms will take place next year. We are glad you enjoyed your breakfast and dinner. We aim to serve fresh local produce, cooked to order in a friendly informal atmosphere at a reasonable price.
Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The King's Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Head Hotel

Address: 8 High Street | Herefordshire, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The King's Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic hotel in the centre of the market town of Ross on Wye. Ideal location for Cardiff, Cheltenham or visiting the Wye Valley, Excellent restaurant using market fresh ingredients, local real ales, friendly popular bar. Free wi-fi, and free car park to residents. All rooms on first and second floor, a listed building with old oak beams and stone fireplaces. There is no elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The King's Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King's Head Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The King's Head Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.