We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pre wedding party at the Lough Pool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lough Pool

Lough Pool
Sellack, Ross-on-Wye, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 64 Restaurants in Ross-on-Wye
Cuisines: Central European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great pre wedding party at the Lough Pool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My wedding was at a nearby venue so myself, family and friends booked a table at the Lough Pool to celebrate the evening before the big day. This turned out to be a great decision which kicked started the wedding celebrations in perfect fashion. We had a table booked for 7pm, but due to traffic and other circumstances many of the party (including myself who had organised the evening) arrived over an hour late. We anticipated that this may cause a problem on a Friday evening but our fears were quickly put to bed and they assured us that it wasn't a problem at all. There were 15 of us there and I can honestly say that everyone had a fantastic meal. All the meals were prepared quickly and served at the same time. I had steak which was awesome, but I also found myself jealous of my friends meals which looked equally fantastic. The meals have an authentic feel and are top notch pub food. Maybe a little more expensive than one of your chain pubs, but you expect that and you definitely got what you paid for. After the meal, half of the party went back to the hotel, and a few of us stayed for a few more beers (much to my regret in the morning). At this point, Jim and his wife were fantastic and really got into the swing of things with us. Everybody had a really enjoyable time and I have now made the Lough Pool my 'local' when I visit my in-laws. Great staff and great setting.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    2
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
“Idyllic setting even on a chilly evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Lough Pool is in a most beautiful unspoilt peaceful part of Herefordshire. It is a beautiful old building sympathetically restored to make a comfortable characterful place for supper. Yesterday evening, the bar was warm and cosy and the log burning stove was very effective.
There was an excellent choice of food and we were impressed by the high standard of the cooking and the effective use of locally sourced ingredients.
Service was friendly and efficient and we had a very enjoyable evening.
I think this place is a real gem and I would recommend it to anyone, not only for its beautiful surroundings and the picturesque building, but also its excellent service and splendid choice of dishes

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Sunday roast lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We saw this pub on a tv programme about B&B Bowtop wagons on the 3 in Bed programme and came upon the pub in the programme stayed for Sunday lunch we had the roast beef dinner with all the home made trimmings the meat melted in your mouth and along with all the vegetables were locally sourced and you could tell the difference from the boil in the bag pub grub the homemade bread and butter pudding was delicious this is best Sunday lunch we have ever had outside the home
Would highly recommend you try this and the drive there is through some of the most beautifull English countryside
Ann and George

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Sack the landlady”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I thought it would be a good idea to go to the Lough Pool Inn for Sunday lunch the day after my wedding with a few friends, some of who had come a long way so we could have a nice time catching up away from the madness of the wedding day.
In the end there were about 30 of us so upon booking we were asked, quite reasonably to pre order and pay 50% deposit as they would be turning away a lot of other custom and neededto make sure we turned up... fair enough.
On the day, something had gone awry with the numbers and there were 3 meals over (bearing in mind we'd already paid 50% so their maximum potential loss would be 1.5 meals if we refused to pay).
Before even discussing this, the landlady came out like some overbearing schoolmistress and started barracking the entire group 'whose are these meals? ... 'I've got xxx ££ worth of food here, what am I supposed to do with it?' We were still eating for goodness sake!!

Attempts to calm down the very aggressive, angry and condescending woman only seemed to make her madder. At one point I assured her, 'look, you won't loose out but can we resolve this after we've eaten because my dinner is sat on the table going cold'.. she simply stormed off.
The waiting staff were incredibly apologetic and clearly very, very embarrassed but their (sincere) apologies didn't really help matters , the occasion was ruined.

We ate up, paid up and left. They DID make a mistake with a couple of desert orders but those affected elected not to make a fuss in fear of another ear bashing from dragon lady.

I will NEVER return here and neither will the 30 other diners who were with me. I hope that the other diners who were there are similarly put off as well as anyone else who reads this.

People who treat customers like this deserve to go out of business and I hope the Lough pool does - SOON!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely country pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We recently visited Ross on wye to get married, and decided to visit the pub with friends and family before the ceremony. We all had an excellent time enjoyed the food, surroundings and warm welcome from the owners and staff! I would recommend a drive out to this idyllic place and enjoy a relaxing meal. Many thanks to you all for starting off a wonderful day. We will be back on our anniversary!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lough Pool also viewed

Peterstow, Ross-on-Wye
Hoarwithy, Hereford
 
Carey, Herefordshire
Harewood End, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to Lough Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lough Pool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.